We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the reasons we are returning to Oahu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the reasons we are returning to Oahu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We've just booked four nights at the Moana in April and are so excited to return I couldn't help but read the reviews. First of all: location, location, location. Moana is right in the heart of Waikiki and walking distance to so much. Nevertheless it has the feel of a resort. You could check in, remain only there and truly enjoy the Hawaiian Experience. I highly recommend rooms in the historic section (ocean view if possible) and to take the Hotel History tour if it is being given during your stay. The Moana is old -and -new Hawaii combined— the best of both! Also recommended is the breakfast-included option. The Beachouse breakfast is a great way to start your day and breakfast choices nearby are limited. I second the Banyan Lounge for drinks, casual dining and entertainment. FYI the Moana beachfront is small; there is an additional pool area, but no matter. You are THERE.

Room Tip: Ocean view, Historic hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for expressing your wonderful feelings about “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We are so pleased you enjoyed everything the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa has to offer and we are thrilled you will be retuning soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (till we meet again)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,581
    1,067
    431
    197
    170
See reviews for
884
1,557
131
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We love the Moana! right in the heart of Waikiki, We stay at this hotel every time we visit Honolulu. The Moana has a wonderful welcoming feel to it, like stepping backTin time to old Hawaii. The Moana has a good-sizedl pool and outdoor eating area with a poolside bar with a great ocean view. the Banyan building of the hotel has original rooms, some with lanais. It's fun to get the Cityview room, especially if there's a parade happening on Kalakaua Avenue. The restaurant is a good steakhouse with an excellent buffet breakfast. Just about any Waikiki attraction is within walking distance, a big plus if you don't want to rent a car. If you have a car, valet and self parking is available. The service is impeccable and the staff extremely friendly. Would definitely recommend it for a romantic weekend. Also wonderful around the holidays. Pricey but worth it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your stay at the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa. It is so great to hear that you appreciate our city views of beautiful Honolulu as well as our breathtaking ocean views of Waikiki. Our central location provides easy accessibility to the many attractions Waikiki has to offer, whether it be shopping or surfing. Thank you for always staying with us here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had lunch at the hotel. What a setting. I was right on Waikiki Beach. The atmosphere and setting was incredible. From where I sat, I could see Diamond Head and the water. The food was great. I had the fruit served in pineapple. Service was also excellent.

Although I did not stay at the hotel, it ws well worth having lunch there just to see this exquisite hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. It is so great to hear you enjoyed lunch at the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa. Both our Beach Bar and Beachhouse restaurant have ocean views and magnificent views of world famous Diamond Head. Please hele mai (come) back and visit soon.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Moana is a classic hotel on Waikiki beach and now the only place I stay when I visit. I have stayed there now multiple times and have yet to be disappointed. The property itself is beautifully maintained, the staff is great and the rooms are nicely done if a bit small if you stay in the original wing (worth it). But the best part of the whole property is the banyan tree courtyard at cocktail hour - great entertainment every night and watching the sunset. Make sure to get there about an hour before sunset or you'll have no shot at getting a table. And look for the performers with a hula dancer as that will give you the best sense of Hawaii (ask the Concierge). Other than that it is well located to shopping, other beaches, great restaurants (a secret hole in the wall favorite of mine is Chuck's Cellar just two blocks away - straight out of 1970 steak house fame but food is right on and live jazz every night). Oh and there is a coffee shop in the building just outside the lobby which makes some of the best coffee I've ever had and you can get a decent breakfast for not too much $. Can't go wrong here!

Room Tip: Stay in the original part of the hotel - rooms are smaller like older hotels but it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us and for being a loyal guest of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Our employees are filled with aloha and love treating our returning guests like ohana or family. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed everything “The First Lady of Waikiki” has to offer. With our central location in the heart of Waikiki, world class shopping and dining is right at your fingertips! Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went here a few times as it's great for people watching and it's a lovely setting to have lunch and a few adult beverages in. Very relaxing and the service is great. Wish we could afford to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed lunch here at the “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and are subsequently rich in Hawaiian history. A visit to our hotel is like stepping back in time. Next time you are in town, please join us for Afternoon Tea at the Veranda. It truly is a memorable experience! If you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program opens the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, as well as all other Starwood properties worldwide. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Moana is an adorable hotel right in the heart of Waikiki. It is gorgeous with an old fashioned plantation motif so as soon as you walk in, you feel transported to another world. The open air lobby is beautiful and overlooks the beach. Doesn't get much better than that.

There are two parts to the hotel, the original/historic side and the newer tower. The historic rooms are slightly smaller and a tiny bit tired but have a lovely, "old world" feel to them. The tower rooms are slightly larger and more modern. Both sides offer gorgeous waterfront views if you're lucky enough to get them. Currently, the hotel is in the process of renovation so soon both sides will be sparkling new. The renovation is tastefully done and the sweet sleeper beds are fantastic.

We were able to get an early check-in but were disappointed we couldn't get into the renovated tower section (we are SPG platinum). The sweet gal at the front desk (Irene) was kind enough to upgrade us to an ocean view room and told us if something on the tower side opened up, she'd give us a call. I walked away knowing we'd never hear from her and figured she thought we were lucky to get an ocean view room. Later in the afternoon, I was super happy to be wrong. Talk about excellent customer service. Irene looked up my phone number on file and ended up calling my home. She got my cell phone and hunted me down on the beach to tell me she was able to find us a newly renovated room in the tower. Kudos to Irene for amazingly excellent customer care. She is perfectly suited for the hospitality business and to be commended for going the extra mile. Thank you, Irene!

The location couldn't be better as everything you could possibly want is at your fingertips. Though the hotel is right in the heart of Waikiki, once you enter the tranquil grounds, the stress, hustle and bustle of city life melts away. They have clearly made an effort to preserve the Hawaiian culture which gives you the feeling you are truly "getting away" to a relaxing tropical paradise. Kehaulani (Thelma) Kam handles much of the cultural enrichment for the hotel and when we were amazed at the local talent she was able to provide. We enjoyed many shows and demonstrations of Hawaiian dancing, art, singing, weaving, etc. It really got us into the spirit of being immersed into another culture.

I have been coming to SPG properties in Hawaii for over 30 years. Kehaulani always goes out of her way to make us feel welcome and valued. We love Waikiki and we especially love it at the Moana. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If you'd enjoy an old-fashioned, plantation feel, go for the historic side. If you'd like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We always strive to provide upgrades to members of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program, and we are so thankful our occupancy allowed us to do so. Our employees are filled with the aloha spirit and are more than willing to go above and beyond for our guests. Both Irene and Thelma will be commended for their stellar customer service. Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we are so pleased you received royal treatment. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mindytini
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are currently enjoying this hotel and planning to extend our stay! The staff is so hospitable and our oceanfront room in the historic wing is wonderful! The sounds of the ocean outside our window provide unsurpassed tranquility! The beauty is amazing!!! Have been coming to Waikiki since the 1970's and this property is the best yet! The Beach House fine dining and the Beach Bar are great! Can't say anything negative....... Positively wonderful! Super and deluxe! Will return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Oceanfront, higher floor, if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for choosing the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Our oceanfront hotel in Waikiki has stolen the hearts of guests for over a hundred years and we are so thrilled to hear that your stay here surpassed your expectations. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” upon your next visit to the islands.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,415 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#20 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.