We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the style of this hotel-It reminds of the true history of Hawaii!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Love the style of this hotel-It reminds of the true history of Hawaii!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in Hawaii for a month and really enjoyed our time at the Moana Surfrider. It's a great location; and everyday we relaxed on the rear and front porch either in the morning or evenings. They have a great area on the 2nd level that is kind of like a muesum and history of the Moana hotel can be viewed. Also, they have a cool standing camera that can take your photo with border created around the photo in the hallway. You can enter your email address and have the photo emailed to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to experience so many of the Moana’s unique features, including lounging in the rocking chairs on the veranda and discovering the history of the Moana through the historical tour. In addition to the photo booth in the lobby, a professional photo keepsake is included as an amenity in the resort charge – a perfect memento of your stay in Hawaii. We hope that your experiences with us created wonderful Moana Memories to fondly remember. On your next visit, we highly recommend afternoon tea service on the veranda for another signature Moana experience. We look forward to your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    1,010
    401
    194
    159
See reviews for
817
1,485
124
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We didn't stay here, although we did enquire about moving as it looks much more our thing than the HHV.
We came at sunset for dinner and managed to snag a great table near the beach. Our waiter was charming. The mai tais were delicious and there wer lovely mock tails for the children. Both adults had the fish tortillas, delicious. I would have preferred some extra salad rather than the corn chips with it. The children had a burger and nuggets, both looked fine, the nuggets came with celery sticks, great to get some vegetables into them.
There was Hawaiian music playing and a dancer, who invited the children up and taught them hula moves - it was charming.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your dining experience at the Beach Bar. Many of our guests agree that enjoying sunset cocktails under the Moana’s iconic Banyan Tree is one of the highlights of their stay in paradise. We hope that your experience with us created fond Moana Memories of your special time together as a family. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Moana on your next visit to Hawaii. Your keiki, which means children in Hawaiian, can spend the day participating in cultural activities such as lei making and ukulele classes, while the adults retreat to the Moana Lani Spa for a rejuvenating spa treatment. We await your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider 2 weeks ago. We had a city room in the Diamond wing. I cannot fault the room, the bed, or the beautiful courtyard, but our stay was spoiled by the fact that we could hear almost every word that was said in the rooms on either side of us. Perhaps we were unlucky, and just had very loud neighbours, but we would think twice about staying here again. The Surfrider was our 12th hotel in a round the world trip, and was the only hotel in which we had this problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha Margaret,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate that the conditions made it difficult for you to enjoy restorative sleep in your Westin Heavenly Bed. As a Westin, our mission is to be a partner in our guests’ well-being to ensure that when you are with us, you feel better than when you arrived, so it is disappointing to hear that this was not the case for you. On a brighter note, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations and time spent in the Courtyard under the Moana’s iconic Banyan Tree. We hope to welcome you back for a more refreshing and inspiring stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Honolulu.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I absolutely love this hotel. My boyfriend travels for business and this is usually where he stays. I was not disappointed. We were in a newer part of the hotel, on the 7the floor with an ocean view. I have to say it was really hard to leave. I wanted to take the bed home with me.
It is in the middle of Waikiki, but it just felt serene. All the staff in the hotel was great and very helpful.
Unfortunately I didn't get to try out the spa, but that will be my goal next time.
Loved the restaurants and especially the Moana Beach Bar. It would be hard to stay anywhere but here when I come back.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor with an ocean room and it was not too noisy. I would probably book from thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Moana, especially the amazing ocean views from your guestroom and our Westin Heavenly Bed. Westin Heavenly Beds and Bedding Sets are also available for purchase through the Westin Hotels at Home website – wouldn’t it be perfect to enjoy the same restorative sleep in your own home? We agree that on your next visit, a trip to the Moana Lani Spa is in order. Experience the islands’ traditional healing massage, Lomi Lomi, which will bring relaxation, a sense of well-being, and healing through touch and reverence. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just checked in and couldn't have been worse when compared to how other Starwood hotels treat their platinum guests. You wait at reception at the SPG queue to find no one is staffing it and so you wait behind everyone else at an overwhelmed and understaffed counter. They then congratulate you on being Starwood gold - which of course is their way to justify complete lack of upgrades thereafter. After correcting the status they tell you how wonderful your ocean tower room is. Of course, you point out that is what you booked and paid for so what's the surprise there. They then insist there is no opportunity for an upgrade because the rooms are sold out. Really. You then go to your room to find you have been allocated something far from deluxe ocean. Mostly you look onto a roof with rubbish on it. The room itself has carpet stains and not even a proper wardrobe. It's a rail in the bathroom without doors. Super disappointment. And I convinced me friends to stay here so feel doubly bad. Won't be coming back here and disappointed that my loyalty means nothing at this property.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear that your check-in experience was less than perfect. Our Guest Service Agents do their best to service all of our guests with aloha and accommodate requests and room upgrades, based on availability. We are also disappointed to hear that the accommodations of your Tower Deluxe Ocean guestroom did not exceed your expectations. We would like to assure you that we appreciate your loyalty as an SPG Platinum member and hope you will grant us the opportunity to restore your confidence in the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, and welcome you back for a more relaxing and inspiring experience.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

On my last visit to Honolulu we opted to stay a couple of doors down at The Sheraton Waikiki and were quite impressed with the renovations that had been done to the rooms and public areas, especially around the pool - that vanishing edge facility has to be the best pool on Waikiki and Rum Fire is the spot for sunset and Happy Hour!

As a SPG Lifetime Platinum Member, when it comes time to those personal trips/vacations we're always looking for the best options and for a change from our last stay in a place that we've been to before. Luckily Starwood has a few choices on Waikiki.

We had some extra time in Honolulu last week, and arranged through Kelly Sanders, (the area Manager for Starwood in Honolulu) a quick look at the updated Moana Surfrider. Thank you Kelly for the personal introduction to their Operations Manager, Helene Arakaki who set up a mini-tour(with Stephen Horichak / Front Office Manager).

The location on the beach is fabulous and the new Club Lounge on the main floor is outstanding. I absolutely love what they've done here - the access to the beach/pool and amenities offered are exceptional.

The newly renovated tower rooms are stunning! The views onto Waikiki are beautiful, but more importantly the renovations to the rooms themselves are first-class. The bathroom, living room, and bedrooms are well appointed, and the furnishings are ultra-contemporary.

Can't wait for our next visit to Honolulu!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review and thank you for your loyalty as a SPG Lifetime Platinum member. We are happy to hear that Helene and Stephen were able to escort you on a personal tour of the Moana’s Timeless Revitalized guestroom and suite refresh completed in our Tower and Diamond Wings, as well as the addition of the new Beach Club, a signature facility for guests seeking the ultimate resort hospitality experience. At the Moana, we are proud to blend historical ambiance and architecture with contemporary furnishings and fixtures to welcome our guests to a place refined with elegance and old world charm. We are delighted that you are pleased with the property’s rejuvenating transformation and look forward to your return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Avoid rooms in the older part of the hotel if you are sharing a room. There was no dresser, just an armoir so I had to keep my non-hanging items in the night table. The king sized bed took up the entire room and the two of us had to squeeze by one another when out of bed. The bathroom is tiny and there is no place to hang wet bathing suits except over doors. The "view" out the window was to another building -we could not see the sky from our room, just our neighbors' windows and balconies. I've never been in a hotel room so small, and for such a high price.
The hotel hosts weddings all day long so the lobby is always filled with brides, grooms, and wedding guests, every day of the week. It's quite a chaotic scene.
The hotel must have once been lovely. It's on the beach and the beach bar has decent food and expensive, weak, drinks. Guests have to pay outrageous amounts to rent a beach chair and umbrella. We would not stay here again but then, we would not go to Waikiki unless we had to go on business.

Room Tip: Stay in the new rooms, they must be larger and with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. As a historic landmark, the “First Lady of Waikiki” maintains much of her original structure and features, including the size and layout of the guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing. We take great pride in upholding her timeless beauty and old-world charm, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not enjoyable. The Moana’s unique location also allows our guests to enjoy both a paradise retreat on Waikiki Beach while being in the midst of the bustling city. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, for a more refreshing and relaxing stay on your next visit to Waikiki.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.