We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-situated, historic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Well-situated, historic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was the second time my wife and I stayed at this hotel. The first time was about twenty years ago (pre-kids) ... this time, we brought the kids. We love historic hotels. The first time, we stayed in the old building and, though well-decorated and well-maintained, the room was a little small. This, of course, is to be expected in a vintage property. This time, we stayed in the new Tower rooms and the rooms were large, beautiful and well-kept. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is in the middle of Waikiki Beach, near everything and on a wide, white strip of sand. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you like bigger, more up to date rooms, try the Tower section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled you chose to stay here again after nearly 20 years. So happy to hear you enjoyed your recently renovated Tower Wing guestroom. Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we offer a variety of different guestroom options, ranging from historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing to our newly renovated Tower Wing. We are delighted to hear how much you appreciated the historical qualities of the hotel. For your information, we offer a historical tour every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we hope you will return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    1,010
    401
    194
    159
See reviews for
817
1,485
124
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider last week for 3 days. We were given the old rooms, which have very, very old and stained carpets as well as a very old bathroom. No shower gel was supplied, just a bar of soap. Someone left some fruit-granola yoghurt in our cupboard (presumably previous guests), which was not spotted by housekeeping and we had to throw it away ourselves outside the room as it was smelling badly.

As this wing of the hotel is very old, you can hear if someone showers 5 rooms down the hallway, not particularly pleasant being woken up at 6.00am by your neighbors using the bathroom...

A week later we stayed at the Moana again on our way home. We wanted to get some chairs to sit at the private beach area (which is tiny, there are only a few chairs), and were advised that it costs USD50 to rent some chairs and an umbrella. When I asked only for chairs, they said that the chairs can only be used with an umbrella - so if you want to sit at the private beach area, you have to pay USD50. And it's first come, first served, meaning that you won't have space when you show up late morning.

As the hotel is very expensive for what it offers, it is much better value to stay at a hotel across the road for half the price and use the public beach, as you will have to do this anyway unless you want to pay extra for your chairs.

The waiters at the breakfast area are all very nice, and breakfast itself is good - this was the highlight of our stay. But then we could have just come for breakfast and stayed somewhere else.

Overall, our stay at the Moana Surfrider has been a disappointment, and I suggest you choose another hotel at Waikiki. We will definitely not come back here nor recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't give you a room in the old wing, as the walls are very thin and you will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” The concerns you mentioned about the cleanliness of your guestroom are unrepresentative of our standards and again we apologize. If you wish to address this matter further please feel free to reach out to us at 374guesexperienceteam@westin.com. As you mentioned, we offer daily private beach umbrella rentals for $50 where guests can relax in complete luxury on an exclusive beach reserved solely for guests of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast on the Veranda and that it was the highlight of your stay. There really is no better way to start your day in Waikiki. If you are interested, please consider joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program, which opens up the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. We hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The lobby and outdoor area at this hotel show great charm and character, with real history to soak up. The location on Waikiki Beach is top-notch and is extremely convenient to both the beach and local shopping and restaurants. The only drawback was that the room was a little out-dated (loud air-conditioner and 80's-esque bathroom / wallpaper). Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so happy you chose to stay with us here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and we continue to convey a sense of romance and charm today. We try to remind our guests of a simpler time with services like Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. We also offer a historical tour every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are a family of 4 which includes 2 teenage children (17 & 14) and stayed 7 days mid December.
Check-in was smooth & very easy. We had a room on the 13th floor which had 2 double beds, desk, safe, bar fridge - all the usual items.
Air conditioning was very efficient; actually too good as the room could get very cold if you let it run too much. The hotel is right on the main boulevard of Waikiki and everything is outside the front door and the beach is outside the back door.
Bathroom was OK with a shower over bath, but the bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan. The bar fridge was empty which suited us and the cleaning staff did a great job cleaning up after us. The hotel is great, there is a really nice eating area which backs onto the beach, perfect for a late afternoon drink and watching the sunset. Pool area is a little small but then there is the beach right next to you. Great gym area which overlooks the main boulevard.
We found it very easy to get to all the major sites via taxi, shuttle bus or trolley car; most are just outside the front door.
Diamond Head Crater National Park is a short walk away and well worth the effort to the look out at the top; the view from the top was stunning.
For the all important coffee hit, there was no need to travel further than right next door; The Honolulu Coffee Co. makes some of the best espresso's in Honolulu. They are open from early in the morning to late in the evening. They make a mean breakfast muesli, croissants and other pastries as well, highly recommended.
After a hard day sight seeing or shopping, a great way to unwind is to sit on the large lounge chairs on the front porch of the hotel with a drink in hand watching the world go by.
Yes would definetly recommend the Moana Surfrider and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your week long stay here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As you mentioned, our central location on Waikiki Beach provides our guests with easy access to all that Kalakaua Avenue has to offer. Many local attractions are within walking distance, including the Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium. We offer a number of cultural activities here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” such as lei making and hula lessons, all included in our daily resort fee of $31. Many beneficial opportunities are built-in to our resort fee such as daily parking for one vehicle, daily yoga and aquasize classes, a historical tour offered every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am as well as a number of other options. Mahalo again we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We love the Moana hospitality and general Aloha feel. The historical tour is wonderful, because this is the first Waikiki hotel. The old Arthur Godfrey "Hawaii Calls" used to be broadcast when I was a kid, from under the courtyard Banyon tree. One of the mikes was taken down to record the sound of the surf. This is still a truly old traditional Hawaiian Hotel, only updated.
My wife and I have been grading Mai Tai's in the Islands for years. The Moana and the inter- island terminal at the Honolulu Airport are, at this point, tied.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and you were able to attend our historical tour, offered every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am. As you know, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels. We try to convey a sense of old world charm in this modern day in age with services like Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. Guests and locals alike agree that the Beach Bar’s Mai Tai is one of best on the island and we are so happy to hear you agree. Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

we had stayed at the westin in key west last year and my husband uses them for business in shanghi and japan, never had a problem so booked a room which we picked off there web site doubleroom 2 large beds we always do this as the room is bigger...over looking the beach..
At a cost of 500$ per night and we were there for 7 nights. we checked in, the hotel was packed loads of tourist a little bit too packed for me i could have been in japan because they seem to be the only tourist there.
when we were shown our room it was like a very bad room in new york city, and over the years have experienced a few of them in the early days. The bathroom had plastic pannels all around the bath hand shower, no soaps etc, one bed in the room and the covers didnt even cover the bed they advertise "Heavenly beds" well not in this room, it was like the room from hell. no mimi bar tiny tv shabby is the way i decribe it, so down we go the the reception who explains to us that we are in the part of the hotel that has not been refurbished, no mention of this on there web site, after 30 mins and conversations with many staff we were given an upgraded room which cost 850$ per night, much better but still not the standard you would expect from this hotel.Hand held shower, no mini bar...dissappointed! also its 55$ per day to hire seats around the pool and beach. Although so many screaming kids never even got into the pool so packed, also the beach bar packed every night. Bar food awful!! What a shame as the building and reception area amazing.......so the tower rooms the only ones to take if you book a room here, but avoid august.....would re think if i went there again...but what a wonderful place to stay, resturants bars shops all good and lovely people.

Room Tip: Tower rooms only or any room above that cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We checked into the Moana Surfrider and we upgraded to a room in the tower wing. The room was large and open suite, enough room to accommodate several guests using rollaways. Their we two balconies and dual climate control. The view was over the beach and ocean. It was a beautiful hotel, for a very busy and crowded city. Waikiki beach is was of the busiest beaches on Oahu, so if that is your thing and luxury hotels is a must then the Moana Surfrider is for you.

Room Tip: The tower wing was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. So happy to hear availability allowed us to upgrade you to an ocean view Tower Wing guestroom. Views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are spectacular and not to be missed! Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki is second to none with the bright blue Pacific Ocean on one side and many shops and restaurants on the other. Many local attractions are within walking distance of “The First Lady of Waikiki” including the Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium. Mahalo again and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.