We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 7 nights at the Moana Surfrider. We loved the location and had excellent service. If I am going to be in a busy city like Honolulu, this hotel is the perfect place to be. Close to all the action, but a beautiful beach setting. Room was very comfortable and spacious. There are 3 different areas for rooms. I know some have recommended the old part, but I would highly recommend the tower. We upgraded to full ocean view in the tower at the highest floor available. Was quite expensive, but worth every cent. We had a large luxurious room, big balcony with seating overlooking the beach and ocean. Got the morning and evening sun. Only complaint of the hotel was that I had to stand and wait for a bit a front desk. All other service was great. Would definitely stay again if we go back to Honolulu.

Room Tip: If you can, go tower with full ocean view. Stay away from anything facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki with everything from high end shopping to canoe surfing a few short steps away. It is great to hear you enjoyed your guestroom in our newly renovated Tower Wing. We do offer a variety of different guestrooms, ranging from our historic Banyan Wing to our beachfront Diamond Wing and renovated Tower Wing, to better accommodate our varying guests. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    942
    379
    180
    150
See reviews for
761
1,378
115
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, Suffolk UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited 3 years ago and today celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary - Best holiday I've had, travelled as 3 couples, great location and only a few feet from the turquoise ocean. Good rooms, restaurant and pool bar. Friends has a cake made for us on wedding day, son and his girlfriend got engaged at top of Diamond Head and their wedding booked for this September. Loads to do and see, would love to go back to Hawaii and the Moana Surfrider.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. It is so great hear you had such a wonderful trip and we are so happy to be a part of such a memorable experience. Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki is second to none! The bright turquoise waters of Waikiki are only a few steps away from our hotel lobby. Mahalo and we hope to welcome you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your fourth wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Moana the first week of April on a girl's trip. This is my second stay here and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in a partial ocean view hotel - partial is the key word as you have to lean out to see the ocean. However, rooms are well maintained. I highly recommend this hotel. The one criticism is the breakfast - if it is not included with the room do not go there. It is overpriced for the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are sorry to hear you feel that breakfast at the Veranda was overpriced, however we do offer breakfast at our Surfrider Café for a more reasonable price. If you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest program opens up the opportunity for great deals at all Starwood properties worldwide, including a free continental breakfast here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Mahalo and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Moana Surfrider was like an oasis among the hustle and bustle of Wakiki! The outstanding customer service was a big part of this "oasis" effect not to mention the beautiful setting. It was very relaxing to get back from a full day of sight-seeing and have the friendly staff of the Moana Surfrider to welcome you home and anticipate your needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we maintain a relaxing environment amongst bustling Waikiki and remind our guests of a simpler time. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and love to treat our guests like ohana, or family. Upon your return, please visit our Moana Lani Spa, the only beachfront spa in all of Waikiki. With a gorgeous views and a variety of different treatments, it is the perfect place to unwind. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sad to see a SPG hotel in these conditions. I understand that we were there in pick season. Between Christmas and New Year, but the state we found the room when we checked in was just worse than any kind of "inn" anywhere in the world.
Also sad because I though we will be staying on the most charming hotel in the city.
The hotel room smelled like mold. Then I saw the bathroom. Not so clean and the tub fixtures were unclean and chipped . Really? A high end hotel must not have a tub chipped or dirty.
We did have a room with a view, that was nice.
The restaurant and garden with that astonishing tree was what we expected. Small pool, but who needs a pool in that gorgeous beach.
We saw the new tower and the rooms were "basic" but nicer. After much deliberation, we decided to stay on the ugly dirty room as they quickly fixed the AC smell. They sent someone to re-clean the bathroom and "there was a view". The other room that was offered to us on the new tower was facing a wall and partially the street due to the season. So I am glad it worked out for us.
Service was ok. Breakfast was nice. The beach was amazing. Keep in mind that if you don't like busy beaches, vacations in shopping malls and zillions of people around all day and night long... Pick a different island!

Room Tip: Ask for the New Tower with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in pretty much all the big hotels in Waikiki. This one is perfectly functional. Staff and service are nice and professional. The down side is the crowd. Doughy pink wearing midwesterners. The mitigating factor are the groups that come from Japan for the several times a day wedding ceremonies. The Japanese are great. How is it that no matter how stylish one tries to be one can never compete with a Japanese hipster? I don't think it is possible.

So don't plan on hanging out around the property. It's boring and the people are boring. I know this sounds snarky, but part of the reason for travel is meeting your fellow traveler.

There are some very good points to the hotel. It is directly on the sand. That means if you get one of the older rooms in the original wing, your view is the ocean and directly down the beach. You windows are quite literally a few feet from the breaking waves. This in my opinion overrides whatever other downsides the hotel may have. The zoning authorities theses days would never allow a building to be built projecting out onto the beach with way this one was. As I mentioned, I have stayed in maybe 50 different rooms in Waikiki over the last years, and this one was far and away the most amazing. There is no terrace, but it really doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Get a low floor room in the old wind that is projecting out onto the sand. You will remember it the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. It is so great to hear how much you love our beachfront location. Guests can listen to the sounds of the ocean while they relax in their Westin Heavenly Bed. The bright blue waters of Waikiki provide the most beautiful backdrop to our lovely hotel. The Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels. “The First Lady of Waikiki” is steeped in charm and elegance. Mahalo and we look forward to you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have stayed here several times. I like the bar the location is good especially like the old part of the hotel but for the price I don't like to have to pay for your umbrella spot at the beach . It used to be first come first serve then they started charging which, considering that the rooms are expensive enough I don't think you should have to pay. If you stay across the street they give u FREE umbrellas and chairs for the beach and the rooms are less expensive and bigger not the best Value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and the historic qualities of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We offer a number of free poolside beach chairs on a first-come, first-serve basis, however our private beach umbrellas are rented on a daily basis. Guests can relax on an exclusive portion of the beach with all day food and beverage service. Mahalo and we hope you return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.