We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Waikiki Beach Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Waikiki Beach Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Trip-Advisor review. Absolutely loved it!! You stepped off the hotel and land on the beach. The hotel is oldest hotel at Waikiki but it was beautifully kept up. Loved the rocky chairs at the main entrance with pleasant wind from ocean to the front. You can just sit there and watch the crowd from Waikiki's Kalakaua Ave. At night there a lots of performers on the street across the hotel with "fun" noises.. :)

We had the ocean view room. The bed was soooo comfy. The bath room has a little "sour" smell when you first walk in. I think it is the curtain shower. The hotel should replace new one often to get rid of the smell. The hall way on the fifth floor has some mark on the wall that should be clean off to match the immaculate image of the lobby but.. This is the reason I didn't give the hotel all five star.

Breakfast is so awesome. Lots of fresh fruit and variety of dishes.. They have one of the best of Miso soup that I have tasted so far :).

We love the beautiful Banyan tree planted in 1904 in the back of the hotel. It is protected by the government, the have to have permit to trim it.

There are lots of wedding in this hotel. We saw at least six Japanese weddings taking picture in the lobby and at the Banyan tree. :)

BTW, when you walk out of the front of the hotel, you turn left and get on the second floor of the mall (don't know the name) there is a Korean BBQ (name: Yummy) at this mall's food court. They serve one of the best Korean BBQ dishes with decent prices !!!

We will definitely come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thanks for sharing with us! We are so happy to hear how much you love “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you mentioned, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that distinguishes us from neighboring hotels. We set the precedent for Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years ago and we continue to evoke charm and romance in this modern world. We offer an Afternoon Tea service daily where guests can relax on our world famous Veranda set underneath our majestic banyan tree and overlooking Waikiki Beach. A truly nostalgic experience and not to be missed! Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    1,010
    401
    194
    159
See reviews for
817
1,485
124
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Upgrade on arrival. Lovely cookies and Hawaiian soda awaiting in room. Centrally located in Waikiki. My son and I had a great time. Concierge was very helpful. Also utilize the activities desk. They will help you arrange your days so that you can make the most out of your stay. The hotel itself is beautiful and stylish. Thank you so much for making our stay as wonderful as it was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom equipped with a Westin Heavenly Bed. We aspire to provide a well-rested stay for our guests in hopes of them returning home feeling refreshed and rejuvenated. If you haven’t before, please visit our Moana Lani Spa for ultimate relaxation. It is the only beachfront spa in Waikiki and features a couple’s treatment room. Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I enjoyed my first stay in Hawaii. I booked my family vacation with Melissa Harmon at Beach Bum Vacations. The hotel is beautiful outside and inside. All the staff was great including the front desk, concierge, and the restaurant staff. My room was very clean and they brought a crib for my baby without a request. The breakfast Buffet was good and they options to cook to order. The beach was clean and easily accessible. And my daughter enjoyed spending time in the hotel pool. I would return to this property again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so happy you chose to spend your first Hawaiian vacation with us and that your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” lived up to your expectations. We love creating unique “Moana memories” for our guests and we hope you will remember your first trip to Hawai’i forever. Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki is second to none with the ocean just a few steps away from our hotel lobby. Mahalo again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked our vacation with Melissa at Beach Bum Vacations and had a wonderful stay at the Moana. In previous years with the same agency we stayed at another chain hotel that was nice, but the Moana was nicer. I will surely be going back the next time I vacation in Oahu.

The hotel is in a busy, touristy area. HOWEVER, it was still very lovely. There were tons of weddings everyday. I experienced the same at another hotel two years ago. If you stay in a picturesque nice hotel in Oahu, you can expect to see wedding parties taking pictures there.

I vacationed there with two other families and we all had different room types. One family stayed in the Banyan Ocean View which was small, but nice. Another stayed in a room overlooking the streets of Waikiki, that room was a nice size. We stayed in a partial ocean tower. From our lanai we could see the Outrigger next door and the beautiful ocean/beach. We didn't mind seeing another hotel in our view...same everywhere unless you upgrade to an ocean view. Our first night there they had some sort of firework display...it was great. We could see everything from our lanai.

On the first night we had a turn-down service. We got back to our room to find fresh papaya, pineapple, and grapes along with a complimentary book about the history of the hotel. The beds were comfy. The room size was comparable to another chain hotel that I stayed at on previous travels to Oahu.

The breakfast buffet was expensive, but was included in the package through Beach Bum. I am sure that we paid for the breakfast somewhere in that package, but at least it was prepaid and less of an aggravation once we got there. The birds were aggressive. You can expect that when eating outside on a beach! On other vacations I have encountered the same problem. No big deal. Just don't leave your table/plate unattended for long periods of time.

Our room was always very clean and we always received prompt service whenever we called the front desk. We are all looking forward to visiting again.


HINT: if you are a SPG member you may get a higher floor at check-in.

Room Tip: SPG member floor is higher up...less noise from the beach below
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we are pleased to hear you were a recipient of great service. As you mentioned, we do offer a variety of different guestroom options, ranging from our historical Banyan Wing guestrooms to more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing. We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels. We continue to evoke charm and romance today and we try to remind our guests of a simpler time with services such as Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. Mahalo and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year, whilst my husband was attending a conference, for 10 nights with our two children.
Fabulous location, right on the beach and close to shops and restaurants.
Our children loved the beach and the pool.
Comfortable, clean rooms.
Breakfast was amazing, every morning. Great food and drinks at the beach bar, with daily entertainment.
Friendly helpful staff who oragnized tours and car hire for us.
Relaxing rocking chairs on the front porch.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki, with many different shops and restaurants in close proximity to “The First Lady of Waikiki.” So happy to hear you found breakfast every morning to be amazing and that you enjoyed the beach bar set underneath our iconic banyan tree. Guests and locals rave about the beach bar’s Mai Tai and we hope you were able to try it. The beach bar is the perfect place to enjoy a cocktail and watch the day slip into night. Mahalo again and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have just returned from 5 days at the Moana. The lobby was always packed with people , and non stop wedding parties . I know it was peak holiday season but in visiting other near bye hotels this was quite extraordinary ,, one day there was the added " annual Mango Festival " and there were stalls all set up by the pool . Although the offerings at theses stalls were delicious it made negotiating the path to the pool and beach almost impossible . We chose a room in the older part of the hotel with an ocean view . We had a large picture window almost on top of the beach which was wonderful . The room was however small and the bathroom even smaller .it was always clean ad beds extremely comfortable . Staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend paying the extra for the chairs on the beach - staff bought lovely drinks and lunch and you really needed the shade as the sun was very hot .
The location is fantastic and the old world charm really special - sitting on the wide verandah looking out over the setting sun - doesn't get much better .
We just wished it was a bit more peaceful ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thanks for sharing with us and for being our guest. Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we try to create a relaxing oasis in the middle of bustling Waikiki and remind our guests of a simpler time with services such as Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. We are delighted to hear you relished in our private beach umbrella rental where guests can relax on an exclusive beach reserved specifically for guests of the Moana Surfride, A Westin Resort & Spa. If you haven’t before, please visit our Moana Lani Spa and treat yourself to a rejuvenating service, such as the lomi lomi massage, a customer favorite! Mahalo and we hope you will return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Moana Surfrider the first 3 nights of our recent trip to Hawaii. We had reserved an ocean front room in the tower and that's what we got. We ended up on the 9th floor, which was fine, but our lanai was close to a cooking smoke vent and a couple of times we couldn't stay on the lanai to enjoy the view because of cooking smoke. As a result, we were disappointed that we didn't get (or ask) for a room on a higher floor.

The view from our room was very nice, as evidenced from the photos attached to this review. Since we were there on Oahu only to take in the Battleships of WWII tour and do a little shopping, we spent most of our time on the lanai enjoying the view and watching the surfers, swimmers and sun bathers on Waikiki Beach.

The food was good, though as stated previously, very, VERY overpriced for what you get. But then most places you can eat on Waikiki are over priced. We had dinner our first night at the Beachhouse at the Moana and that's when we got food sticker shock. Never-the-less, we enjoyed our meal, but the next two nights, we found someplace not quite as expensive to eat.

The service while we were there was exceptional. Were were able to check right in and the front desk person was very courteous and attentive. Housekeeping did a very nice job cleaning up our messes every day and were prompt when we needed something extra.

Although this has nothing to do with the Moana Surfrider, or any Waikiki hotel for that matter, my only real problem with staying at a hotel on Waikiki Beach is how crowded it is there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so sorry to hear of your concerns and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you experienced while being our guest. We always encourage our guests to address any issues with our management as soon as possible as we are often able to grant additional guestrooms, based on availability. We pride ourselves in having wonderful customer service and we are delighted to hear you received exceptional service. Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we aspire to provide first class service. Mahalo again and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on a future vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.