We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Suffield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not all that!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very disappointed room so small very noisy can hear the people in next room very clearly!!Staff not helpful!Complained about room said they would get back to us next day never heard a word!Wont be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,372
    942
    379
    180
    150
See reviews for
761
1,378
115
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (672)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love this hotel. It is right in the middle of the action. I requested an "original room", but they were full, so I got an ocean view tower room. It was as expected from a modern hotel room. Lacking on character, but the view and lanai make up for it. Large, great Westin bed, big bathroom, etc etc. The giant fruit and cheese tray that awaited us in the room after check-in was a really nice touch which we really enjoyed.

As far as amenities, this hotel has just an OK pool, a nice gym, and beach chair service that costs $20 a day which is annoying considering the cost per night of the hotel. Still, staying in the original hotel in Waikiki was an experience that I recommend to everyone. The charm of this hotel, and the giant banyan tree in the back plus the live music nightly at the bar are really great.

Oh, by the way, the breakfast buffet, while expensive, is fantastic and caters to both American style and Japanese style breakfasts. Try it at least once!

Room Tip: I prefer the original, not tower rooms, for the charm of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am heading back to honolulu this year and I just remembered why I would never return to this hotel. I was here over a year ago thinking I would pay extra to stay in a hotel that is a part of waikikis history. We were on the floor right above the entrance and the street so it was extremely loud throughout the night and to top it all off there were bugs/mini ants coming out of the window sill. The hotel manager came into the room acknowledged it and went to find me another room. He returned later to tell me there were bugs in that room too. He then moved me to a fantastic oceanview room. The things I have to go through to get a nice room.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently stayed here on our way to Australia. It was just fantastic! I can't remember the last time I felt so relaxed just sitting out on a patio. I fell asleep in one of the chairs to the sound of the waves and relaxing music. The Hotel itself it impeccably clean and gorgeous! Friendly prompt service and fantastic upgrades for Starwood members. I will return!

Room Tip: Ocean view of course... worth the $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in a banyan ocean view room. The room was great. It was large, the beds were comfortable and we got the ocean view we were wanting. In our booking we requested a king bed, but upon check in they only had two doubles available. This was a bit annoying as we booked so far in advance, but I understand that your bed request is only a preference.

The hotel is a classic. Along with the Royal Hawaiian, it is a must stay while visiting waikiki. It's the type of hotel everyone walks past, or comes to visit the lobby or beach bar and thinks...why didn't we stay here.
It's expensive, but worth the bit extra.

I was quite suprised that the daily resort fee didn't cover using the umbrellas and deck chairs on the beach. As a paying hotel guest you would think these would be included. But instead you had to reserve them and pay a fee to utilize them. Seems a bit strange for a hotel on the beach to charge a resort fee, but then not include basic things like beach chairs.

Although we did get two bottles of water each day, unlimited fast wifi and 60minutes of free international calls daily.

The check in & check out process were both fast and smooth. The employees were courteous and professional.

Each lunchtime and evening there is a live band or singer performing at the beach bar. We really enjoyed sitting and having a cocktail and a snack watching the performances. The cocktails and food were really good here.
We did have breakfast one morning on the verandah and it was GREAT. I would recommend trying to buy a package that includes breakfast, as it's really something. We also had high tea one afternoon, also on the verandah, and really enjoyed this. It was about $45 per person.

Each drink we ordered staff constantly asked for our ID's to check we were over 21. So ensure you carry your ID on you if you are under 25 (or look young) as they won't serve you otherwise. We forgot a few times when we were by the pool or on the beach, so we had to duck up to the room to get them which was a bit of a hassle.

The hotel lobby is very grand, hosting about three different weddings daily. We saw countless wedding photography sessions occurring during our stay. We enjoyed watching the different brides & grooms, although I can also see how the overcrowded lobby may annoy some people.

The hotel concierge was very helpful in planning some of our day trips & tours such as snorkelling, car hire and Pearl Harbor. I highly recommend hiring a car for a day and driving around the island. There are some beautiful isolated beaches on the east coast, and it's really interesting to see the surfing culture on the north of the island. Not to far from turtle bay resort on the north of the island are some shrimp farms were you can buy freshly cooked shrimp & eat it on the side of the road. We recommend eating at one of them if your up that way!

Overall our stay was great. We enjoyed the charm of the hotel and the relaxing atmosphere. Although Waikiki is very crowded and not your isolated romantic beach getaway, we still enjoyed it greatly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were looking forward to a five day relaxing interlude at the Moana Surfrider on the way home from a hectic US trip. Right at the end of our mainland stay we had very bad news from home and had to return as soon as possible, due to family death. We had notified the Surfrider as soon as we found out a few days prior to arriving. As it turned out we flew in from New York and arrived at the hotel at about 10pm. Our flight back to Australia was at 8 the next morning, meaning we have to be up just before 5. This gave us a grand total for about 7 hours in the hotel. I asked if they would waive the resort fee as we were not going to be able to use of it's inclusions. I was told, quite curtly, after the desk checked with the duty manager that that was not possible. So we are now two disgruntled travellers who will definitely not be staying at, or recommending, this hotel in the future

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Didn't stay at the Moana, but love their outdoor beachside bar. I frequent Honolulu on business 1-2 times a year for the past several years. If you are looking for a less wilder, less congested setting like Dukes (nothing wrong with Dukes) - you have to try the Beach Bar at the MS.

The ambiance is great. Tables abound and live music continues through the evening. Whether business or pleasure, you will feel relaxed and with a slight upbeat vibe with a better chance of scoring tables. They are attentive but not intrusive and don't make you feel they need to "turn over the table"

Room Tip: n/a - bar review only
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.