We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal Overshadowed By Careless Valets--Avoid!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Meal Overshadowed By Careless Valets--Avoid!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

As locals, it's our tradition to go down to Waikiki for holiday meals. My girlfriend and I went to the Moana Surfrider for their Thanksgiving (evening) buffet. The meal was great. The service was good. We tipped handsomely. We left pleasantly stuffed. Unfortunately, it all came to a screeching halt when we picked up her car from the valet. The pick up spot was lit well enough to see that her front bumper had been scratched up and the normal gap between the driver's side fender and the bumper was now unnaturally wider. (Frustratingly, we got rear-ended a month ago, so we actually know what we're looking at.) It was clear that her car had obviously been driven into something (another car?) or was conversely hit by another vehicle. The valets were admittedly swamped, but none of the valet staff approached us or said anything while we stood there clearly trying to figure out how bad it was, a half-dozen cars stacking up behind us in the pick-up area in front of the lobby on a seriously busy night. Needless to say we were unhappy at damage and the utter lack of integrity on the part of the valet staff. Later, when we inspected it in the full light to get a sense of the extent of the damage, we confirmed the scratches, found a nice sized crease in the bumper, and confirmed that the entire bumper had been knocked off its alignment. Honestly, we're not out to scam the hotel. The point of this review: Do yourself a favor--exercise supreme caution when using the Moana Surfrider valets; I frankly wouldn't recommend it. All in all, the whole experience left a bad taste in our mouth and severely damaged this hotel's reputation for us--a true pity considering the buffet was actually well done.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your letter to our General Manager as well as your online posting. We are very sorry to hear of the inconvenience experienced while valet parking your car. It is our understanding that you have been contacted to provide some required documents so that our investigation can be completed. Thank you for your assistance in that regard. Once the investigation has been completed, you will be notified by our insurance company as to the next steps.

Thank you again for your patronage of the beachhouse at the moana and for you continued support of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We hope to have the privilege to be of service to you again. Until then, with Aloha and much appreciation.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,263
    871
    352
    174
    141
See reviews for
702
1290
107
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley, NSW
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed a very pleasant lunch on the verandah of this gorgeous establishment just recently. The food was of an excellent quality and not unduly pricey considering the view and the service. It was not our first visit, nor will it be our last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed dining on the veranda at the beachhouse. The views are indeed breath-taking, the service exceptional and cuisine delectable. The pictures you’ve posted look absolutely mouth-watering! Mahalo for sharing. We appreciate your loyalty and hope we have inspired you to return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next visit.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the first trip to Hawaii for my husband so I told him to book a hotel in the center of Waikiki. It was the perfect location. There was a running trail to Diamond Head, but you would need to get up early to beat the crowded streets. I didn't get a chance to run it because of my jet lag. I was up before dawn so I used the hotel gym. The gym was very well equipped and perfect for people watching.

One of my favorite parts of the hotel is the row of rocking chairs. I do wish they had room to squeeze in a row of rocking chairs behind the hotel facing the beach as well. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit small. They can be a bit noisy if you get a room facing Waikiki rather than ocean view.

Overall, if it is your first time to Oahu and you want to fully experience the "touristy" side of Hawaii, you would definitely stay here. It is one of the best hotels on the street. Beautiful old plantation feel with modern amenities..very picturesque and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay. Many of our guests also love the rocking chairs on the Veranda so are pleased to hear you are fond of them as well. It allows one to enjoy a lazy afternoon while watching Waikiki go by. We have to also agree that the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is indeed “one of the best hotels on the street!” Thank you for noticing and for sharing your experience! We look forward to welcoming you back to the “First Lady of Waikiki” soon.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Be aware that this hotel will hold pending amounts on your credit card for a week after you have paid and checked out so if you are close to a limit it will be something you will need to be aware of
In my case I checked out on the 18th November paid the account on the 17th and today on the 23rd November the hotel still has $1600.00 of pending on my credit card
Be Aware

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the credit card hold. While the credit is processed immediately at the hotel level, the banking institutions locally and on the mainland or internationally can sometimes be delayed due to standard operating procedures. Given this process, we advise our guests to anticipate a 5-7 business day hold on all such transactions. Again, we realize the challenge this procedure poses and are continually looking for ways to improve the process. Should you wish for us to follow-up on this for you, we’d be happy to do so. Please e-mail us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com and we’ll look into expediting this credit for you.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On November 5, 2012 I booked a room at this hotel for 3 days. I booked a PREMIUM OCEAN VIEW ESCAPE room that cost me over $400.00 per day. What I got was not a Premium Ocean View, but rather a view that looked out at 150 balconies from an adjacent hotel and a 30 degree view of a small portion of beach and ocean. When I conveyed my dissatisfaction to the hotel staff, they were completely unresponsive and did nothing to correct the situation. They insisted that this was a Premium Ocean View, but compared to other rooms in this category, this was.definitely not a Premium Ocean View room. All they said was that this room has a balcony and tried to push it off as a Premium Ocean Escape room.. This room (# 1593) was a total rip-off and not worth over $400.00 per day. I will never stay at this hotel again and I believe that Expedia should do their homework and check out the rooms that they are selling. i am truly disappointed by Westin Resorts and Expedia whose only interest now seems to be profit above customer service and satisfaction.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel if you want value for your money. Very misleading advertising and not at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you very much for your candid comments. We do apologize that you were not satisfied with the premium ocean category you were assigned. Guestroom #1593 is the connecting room to suite #1595, so is considered an ocean view room, being that it is the closest room to the water aside from the connecting suite. We hope that you will consider a future visit, and if so, please reach out to us via e-mail 374guestexperience@westin.com, so that we may personally oversee your guestroom assignment.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Moana Surfrider Westin, Oahu, Hawaii was a magnificent hotel in which to experience a first trip to Hawaii. The eloquence of "the Grand Old Lady" of Oahu hotels was extraordinary.

The hotel staff were most helpful in suggesting sights, and the restaurant wait-staff were quick to service our needs, pour additional drinks and suggest deserts to accompany our meals. Their attention to each guest at our table was welcomed.

The rooms were large with sitting areas, desks and tables included. With the oceanfront view included, it made for an enjoyable, memorable trip andI would highly recommend the Moana Surfrider Westin.

Patricia. Polito

Room Tip: It is worth your time and money to ask for an ocean-front room so that you may experience the calmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
We feel so honored to have welcomed you to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your first trip to Hawai’i and are delighted to hear your experience was “extraordinary.” Our associates are highly trained in customer service so we are delighted to hear that you have been a recipient of such service. Yes, being an Ocean Front hotel, we receive many wonderful comments about the views of Waikiki Beach that many of our guestrooms provide. We are happy that you were able to enjoy such views! Knowing we have made your stay memorable means the world to us and we hope we have inspired you to return to the “First Lady of Waikiki” for your next visit.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave... classy! Spend the money for an oceanview tower room. Amazing beds, beautiful views, wonderful staff! Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed hanging out on the back patio.

Room Tip: Oceanview Tower if you want to see it all! You can see the patio at night where they're enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. Our credo for the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is “First Lady, First Class” and we’re happy to hear that our guests are experiencing this first-hand. From our Heavenly beds, beautiful views of Waikiki Beach and associates filled with the Aloha spirit, we strive to help our guests create Moana memories they will cherish forever. We look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.