We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding/honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #31 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lowestoft, Suffolk UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wedding/honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited 3 years ago and today celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary - Best holiday I've had, travelled as 3 couples, great location and only a few feet from the turquoise ocean. Good rooms, restaurant and pool bar. Friends has a cake made for us on wedding day, son and his girlfriend got engaged at top of Diamond Head and their wedding booked for this September. Loads to do and see, would love to go back to Hawaii and the Moana Surfrider.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. It is so great hear you had such a wonderful trip and we are so happy to be a part of such a memorable experience. Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki is second to none! The bright turquoise waters of Waikiki are only a few steps away from our hotel lobby. Mahalo and we hope to welcome you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your fourth wedding anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,235
    844
    339
    171
    141
See reviews for
676
1259
102
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Moana the first week of April on a girl's trip. This is my second stay here and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed in a partial ocean view hotel - partial is the key word as you have to lean out to see the ocean. However, rooms are well maintained. I highly recommend this hotel. The one criticism is the breakfast - if it is not included with the room do not go there. It is overpriced for the value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are sorry to hear you feel that breakfast at the Veranda was overpriced, however we do offer breakfast at our Surfrider Café for a more reasonable price. If you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest program opens up the opportunity for great deals at all Starwood properties worldwide, including a free continental breakfast here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Mahalo and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Moana Surfrider was like an oasis among the hustle and bustle of Wakiki! The outstanding customer service was a big part of this "oasis" effect not to mention the beautiful setting. It was very relaxing to get back from a full day of sight-seeing and have the friendly staff of the Moana Surfrider to welcome you home and anticipate your needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we maintain a relaxing environment amongst bustling Waikiki and remind our guests of a simpler time. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and love to treat our guests like ohana, or family. Upon your return, please visit our Moana Lani Spa, the only beachfront spa in all of Waikiki. With a gorgeous views and a variety of different treatments, it is the perfect place to unwind. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sad to see a SPG hotel in these conditions. I understand that we were there in pick season. Between Christmas and New Year, but the state we found the room when we checked in was just worse than any kind of "inn" anywhere in the world.
Also sad because I though we will be staying on the most charming hotel in the city.
The hotel room smelled like mold. Then I saw the bathroom. Not so clean and the tub fixtures were unclean and chipped . Really? A high end hotel must not have a tub chipped or dirty.
We did have a room with a view, that was nice.
The restaurant and garden with that astonishing tree was what we expected. Small pool, but who needs a pool in that gorgeous beach.
We saw the new tower and the rooms were "basic" but nicer. After much deliberation, we decided to stay on the ugly dirty room as they quickly fixed the AC smell. They sent someone to re-clean the bathroom and "there was a view". The other room that was offered to us on the new tower was facing a wall and partially the street due to the season. So I am glad it worked out for us.
Service was ok. Breakfast was nice. The beach was amazing. Keep in mind that if you don't like busy beaches, vacations in shopping malls and zillions of people around all day and night long... Pick a different island!

Room Tip: Ask for the New Tower with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in pretty much all the big hotels in Waikiki. This one is perfectly functional. Staff and service are nice and professional. The down side is the crowd. Doughy pink wearing midwesterners. The mitigating factor are the groups that come from Japan for the several times a day wedding ceremonies. The Japanese are great. How is it that no matter how stylish one tries to be one can never compete with a Japanese hipster? I don't think it is possible.

So don't plan on hanging out around the property. It's boring and the people are boring. I know this sounds snarky, but part of the reason for travel is meeting your fellow traveler.

There are some very good points to the hotel. It is directly on the sand. That means if you get one of the older rooms in the original wing, your view is the ocean and directly down the beach. You windows are quite literally a few feet from the breaking waves. This in my opinion overrides whatever other downsides the hotel may have. The zoning authorities theses days would never allow a building to be built projecting out onto the beach with way this one was. As I mentioned, I have stayed in maybe 50 different rooms in Waikiki over the last years, and this one was far and away the most amazing. There is no terrace, but it really doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Get a low floor room in the old wind that is projecting out onto the sand. You will remember it the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. It is so great to hear how much you love our beachfront location. Guests can listen to the sounds of the ocean while they relax in their Westin Heavenly Bed. The bright blue waters of Waikiki provide the most beautiful backdrop to our lovely hotel. The Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels. “The First Lady of Waikiki” is steeped in charm and elegance. Mahalo and we look forward to you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have stayed here several times. I like the bar the location is good especially like the old part of the hotel but for the price I don't like to have to pay for your umbrella spot at the beach . It used to be first come first serve then they started charging which, considering that the rooms are expensive enough I don't think you should have to pay. If you stay across the street they give u FREE umbrellas and chairs for the beach and the rooms are less expensive and bigger not the best Value.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location and the historic qualities of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We offer a number of free poolside beach chairs on a first-come, first-serve basis, however our private beach umbrellas are rented on a daily basis. Guests can relax on an exclusive portion of the beach with all day food and beverage service. Mahalo and we hope you return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Country, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This property is GORGEOUS! Its location is fabulous, too. It is a very grand resort. Driving to the Moana you pass many upscale stores and hoards of people on the street.The Moana is the most distinct property along hotel row. Parking is an issue on Waikiki Beach. We found it worth the resort's daily $15 charge to valet park our car. You just need to call ahead for the car about 15 minutes before you are going out. The oldest section of the Moana is incredibly beautiful. You'll immediately notice the long row of rocking chairs lining the first floor porch. It is fun to people watch or have a cup of coffee from the coffeehouse directly next door. The second story porch is more private and less crowded. We sat up there once and rocked. We are Starwood owners (Westin Princeville), so I booked this hotel using SPG points from our American Express card. Since we're gold status, the hotel is supposed to give us room upgrade. We'll we got more than a one level upgrade! (I am sort of lucky when it comes to rooms usually.) The Banyan Rooms are in the original section of the hotel. We were given an oceanview Banyan Room. (#223). Check-in was quick. We arrived 2 hours before check-in time, so the clerk (Erika) took my cell number, and we walked to PF Chang's to have lunch. She called us about an hour before check-in time to let us know our room was ready! The room was very compact, but honestly the view made up for the lack of space. I did miss not having a bathtub, but other than that the room was well appointed. In room coffeemaker & hot water, small refrigerator, two bottles of water daily and internet service were included in the $25 daily resort fee.We never heard one sound from the floor above or from our neighbor on the one side. We could hear the crash of the waves all night long which was a bonus in my book. The pool at the Moana is very, very small, but it is just steps from the ocean, so who needs it anyway? If you want to walk down to the beach, you may rent a lounge chair and umbrella daily (call ahead to reserve) or you can walk across the street to the ABC store and purchase a beach mat or a beach chair of your own to take to the beach. Beach towels are complementary to hotel guests of course.The sand directly below the Banyan Wing is raked each morning. It was almost comical to see the poor beach attendant raking as people continued to walk thru his/her rake marks. You may sit in any lounge chairs on the patio - (first come) without being charged. There is pool bar service. The drinks are lovely...There's always some sort of musician playing by the Banyan tree which we could hear from our room until midnight sometimes. It seemed that The Moana is a very popular spot for Asian weddings as we saw at least 2 couples taking photos in the lobby or in front of the hotel each day of our 6 night stay. We really hoped to take the hotel tour which is held at 11am three days a week, but we never seemed to squeeze it in. We also never ate at the hotel restaurant. We were always out and about and never made it a priority. I did grab a papaya/fruit plate from the gift shop which was a lovely snack for under $6. The clerk in the gift shop was also very friendly. At all Westin properties, there is usually a lovely fruit infused water out for the guests to enjoy. The Moana is such a busy hotel that I was disappointed many of the days of our stay to find that the Pineapple Ginger Iced water was empty. One day the flavor was Peach Ginger...which was delicious. There is an offer currently by the hotel for the guests to book a free picture (4X6) I believe, but we never booked it. We did use the photo postcard machine in the lobby. It snaps an image of you and sends it to Facebook or an email address showing you at the Moana. We sent a picture home to our children. We visited Pearl Harbor (book ahead on recreation.gov), took the Iolani Palace tour, visited the Mission Houses and took a tour of the houses the first missionaries lived in on the islands, visited Plantation Village where you step back into the past on a Sugar Cane Plantation. Restaurants & shopping...many are within walking distance to the Moana Surfrider. The best restaurant we found on our last day in Honolulu was Duke's-( Duke's Canoe Club Waikiki). It was better than the dinner we had a few nights earlier at Morton's! It was also 1/2 the price. The fresh fish was amazing. A huge salad bar is included with each entree. Save room for HULA PIE! There are many popular restaurant chains within walking distance that we visited like: California Pizza Kitchen, The Cheesecake Factory, Jimmy Buffet's at the Beachcomber, The Yard House, Hula Grill. A few Starbucks and other coffeehouses are also just steps away. Eggs N Things was a longer walk, and a bit of a wait. A very small breakfast hot-spot with great beach views. We really enjoyed a place called Cheese Burger Waikiki on Kalakaua Ave. which actually has a small parking lot and a great menu. We had breakfast there twice. Would try it for lunch or dinner as it looks like it would be a hopping place later in the day because of its open air/walk-in access and large bar. I hate to haul dirty laundry home, so we read that the Moana had coin laundry service in the basement. First of all, the desk attendants could not even direct us to the correct elevator to use to even get near to them. There was an elevator in our wing that went to the basement.The literature in the room led us to believe it was $1 a load (coins). It is actually $3 a load to wash & also $3 to dry- using only tokens from a machine in basement that takes only bills. (Buy soap/dryer sheets at ABC store.) A must visit is the Honolulu Cookie Company- just a few doors down from the Surfrider. Sample everything before you buy. Brought lots home! One last negative to note was the bed in our room. It was soft and lumpy. The sheet was a weird almost paper-like material that was extremely noisy when moved. It was not your usual Westin Bed!! The beauty and grandeur of the Moana is such that we will most likely visit again with our 4 daughters. My husband and I took this trip to celebrate our turning 50 this year! Aloha.

Room Tip: Any room not facing the busy street would be great. Research the rooms before you check in. Rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing with us. We are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful time here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and subsequently rich in Hawaiian history. We offer a complimentary Historical Tour every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. We aim to provide a rejuvenating experience for our guests and remind them of a simpler time with services such as Afternoon Tea at the Veranda. Mahalo and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to the islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.