We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a beautiful property, but not worth the price. I will caution you and say that we didn’t have a great experience with customer service, which may taint my view of the hotel. The location is great – it’s right in the middle of Waikiki beach – but other than that, there was really nothing special or outstanding about this property. The service was less than welcoming. When we checked in, the people at the front desk weren’t helpful or friendly, which was very disappointing and unexpected, as we had wonderful service at another Starwood hotel in the area. Another issue was that our room had been moved to a city view one of the lower floors, so we pretty much just had a direct view of the hotel next door, not ideal. The room was on the small side, so if you’re staying for an extended time, just be aware. However, it had a nice size bathroom.

I did like the direct access to the beach from the hotel, you have to walk through the outdoor bar/restaurant patio, but that’s not a big deal.

There are some great reviews of this hotel, but I wouldn’t recommend it. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear you found the service here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” less than welcoming. Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we apologize if you received anything less than royal treatment. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and we pride ourselves in having excellent customer service. We set the precedent for Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years ago and continue to convey charm and elegance today. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, set directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki. We hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence. Mahalo and a hui hou (until we meet again).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,345
    925
    372
    178
    148
See reviews for
746
1,354
113
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location on Waikiki, clean beach, beautiful water, solid staff. Tiny (and I mean NYC-level tiny) albeit clean room. Nice meal outside on the patio in the upscale restaurant. Decent view of the beach. No complaints, a good one-night stay.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We offer a variety of different rooms here at “The First Lady of Waikiki,” including charming historic guest rooms in our Banyan Wing and more modernized guest rooms in our newly renovated Tower Wing. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal at the beachhouse overlooking beautiful Waikiki Beach. While many are familiar with Waikiki’s beauty by day, fewer delight in its romance by night. The beachhouse, set nearly on the water in the historic “Grand Salon” is the most ideal setting to relish in all the romance Waikiki has to offer. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a corner cityview room and it was lovely. The room was clean and had two balconies; one of which had a modest ocean view. Our check in was fast and super friendly. I wish I could say the same for the concierge desk as they did seem a little put off when approached. We were unable to have dinner at the hotel restaurant as you need reservations that we were not made aware of so we ate at the beach bar. The food really wasn't worth the enormous price but we were hungry enough to eat it. Room service food the next morning arrived cold and again not worth the price however we found Hula Grill next door and had a wonderful coconut pineapple pancake breakfast the next day! We also found Dukes next door as well and loved it so much we ate their twice during our 3 night stay. Overall the hotel is wonderful and beautiful so I no points marked off for the food! I can't wait to go back in a few months!

Room Tip: Tower rooms seems to be the best. Any side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your city view guestroom and that you were able to see the ocean from one of the balconies. We are sorry to hear you found the food at the Beach Bar and Room Service to not be worth the price and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. If you wish to, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda someday soon. Guests love our tea service set underneath our iconic Banyan Tree and overlooking Waikiki Beach. Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The rooms are a disappointment as they are small. The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the beach. Avoid the breakfast buffet unless you feel the need to pay 40 dollars each. The hotel is extremely smart, classy and clean. The beach side bar is an excellent place to unwind. The location places the hotel beside all the major shops. The hotel does cater for a lot if weddings, it's like a Japanese wedding fair at times. Overall I would definitely stay and recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the size of your guest room and we apologize for any discomfort you experienced as a result. While many of our guests find our intimately sized guestrooms charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear, we do offer more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing. It’s so great to hear you enjoyed our Beach Bar set underneath our iconic Banyan Tree. It really is the ideal spot to enjoy a cocktail and watch the day slip into night. Mahalo again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend get-a-way from the east coast. I booked a package in advance that included a full breakfast each morning and champagne upon arrival. Since we were taking a flight that landed in HNL around 7pm we were a bit worried about what type of room we would be given upon checkin. I am happy to report that since my partner is a platinum with Starwood we were upgraded to a beautiful diamond head view room that was newly renovated in the tower section of the hotel three days before we arrived. The view from the balcony was amazing and it felt like I was in a dream. The champagne and a full fruit plate was waiting for us in the fridge with a special note from the hotel manager welcoming us back. Breakfast each morning was another AMAZING event and the staff were more than helpful with any request. With our package we were allowed the full buffet plus anything on the menu. I spent countless hours on that hotel balcony looking at diamond head and the surf. I cannot wait to return! Great job Moana Surfrider!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are so happy we were able to upgrade you to an ocean view Tower Wing guestroom offering magnificent views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. So glad you enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet on the Veranda each morning. What a fantastic way to start each day! If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. A truly memorable experience! Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We began our American vacation by staying at this amazing hotel in Waikiki. It was one of the few hotels that accommodated our family of five in one room. We were in a tower deluxe room with two queen sized beds that had been newly renovated. They supplied a rollaway free of charge which was bigger than normal and so comfortable for my five year old. The bathroom was tiny but very clean. My only complaint would be they needed more storage for belongings. The room had no drawers only a closet in the bathroom.

With our rate we were given free hourly international calls each day. That was so convenient as I rang family back home. Their service was unbelievable. We even received a free family photo shoot that could be taken anywhere on hotel grounds. We ran out of time to take advantage of this but I regret it so much as the hotel itself is beautiful. Located on the beach. Made us truly feel like we were in Hawaii. Located in a great spot and close to shops, Diamond Head and many great restaurants like The Cheesecake Factory and Dukes.

We were only here two nights and at the end of our trip we returned to Waikiki and stayed at the Hilton Grand Waikikian which I thought was disappointing compared to the Moana Surfrider. Yes the Hilton has many extras like the pools, lagoon and fireworks on the beach (Friday night only) but it did not make us feel special and important like this place did. Everything at the Hilton was extra and so expensive. I prefer location of Surfrider also and much cheaper for us because they accommodated us in one room. Wish we had returned to this hotel. Absolutely loved this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are pleased to hear you appreciated the daily resort fee and all the opportunities that come along with it, such as one hour of international telephone calls and a professional family portrait on the hotel grounds. Guests love our Westin Heavenly Beds and our Heavenly Rollaway just might be the most comfortable rollaway there is! Mahalo and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of night on the latter part of our trip to Oahu.

Location: Really great location as you are in the middle of everything. Duke's is right next door and International Marketplace is just up front. There's also a bus stop just in front of the hotel as well. Since you are in the middle of the action, it can get pretty hectic throughout the day. The lobby is always buzzing with activity and people are always walking by so it's not as serene as other less popular hotels. The beach right in front also gets pretty crowded during the day. But if you are here to people watch, it's perfect.
Facilities/Services: Facilities and Services are top notch. As a welcome, they give you leis, which is a small gesture but very appreciated. As a guest, you have a lot of free activities (well not really free as I will explain later) that you can take part in. I tried the morning yoga and was pretty pleased with the session and the location (they did it in the beach front). I think you can also take a historical tour and some other activities that I wasn't able to do. We did take advantage of the nearby 3rd party company that was holding surf lessons right next door. Oh and I also loved that they have complementary water and juice everywhere. The pool isn't much. There's much better pools like in Royal Hawaiian but it was ok since we came to Oahu for the beach anyway. The one thing I didn't like though is that you have to pay for the chairs and umbrellas on the beach front. I guess you can just always buy one at ABC instead of renting theirs.There is wifi in the rooms and common areas (you can even get a bit of signal on the beach) but it is not free. You have to pay a 25 dollar fee which as they explained is like a resort fee (includes the yoga). You also have the option of doing a photo session around the hotel. They'll give you one photo free (but really that one photo is placed in a huge Westin template). If you're going to do it, I think you should be in the mindset that you are going to buy the pictures, because otherwise, you'll just be wasting your time. You need to book an appointment and they tend to get busy so don't be late. Oh we did do a photoshoot and get our photos because not for nothing but the photographer was awesome and he got some really nice shots.
Ambiance: The one thing I absolutely loved about this place was the rocking chairs. try the 2nd floor rocking chairs. Much more relaxing. As mentioned, not sure if I would say that the hotel promotes a relaxing vacation due to the sheer amount of activity that goes on in the hotel but the hotel itself was really pretty. Explains why there are a lot of weddings going on.
Room: The room isn't that big but it's not small either. Just right. I think all the rooms have balconies and they are all angled in such a way that everyone has a view of the ocean. Other than that, nothing really special about the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are delighted to hear of your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki. The Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, was actually the first hotel built in Waikiki and the city literally developed around this magnificent beachfront hotel. As you mentioned, we do have a daily resort fee of $31.00 which includes a number of beneficial opportunities such as daily parking for one vehicle, a welcome beverage at bin1901, daily yoga and aquasize classes, one professional photograph, and a historical tour offered every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am. We do offer daily rentals of our private beach umbrellas where guests can relax on an exclusive beach reserved for guests of the Moana. If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a truly nostalgic experience. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.