We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #31 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for five nights over Christmas. Had a nice room in one of the towers with a partial view of the ocean. Had good meals and service at both the Beach Bar and the Veranda restaurant. Very nice staff and public areas were beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,257
    868
    350
    174
    141
See reviews for
698
1285
105
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Westin Moana Surfrider is an historic hotel on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu. It has three wings: the central building is the original hotel, and one of the most beautiful structures in Hawaii. To the north is the Diamond Head wing, originally the Surfrider Hotel. To the south is the Tower Wing, the newest part. We stayed 5 nights on the top floor of the Tower Wing, with a fabulous view of the beach and Diamond Head mountain. The room was nice enough, very spacious, with a mostly updated bathroom. Bed very comfortable, and lighting excellent. Our principal complaint was the noise emanating from the pool and patio area down below. Live entertainment in the patio restaurant/bar started at 11 or so in the morning and continued mostly uninterrupted until 10:30 at night. On Christmas Day, it began at 9 am. While the music was not particularly loud, and in fact, was quite pleasant when we were actually IN the bar or restaurant, from the rooms in the Tower Wing, it was obnoxiously intrusive. Did not help much to turn our TV on; did not help to wear earplugs. The sliding doors to the balcony should be double paned, but they are not, and for this reason, I cannot recommend this hotel -- despite its beauty and wonderful location -- to anyone who believes that a hotel room should be quiet, and that you should not have to listen to public music entertainment the entire day if you are IN the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. . We are disappointed to hear of your feedback regarding our Banyan Courtyard entertainment. We receive so many compliments about a daily entertainment, so am sorry that you had not enjoyed a similar experience. Your candid feedback is appreciated, and has been shared with our management staff so that we may review the current scheduling of our entertainment to see if there are adjustments in timing that could be made, while ensuring we continue to accommodate the wishes of as many of our guests as possible. We hope you will reconsider staying at the Moana Surfrider and if you do, please allow us to personally assist you with your booking by sending an e-mail to 374guestexperience team@westin.com.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We returned to this hotel in December as loved the location the last time we stayed & it is a beautiful hotel. Stepping out of the hotel into the lively streets of Waikiki is fantastic - there is a great vibe, great restaurants and just a little shopping! Or walk onto the beach - just a few steps into the ocean or a along the beach, watching the surfers. We love the Banyan/historic wing although the rooms bathroom can be a little small. The decor is beautiful. The hotel is busy and there are a lot of weddings but as it was Christmas, it added to the atmosphere. The verandah around the courtyard is a relaxing spot to spend a hour or two. Cant think of a better way to spend a late afternoon/evening than with a cocktail, under the banyan tree, overlooking the ocean, listening to gentle live music with my husband - perfect! The breakfast at the hotel is a little expensive but quality and variety is excellent. High tea (each day between 12 & 2) on the verandah as a special treat and again the service and food were superb. We also celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the Beachhouse. Unfortunately we had to move from our perfect table at the end of the verandah as my husband wasnt well and it was a little breezy. The staff moved us inside the dinning room where we were the only people - the lights were dimmed and were seated on a little lounge chair -very romantic! After a fantastic meal we were treated to a complimentary dessert. Could not have been a more special meal. The fitness centre is well appointed and very much enjoyed the complimentary yoga overlooking the beach. The pool is small but you are on the beach - two out of three days there wasnt any food/drink service to the pool area. The beach umbrellas & chairs have to be paid for (expensive) and for a 5 star hotel, there should be these facilities available free of charge.
We hired a car during our holiday & used the valet parking. The valet guys were very helpful.
On the downside, we had a few problems with our first room (on the second floor -noisy A/C and noise from downstairs meant little sleep). Our room on the third floor was larger and quieter. Only problem is the motion sensor on the A/C means it gets a little hot at night. This apparently is being looked into over the next few months. Management staff are excellent but one or two of the front desk staff not as helpful as expected.
Paper cups for tea and coffee in the room is a little cheap.
Not sure if the resort fee covers much more that internet access for most people which makes this expensive and in 2012 should be standard at any hotel.
No room service available after 10pm.

Room Tip: The historic wing rooms are hit and miss - beautiful decor but small rooms and small bathrooms, size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Moana Surf rider in Dec 2012. We have stayed at many Waikiki hotels and the Moana stands out, both in the beauty of the hotel ... lobby, front, rocking chairs, all the public areas, and the location beachfront. We had a very nice partial ocean view room in the original part of the hotel. The room was a large L shape, with a very nice balcony and excellent bathroom. Honesty 9/10 ... it had two doubles for our family, two queens would have been 10. The pool is small if you have kids who prefer the pool to the beach (the Sheraton Waikiki is much better), but that is it. we love walking from your room straight onto Waikiki. The beautiful location, huge Banyan Tree in the courtyard and overall 'refinement' is very tough to beat, if not unbeatable. The location on the main strip is also excellent for dining and shopping.
Nothing but raves from us and we are tough customers, spend the $, and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days last August, and although the hotel is lovely, it isn't worth the money, even though we had a special deal. We had an ocean front room, but it was very small.
The lawn area was always closed for a wedding- every time we would leave or return to the hotel, there was another wedding party arriving!
Breakfast was included, and the restaurant was in a lovely location, right on the beach. The bar was also beachside, and a wonderful place to sit.
One word of warning, while swimming off the hotel, I stepped on a spiky sea urchin, so I recommend wearing reef shoes.
We loved the location of the hotel, but with lots of accommodation nearby, you could do better for your money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent our last few nights of a 2 week trip in Jan'12 (late review..!) in one of the Banyan classic ocean view rooms and it was beautiful. The whole main part of the hotel is gorgeous and the location is perfect as it is right in the middle of the main part of Waikiki beach. Since we were in an ocean room we did not have any problems with noise at night time.

We didn't eat in the main restaurant as this was beyond our budget, but the food at the beach bar was nice and reasonably priced. Spending the night down at the beach bar with a few drinks was great and very relaxing.

Our only complaint with this hotel is the extra things you have to pay for, like beach chairs etc... (We also stayed at the royal hawaiian where all these things were included - this is also another beautiful hotel with excellent service if you are looking for alternatives) Out of all the hotels we saw on the beach these are the only 2 we would ever want to stay at again and which one is better depends on what you are after, we loved both.

The staff were very accommodating and met all of our requests, I even left my handbag in a taxi after visiting Pearl Harbor and it was not one of the hotels taxi as we just grabbed any taxi back that we found.. but the men in the front lobby were doing a very good job and watching everything and one of them who saw us get out of the taxi recognized the driver and made a few phone calls to get the taxi drivers name, and after a few minutes he had the number and had arranged for the driver to come back and drop off my handbag!! If he wasn't watching then i would never have got my bag back!

Overall we highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at the Moana Surfrider for about 5 days last week and booked the room along with a rental car from Expedia.

First, the exterior and all the public areas of the hotel are absolutely beautiful. Even more so since everything was decorated for the Christmas holidays. They had a beautiful (but fake) white Christmas tree in the lobby as soon as you walk in. The entrance has a veranda that faces Kalakaua Street, with a few rocking chairs, which I thought was a nice touch. However inside the lobby, the carpets look old and frayed, though clean. Check in was kind of slow as I've only ever seen 2 or 3 people working there at a time, regardless of how long the line is. And they do a poor job of managing the line.

The second thing this hotel has going for it is location. It is right next to Waikiki beach, across the street from the International Market Place, and just 2 blocks away from the Royal Hawaiian Mall and other shopping outlets in the area.

I was told that the Moana Surfrider is the older luxury hotel on the island, and it definitely shows, even the carpets in the public areas of the hotel look ancient. To me, they looked like they belonged on the Haunted Mansion ride in Disney World. The elevator looked like it was the original elevator installed when the hotel first opened. There were pieces of wood chipped out of it. When I was staying in the hotel, the elevator broke on a Friday and they put up a note saying they wouldn't be able to repair it until Monday. Unfortunately I didn't find this out until the day I checked out, as I was lugging 5 bags worth of gear with me, and ended up having to walk all the way to the other side of the hotel to get an elevator.

The room is absolutely tiny. I've been in bigger hotel rooms in Paris. You barely have space to walk around the bed. If you have luggage, forget about it. You're rolling luggage bag is about as wide as the space from the bed to the wall. The bathroom is tiny as well. You have no room on the sink to put any of your things, though there is a small shelf underneath the mirror. The shower is glass walled and takes up a corner of the bathroom. They need to change the shower heads to rainforest shower heads, cause the ones they use now are inadequate. They don't spray in a wide enough area to cover your body (and I'm tiny, about 5'6 and 140 lbs).

Some pluses about the room are the large comfortable bed. I think it was a King sized bed (may have been Queen sized) but it was super soft and very comfortable. I usually have trouble sleeping, but had no problems here and was usually asleep in 15 minutes or less. They also have a large TV and a lot of channels, but you don't come to Hawaii to stay in your hotel room and watch TV. They also provided two robes, they were thin but soft, comfortable, and very warm.

The hotel charges a resort fee of (if I recall correctly) $25. This covers internet access in your room and self parking. However if you want valet parking, you have to pay an additional $15, which I think is a rip off, since other hotels in the area (namely the Royal Hawaiian) include valet parking in the resort fee. Another thing is that the hotel doesn't have it's own parking garage, and shares one with the Sheraton Princess Kaulani around the corner. That's another down side of not having their own parking garage, all the streets in the area are one way only. So instead of just coming down the driveway (like in the Royal Hawaiian), the valet has to drive around the block and fight through rush hour traffic in order to get your car to the hotel. Most of the time you have to wait upwards of 20 minutes to get your car. And the only way out of here is out onto Kalakaua so you have to fight the same traffic in order to get out. You might be better off with just self parking and walking to your car in the first place.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel, as there are cheaper, or similarly priced but better accommodations within a two block radius. Moana Surfrider's sister hotel is the Royal Hawaiian Hotel, which is about 2 blocks away. I've found both hotels listed for about the same price, but the Royal Hawaiian is of much higher quality than the Moana Surfrider. Including better customer service, faster valet, easier access, and rooms three times as large as the one I had in the Moana Surfrider.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.