We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious yet down-to-earth hotel experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A luxurious yet down-to-earth hotel experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We spent three days at Moana Surfrider in the Tower wing. Our suite was spacious, luxurious & accompanied by an amazing view spanning the ocean. We dined at both the beach bar & the beach house restaurants, both were very different, however, equally lovely. The location of the Moana Surfrider is exceptional & we took advantage of the its position everyday. Overall, our stay was fabulous & we hope to return to the Moana Surfrider.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for your inquiry. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom. We offer both historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing and more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing and Diamond Wing. Views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head, as seen from our Tower Wing are simply breathtaking and not to be missed. We are glad you were able to dine at both the beachhouse and the Beach Bar. The beachhouse, set nearly on the ocean in the most timeless and elegant setting, serves the finest quality steaks and the freshest seafood in vibrant island inspired dishes. The Beach Bar, set underneath our iconic Banyan Tree, has been a favorite of guests and locals alike for years and many say serves the best Mai Tai in Hawai’i. Mahalo again for being our guest and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    943
    379
    181
    151
See reviews for
762
1,380
115
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Moana Surfrider on our honeymoon. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay. Great prime location in Waikiki, both on the beach and walking distance to most other shops and for night out - anything else is an easy drive. A lot of great history, being the first resort hotel on the island - they've done a remarkable job showcasing that history along with a display of memorabilia on the second floor and a sponsored historical tour 3 times a week. On-site restaurant and bars are good.

Worthy of note - the pool area is fairly small with not a ton of seating around it. That said, there are chairs/umbrellas for rent on the beach with close proximity to the pool/hotel that offer food and bar service. Rental package is reasonable, plus a discount for SPG members.

We had a small suite facing inward near one of the elevators. We didn't deal with any street noise, being on the opposite side (so would recommend trying for an inside room) - you get a little bit that drifts up from the outside bar/pool area, but it's not a crazy party scene and typically died down by 11-12 at night. Beds were very comfortable - traditional Westin style. HVAC in the room was old, and it definitely took a bit for it to get down and maintain a comfortable temperature.

The service here was excellent - there were a lot of special extras they put forth being on our honeymoon that were unexpected and much appreciated. Cindy at the front desk was a particular stand-out - very friendly and outgoing, really made us feel welcome, and dealt with her a few times throughout our stay. Everyone we encountered was great though.

Our biggest beef I would say was the Wi-Fi service. It was incredibly difficult to find spots in/around the hotel with very good service, and within the room, it was practically non-existent. Definitely do not pay any extra fees for it; you'll likely be disappointed. Go in figuring there will be no Internet or do most of it in common areas in the lobby or outside - those were the best spots, though still not that strong.

Overall, I was very pleased with our stay though, and I would come back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing towards the beach to reduce noise. Check out the seating areas on the 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. On behalf of everyone here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” we would like to congratulate you on your recent marriage. There are so many romantic qualities of the Moana Surfrider that make for a perfect honeymoon or anniversary and we are so honored you chose to spend such a momentous occasion with us. We are happy to hear you appreciated the “special extras” put forth for your honeymoon and also that Cindy at the front desk was friendly and helpful. We will extend to her our sincerest praises for a job well done. We are sorry to hear you experienced difficulties with our internet service and we sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced. If you wish to address this matter further please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your next trip to Oahu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful old hotel with it's own second floor museum. However we spent two nights at this highly regarded hotel and were very dissapointed. We did not pay for a beach view so did not expect one, our room was a Banyan room which has all the style. The tower might be more modern but just as expensive. Room very small and not quiet. Hall noise, lift bell noise and outside street noise, which we do not believe you would ever get away from. The difference between this hotel and other highly recommended hotels is the cost. We have stayed at several other hotels in the past which are much better value. Stay at the cheaper alternative and spend some of that well saved money on a drink or a meal at the Moana Surfrider. We will be doing this next time.

Room Tip: 4th floor Banyan room very over priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your inquiry. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with you r recent stay and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. As you mentioned, we offer historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing as well as more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing and Diamond Wing. Guestrooms in our Banyan Wing are intimately sized and beautifully appointed and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear. Ocean view guestrooms in our Tower Wing provide magnificent views of Waikiki Beach and world famous Diamond Head Crater. If you are interested, please consider joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program for it opens up the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. Mahalo again and we hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verrierdale
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in the beautiful old colonial part of the hotel. The room was small but you would expect this from such and old building. The Banyan tree is magnificent, a perfect place to have a cocktail. The hotel is full of history which makes it an interesting hotel. Upstairs in the old section is a wonderful photographic library showing wonderful images from its history. Take the time to visit. The hotel is right on the beach where you can hire paddle boards and surfboards or just lie around the pool. Like most hotels in Waikiki it's very busy and in one day I witness 4 brides, so it's obviously a very popular hotel for Japanese couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. We are delighted to hear you appreciated the historical qualities of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels and resorts. We offer a historical tour every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century as well as ancient Hawaiian culture and the Kingdom of Hawai’i. So happy to hear you were able to visit the Beach Bar set underneath our iconic Banyan Tree. It truly is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail and watch the day slip into night. Mahalo again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our three nights here were the highlight of our time in Hawaii. We treated ourselves to this luxury at the end of our visit which turned out to be the best thing we could have done, especially after a couple of dud hotels prior to being here. The building is beautiful, the atmosphere is of the old world and the staff were excellent. We were staying in the old part of the hotel and the walls were pretty thin as we were woken in the night by our neighbour talking loudly into his telephone....not a problem for the staff, they attended to it immediately and it never happened again! Our room was over looking the beach and sea which was great. And although old and a bit tired it was perfectly clean and well kept - as was the rest of the hotel. The several bars and restaurants were all top quality. Lunch at a table just about on the beach couldn't have been better. The location is perfect being central Waikiki and right on the beach.Highly recommended for a special stay!

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your inquiry. We are thrilled to hear that the three nights you spent here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa were the highlight of your trip. We are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki providing our guests with easy access to all that Waikiki has to offer. As you mentioned, our historic accommodations are intimately sized and beautifully appointed. We are so sorry to hear that you experienced noise disturbances while in your guestroom, however we are pleased to know our staff handled it immediately and that it didn’t happen again. Mahalo again for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for a night in March 2010 (I'm just catching up on all my reviews now) when our original hotel (the Princess Kaiualani) was overbooked. What a treat! I had always wanted to stay at this hotel!

Obviously a great location backing right onto the beach and pretty much in the heart of all the action. The room was luxurious, and they had just put us up in a basic room! At check-in we were greeted with delicious and refreshing drinks and a cold towel. It is always that added touch that is so well appreciated!

My parents loved just rocking in the rocking chairs out on the "porch" during the afternoon. Watching all the Waikiki activity is entertainment in itself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We are Westin regulars because there are a few things you can bank on with the Westin chain: comfy beds, good showers and good service. Moana Surfrider was no exception. We generally had a great experience, but would not say it was a 5 star experience but this is probably because we were in a basic room. I think if you upgraded to a better room, it could achieve 5 stars.

The hotel is in an excellent location right on the beach, close to shops, restaurants and in the heart of the action. The hotel itself is stunningly beautiful, the colonial architecture of the original building is simply lovely and the common areas are gorgeous. The Beach Bar is gorgeous, nestled under an enormous Banyan tree, looking out over the beach - they have entertainment there every evening such as musicians and hula dancers, and a great bar menu and drinks list - perfect spot to sit and watch the world go by. We checked out a few other hotels like the Royal Hawaiian, Sheraton etc and agreed the Moana has the nicest beachfront/ pool area.

You can rent an umbrella and chairs in the private beachfront area for $70 a day or $35 after midday, we loved doing this as the sun is really hot and the chairs were very comfy. The private beach area has lovely friendly waitstaff to bring drinks and snacks, an extremely relaxing experience. The mango daiquiris were delicious!

The room: now, we booked a great (fairly inexpensive) package deal and so we were in literally the worst room they have, a city view banyan tree king room in the original building. Even so, the room was perfectly comfortable - comfy bed, adequate storage room for bags etc and a small but well appointed bathroom. A little on the small side and needed a thorough clean - dusty baseboards and grubby tiles in the bathroom, but only I noticed this, my husband was oblivious. The view was non existent, we we looking into a concrete courtyard at an air conditioning unit - but we didn't mind as we were hardly in our room during daylight hours anyway. The hotel has plenty of rooms with great views if that is something you want.

Daily housekeeping was a bit patchy - some days a very rushed job, messily made bed, toiletries not replenished; other days a very thorough job. Staff were generally very friendly.

The Spa: AMAZING experience, we had a couples hot stone massage in a private suite. The entire experience was wonderful. Beautiful spa facilities, great staff and a vey relaxing treatment. I would highly recommend starting your trip with a visit to the spa, it set a very relaxing tone for the whole trip.

Beach Bar - we had breakfast here one morning, a little pricey but very delicious food and great service, and of course an amazing view out over the ocean.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return to the Moana Surfrider - best location, great pool and beach facilities and a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There are so many room options, use the interactive room viewer on the Westin website to choose your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall experience here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels and resorts. Historical accommodations are intimately sized and beautifully appointed and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear. We also offer more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing and Diamond Wing in order to suit the varying needs of our guests. So happy to hear you enjoyed a treatment at the Moana Lani Spa. It is the only beachfront spa in Waikiki and the perfect place to unwind in pure luxury. As you mentioned we do offer daily beach umbrella rentals where guests can relax on an exclusive beach reserved solely for guests of the Moana Surfrider. Mahalo again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.