We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The rooms are a disappointment as they are small. The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the beach. Avoid the breakfast buffet unless you feel the need to pay 40 dollars each. The hotel is extremely smart, classy and clean. The beach side bar is an excellent place to unwind. The location places the hotel beside all the major shops. The hotel does cater for a lot if weddings, it's like a Japanese wedding fair at times. Overall I would definitely stay and recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in the size of your guest room and we apologize for any discomfort you experienced as a result. While many of our guests find our intimately sized guestrooms charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear, we do offer more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing. It’s so great to hear you enjoyed our Beach Bar set underneath our iconic Banyan Tree. It really is the ideal spot to enjoy a cocktail and watch the day slip into night. Mahalo again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    903
    366
    179
    147
See reviews for
731
1,337
110
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a long weekend get-a-way from the east coast. I booked a package in advance that included a full breakfast each morning and champagne upon arrival. Since we were taking a flight that landed in HNL around 7pm we were a bit worried about what type of room we would be given upon checkin. I am happy to report that since my partner is a platinum with Starwood we were upgraded to a beautiful diamond head view room that was newly renovated in the tower section of the hotel three days before we arrived. The view from the balcony was amazing and it felt like I was in a dream. The champagne and a full fruit plate was waiting for us in the fridge with a special note from the hotel manager welcoming us back. Breakfast each morning was another AMAZING event and the staff were more than helpful with any request. With our package we were allowed the full buffet plus anything on the menu. I spent countless hours on that hotel balcony looking at diamond head and the surf. I cannot wait to return! Great job Moana Surfrider!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are so happy we were able to upgrade you to an ocean view Tower Wing guestroom offering magnificent views of Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head. So glad you enjoyed the delicious breakfast buffet on the Veranda each morning. What a fantastic way to start each day! If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. A truly memorable experience! Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We began our American vacation by staying at this amazing hotel in Waikiki. It was one of the few hotels that accommodated our family of five in one room. We were in a tower deluxe room with two queen sized beds that had been newly renovated. They supplied a rollaway free of charge which was bigger than normal and so comfortable for my five year old. The bathroom was tiny but very clean. My only complaint would be they needed more storage for belongings. The room had no drawers only a closet in the bathroom.

With our rate we were given free hourly international calls each day. That was so convenient as I rang family back home. Their service was unbelievable. We even received a free family photo shoot that could be taken anywhere on hotel grounds. We ran out of time to take advantage of this but I regret it so much as the hotel itself is beautiful. Located on the beach. Made us truly feel like we were in Hawaii. Located in a great spot and close to shops, Diamond Head and many great restaurants like The Cheesecake Factory and Dukes.

We were only here two nights and at the end of our trip we returned to Waikiki and stayed at the Hilton Grand Waikikian which I thought was disappointing compared to the Moana Surfrider. Yes the Hilton has many extras like the pools, lagoon and fireworks on the beach (Friday night only) but it did not make us feel special and important like this place did. Everything at the Hilton was extra and so expensive. I prefer location of Surfrider also and much cheaper for us because they accommodated us in one room. Wish we had returned to this hotel. Absolutely loved this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are pleased to hear you appreciated the daily resort fee and all the opportunities that come along with it, such as one hour of international telephone calls and a professional family portrait on the hotel grounds. Guests love our Westin Heavenly Beds and our Heavenly Rollaway just might be the most comfortable rollaway there is! Mahalo and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of night on the latter part of our trip to Oahu.

Location: Really great location as you are in the middle of everything. Duke's is right next door and International Marketplace is just up front. There's also a bus stop just in front of the hotel as well. Since you are in the middle of the action, it can get pretty hectic throughout the day. The lobby is always buzzing with activity and people are always walking by so it's not as serene as other less popular hotels. The beach right in front also gets pretty crowded during the day. But if you are here to people watch, it's perfect.
Facilities/Services: Facilities and Services are top notch. As a welcome, they give you leis, which is a small gesture but very appreciated. As a guest, you have a lot of free activities (well not really free as I will explain later) that you can take part in. I tried the morning yoga and was pretty pleased with the session and the location (they did it in the beach front). I think you can also take a historical tour and some other activities that I wasn't able to do. We did take advantage of the nearby 3rd party company that was holding surf lessons right next door. Oh and I also loved that they have complementary water and juice everywhere. The pool isn't much. There's much better pools like in Royal Hawaiian but it was ok since we came to Oahu for the beach anyway. The one thing I didn't like though is that you have to pay for the chairs and umbrellas on the beach front. I guess you can just always buy one at ABC instead of renting theirs.There is wifi in the rooms and common areas (you can even get a bit of signal on the beach) but it is not free. You have to pay a 25 dollar fee which as they explained is like a resort fee (includes the yoga). You also have the option of doing a photo session around the hotel. They'll give you one photo free (but really that one photo is placed in a huge Westin template). If you're going to do it, I think you should be in the mindset that you are going to buy the pictures, because otherwise, you'll just be wasting your time. You need to book an appointment and they tend to get busy so don't be late. Oh we did do a photoshoot and get our photos because not for nothing but the photographer was awesome and he got some really nice shots.
Ambiance: The one thing I absolutely loved about this place was the rocking chairs. try the 2nd floor rocking chairs. Much more relaxing. As mentioned, not sure if I would say that the hotel promotes a relaxing vacation due to the sheer amount of activity that goes on in the hotel but the hotel itself was really pretty. Explains why there are a lot of weddings going on.
Room: The room isn't that big but it's not small either. Just right. I think all the rooms have balconies and they are all angled in such a way that everyone has a view of the ocean. Other than that, nothing really special about the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are delighted to hear of your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki. The Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, was actually the first hotel built in Waikiki and the city literally developed around this magnificent beachfront hotel. As you mentioned, we do have a daily resort fee of $31.00 which includes a number of beneficial opportunities such as daily parking for one vehicle, a welcome beverage at bin1901, daily yoga and aquasize classes, one professional photograph, and a historical tour offered every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am. We do offer daily rentals of our private beach umbrellas where guests can relax on an exclusive beach reserved for guests of the Moana. If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a truly nostalgic experience. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate at the Beach bar practically "toes in sand" we had ahi poke nachos $19, and I had ahi poke island style ,yellow fin tuna and sea asparagus, it was divine.
The cocktails were reasonable ,large and well presented.
The whole atmosphere was up market, great service, you wanted to stay there all day, and we nearly did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Had a great time here....room was small but view of the Main beach and the Diamond was awesome....couldnt complain at the rate we got.
Food very over the top expensive so we ate out mostly.
Great chairs at the front for those days where you just need to relax after a rather heavy night on the Blue Lagoons

Room Tip: Great beach and tree in the back yard!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are so happy to hear you had a great time here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” and that you enjoyed views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach from your guestroom. Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki is second to none with many different shops and restaurants within very close proximity to our hotel grounds. We are happy you were able to relax in our rocking chairs set on our historic porch overlooking Kalakaua Avenue. If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a truly nostalgic experience. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The majority of reviews on tripadvisor are absolutely correct. Several great aspects and several negatives - depends which things are most important to you. Overall, an enjoyable stay

Ambience:
Does not have the frantic and impersonal ambience of some of the larger hotels eg Sheraton Waikiki or Hilton, having a more colonial and peaceful feel about it, although the lobby is very very crowded, and at any one time, there will be at least one wedding party taking up most of the space!

Service:
Joshua at the front desk was a highlight of our stay - he gave us a lot of information at check-in and was subsequently very helpful whenever questions needed to be answered. The concierge was variable - sometimes excellent, other times curt and behaved as though they couldn't wait to be rid of us. The poolside service was excellent, but the casual restaurant service was poor - very slow and they forgot our drinks and one part of our meal.

Rooms: Very small, not new, tiny bathroom which flooded easily as there was no proper shower drainage, basic amentities only.... overall not at all luxurious, but adequate. Minimal storage space for clothes etc - we couldn't unpack our whole suitcase! The oceanfront view was excellent, but the balcony was tiny and couldn't fit a table or any chairs. The airconditioner was extremely noisy. On multiple occasions, housekeeping did not clear used glasses.

Pool: I agree with other reviewers that the pool is nothing much, particularly compared to the Sheraton. There is also not a lot of shade. There is no hot tub except in the spa salon. However, despite this, due to the good lay out and proximity to the beach, it was still very pleasant by the pool if you could manage to grab a seat!

Restaurant:
See above re casual restaurant. Re the more formal restaurant (Beach house), we had eaten here previously, and it was good but not great. We didn't dine here in principle, as we had booked a room rate with "35% off meals at in-house restaurants" but the fine print said "except drinks and Beachhouse at dinner", so we ended up saving $30 in 4 days only!

Spa:
Had a great massage. The sauna, steam room and hot tub are very nice and overlook the pool and beach

Room Tip: I read other reviews to choose a tower room. They did not have one available when we arrived, so per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We value your feedback for it gives us the opportunity to improve and reflect upon our guest’s experiences. We are sorry to hear of your concerns regarding your guestroom and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. Many of our guests find our intimately sized historic guestrooms charming and reminiscent of the Hawai’i of yesteryear, however we do offer more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing. We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and we currently aim to bridge authentic Hawaiian hospitality with modernized luxuries. We try to remind our guests of a simpler time with our historic open air lobby and rocking chairs and services such as Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. We offer a Historical Tour every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. We are pleased to know Joshua at the front desk was “a highlight of your stay” and he will be commended for his service. We apologize that your experience at the award winning beachhouse did not meet your expectations and we hope you will return soon and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Mahalo again and we hope look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.