We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worlde charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Paradise, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Old worlde charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the white coated "bell hops" that greet you on the front steps of the hotel to the huge Banyan tree that covers the large patio deck area down to the beach, this is a fantastic old colonial style hotel. The rooms are spacious and updated, ours had a nice view of the beach and ocean. The staff are friendly and courteous. The high tea on the veranda was really nice, I highly recommend this hotel and it is ideally located on Waikiki and an easy walk to a number of other hotels, restaurants, shops and bars.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the patio deck at the back of the hotel and they did have a singer each evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    935
    378
    180
    149
See reviews for
758
1,372
115
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I LOVE this hotel. We stayed at the Moana this fall because a couple in our church raved about how wonderful it is. We had previously stayed at two other hotels in Waikiki, both on the beach, both respected brand names, both fine hotels. But our friends going overboard seemed out of character for them, so we decided to check the Moana out ourselves. We were amazed. Somehow we found the Moana to be very special. The architecture, blending the old with the new, although not unique, is glorious. And the staff treated us like royal guests from the moment we drove up until we departed. After our last breakfast, a good seven waiters and waitresses and others associated with the restaurant thanked us for coming and/or wished us a great day. This hotel is authentic; it has real charm. It's great for romance; we've never seen so many weddings outside of Las Vegas. My wife and I both love the large banyan tree in the courtyard. It somehow embodies the generous spirit of this hotel; or does the hotel embody it? Either way we love the Moana. We've already made reservations for next year!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a room with a lanai that overlooks the ocean.
See more room tips
Green Features: I think they are better than average but I've not reviewed any comparative research on it.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The "brand new" Moana Surfrider, originally opened in 1901 as the first hotel on Waikiki, is a wonder to behold. A recent 20 month closure updated the Moana, bringing her back to her original glory but with modern amenities. Stay in one of the historic wings if you can. From your arrival, complete with a lei greeting to the historic lobby to Westin's heavenly beds, you'll love your stay. Walk outside to the Banyan terrace and onto Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade with your Starwood membership.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed one night in the Banyan city room on the back side of the hotel away from the street. It's a beautiful hotel inside and out. Loved the "heavenly bed" so nice and comfortable. The hotel is close to stores and restaurants. The outdoor bar is a little noisy but they usually close early, so the noise didn't really bother us. There is a resort fee but I consider it a value because of the free parking. Normally parking in the Waikiki area averages about 20 to 30 dollars anyway. Overall it was an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staying in Waikiki is not inexpensive - be prepared to shell out some higher end room rates for the privilege of staying in the heart of the action. For that reason, I think hotels need to strive to meet customer expectations, and many fail.

Not so with the Moana Surfrider.

We were warmly welcomed on our arrival with seed leis and ginger pine drinks. Moments later we were checked into our room (which we appreciated, arriving after a long flight, and a couple of hours before official check in time).

I would think that if you are not fussy about views and space, the rooms in the original wing of the hotel would be beautiful, and reflective of the charming colonial style of the building. But I was determined to wake up to Diamond Head framed in my window, and was happy to pay a premium for the Tower Wing’s Premier Ocean View Room. Stunning. The room was tastefully refurbished and there were plenty of spaces to tuck away luggage and clothing.

We loved the pace of the hotel – visitors and guests coming and going. Japanese brides with their “rental” guests. Sticky beaks for a quick mai tai under the Banyan tree. And yes, the pool and beach chairs are busy, but have a quick turnover, so we didn't wait long.

Don’t let the pool size put you off. Use the Moana as your base to access the beach, or the pool for a quick refreshing dip. I was second guessing my choice of the Moana because I have three young children. I wasted my time, because the kids enjoyed the pool and beach equally, we spent plenty of time outside of the hotel, and complemented our Moana stay with a later beach resort stay where the kids later got their fill of swimming pools.

The beach chair rental service was reasonable, but there’s nothing stopping you from picking up your own umbrella and mats from the ABC store across the street. Give them away to another guest as you depart. You’ll only be out of pocket $20 or so.

Try to get breakfast included – it is a little steep in the stunning Veranda restaurant. And the helpful concierge desk are not backwards about giving you alternative restaurant suggestions.

Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Small requests (like fresh towels or firmer pillows) were dealt with within minutes.

Location incredible. The best spot in all of Waikiki.

Only two gripes. The aircon can barely cope, which makes the duvet bed spreads very hot. And the kids got price gauged with their $8 (plus tax) shave ice by the pool.

After checking out the local competition, this is my return destination. Looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We purchased a vacation from USAIR Vacations and chose this venue fore our stay. I requested a room in the "old section" with a king bed and ocean view. We were given room 312. From the reviews I've read I expected it to be on the smaller side, but it was perfect with a veranda. (One of the very few in the original structure that offer this.

We were given access to the Beach Club here we enjoyed a free breakfast every morning and many evening were spent at the Banyan Tree bar. Our favorite server there was Margaret. She was the absolute best.

The Veranda Restaurant needs some SERIOUS refinement regarding service. We were exceptionally disappointed there. (And management was notified of the indifference and blatant laziness of staff.)

I advise to valet part. It is only $15 per day. The "free parking" means walking two blocks in Waikiki traffic.
The stay was not inexpensive, but perfectly reasonable for the quality of the hotel. The stores within the hotel are interesting as well. We bought a wonderful koa wood piece in one.

Room service was adequate, nothing to rave about. And the housekeeper that looked after our room was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent 5 very relaxing nights at the very beautiful Moana Surfrider Honolulu.A beautiful old hotel with warmth & charm that i have not experienced before from a large hotel,we were made feel very welcome given a beautiful orchid lei on arrival by the friendly staff, our room was comfortable & quiet only the sound of the waves at night.The only complaint i have was the outdoor garden bar service We only had one staff that was friendly & curtious so we just went to the hotels next door.I have to add that we did enjoy the entertainment & sitting in the garden under the Banyan trees.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.