We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Spot for Lunch!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #31 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hunter Valley, NSW
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“What a Spot for Lunch!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We enjoyed a very pleasant lunch on the verandah of this gorgeous establishment just recently. The food was of an excellent quality and not unduly pricey considering the view and the service. It was not our first visit, nor will it be our last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,

We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed dining on the veranda at the beachhouse. The views are indeed breath-taking, the service exceptional and cuisine delectable. The pictures you’ve posted look absolutely mouth-watering! Mahalo for sharing. We appreciate your loyalty and hope we have inspired you to return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next visit.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,230
    838
    336
    171
    140
See reviews for
672
1253
101
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the first trip to Hawaii for my husband so I told him to book a hotel in the center of Waikiki. It was the perfect location. There was a running trail to Diamond Head, but you would need to get up early to beat the crowded streets. I didn't get a chance to run it because of my jet lag. I was up before dawn so I used the hotel gym. The gym was very well equipped and perfect for people watching.

One of my favorite parts of the hotel is the row of rocking chairs. I do wish they had room to squeeze in a row of rocking chairs behind the hotel facing the beach as well. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit small. They can be a bit noisy if you get a room facing Waikiki rather than ocean view.

Overall, if it is your first time to Oahu and you want to fully experience the "touristy" side of Hawaii, you would definitely stay here. It is one of the best hotels on the street. Beautiful old plantation feel with modern amenities..very picturesque and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your wonderful review with us. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful stay. Many of our guests also love the rocking chairs on the Veranda so are pleased to hear you are fond of them as well. It allows one to enjoy a lazy afternoon while watching Waikiki go by. We have to also agree that the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is indeed “one of the best hotels on the street!” Thank you for noticing and for sharing your experience! We look forward to welcoming you back to the “First Lady of Waikiki” soon.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Be aware that this hotel will hold pending amounts on your credit card for a week after you have paid and checked out so if you are close to a limit it will be something you will need to be aware of
In my case I checked out on the 18th November paid the account on the 17th and today on the 23rd November the hotel still has $1600.00 of pending on my credit card
Be Aware

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience of the credit card hold. While the credit is processed immediately at the hotel level, the banking institutions locally and on the mainland or internationally can sometimes be delayed due to standard operating procedures. Given this process, we advise our guests to anticipate a 5-7 business day hold on all such transactions. Again, we realize the challenge this procedure poses and are continually looking for ways to improve the process. Should you wish for us to follow-up on this for you, we’d be happy to do so. Please e-mail us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com and we’ll look into expediting this credit for you.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On November 5, 2012 I booked a room at this hotel for 3 days. I booked a PREMIUM OCEAN VIEW ESCAPE room that cost me over $400.00 per day. What I got was not a Premium Ocean View, but rather a view that looked out at 150 balconies from an adjacent hotel and a 30 degree view of a small portion of beach and ocean. When I conveyed my dissatisfaction to the hotel staff, they were completely unresponsive and did nothing to correct the situation. They insisted that this was a Premium Ocean View, but compared to other rooms in this category, this was.definitely not a Premium Ocean View room. All they said was that this room has a balcony and tried to push it off as a Premium Ocean Escape room.. This room (# 1593) was a total rip-off and not worth over $400.00 per day. I will never stay at this hotel again and I believe that Expedia should do their homework and check out the rooms that they are selling. i am truly disappointed by Westin Resorts and Expedia whose only interest now seems to be profit above customer service and satisfaction.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel if you want value for your money. Very misleading advertising and not at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you very much for your candid comments. We do apologize that you were not satisfied with the premium ocean category you were assigned. Guestroom #1593 is the connecting room to suite #1595, so is considered an ocean view room, being that it is the closest room to the water aside from the connecting suite. We hope that you will consider a future visit, and if so, please reach out to us via e-mail 374guestexperience@westin.com, so that we may personally oversee your guestroom assignment.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Moana Surfrider Westin, Oahu, Hawaii was a magnificent hotel in which to experience a first trip to Hawaii. The eloquence of "the Grand Old Lady" of Oahu hotels was extraordinary.

The hotel staff were most helpful in suggesting sights, and the restaurant wait-staff were quick to service our needs, pour additional drinks and suggest deserts to accompany our meals. Their attention to each guest at our table was welcomed.

The rooms were large with sitting areas, desks and tables included. With the oceanfront view included, it made for an enjoyable, memorable trip andI would highly recommend the Moana Surfrider Westin.

Patricia. Polito

Room Tip: It is worth your time and money to ask for an ocean-front room so that you may experience the calmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
We feel so honored to have welcomed you to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your first trip to Hawai’i and are delighted to hear your experience was “extraordinary.” Our associates are highly trained in customer service so we are delighted to hear that you have been a recipient of such service. Yes, being an Ocean Front hotel, we receive many wonderful comments about the views of Waikiki Beach that many of our guestrooms provide. We are happy that you were able to enjoy such views! Knowing we have made your stay memorable means the world to us and we hope we have inspired you to return to the “First Lady of Waikiki” for your next visit.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave... classy! Spend the money for an oceanview tower room. Amazing beds, beautiful views, wonderful staff! Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed hanging out on the back patio.

Room Tip: Oceanview Tower if you want to see it all! You can see the patio at night where they're enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. Our credo for the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is “First Lady, First Class” and we’re happy to hear that our guests are experiencing this first-hand. From our Heavenly beds, beautiful views of Waikiki Beach and associates filled with the Aloha spirit, we strive to help our guests create Moana memories they will cherish forever. We look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First off, let me say that our bed was the most comfortable bed the wife and I have ever slept in. Without a doubt. Period.

We stayed in room 232 and had heard that these 'city-facing' rooms could make sleeping at night an issue due to the street noise. We were overlooking the front of the hotel, right where everyone pulls up and walks by. But we slept like babies every night. Some of that could be attributed to the fact that we had very busy days, and to the fact that someone had left their sound machine in our room, but still, we are fairly light sleepers and got a good night's sleep every night.

The room was nicely appointed and small, but larger than we anticipated with a king-size bed, sitting area consisting of a bench, armoire, small bathroom with decent-sized glass shower, entertainment center, small desk, etc. Was enough room to move around comfortably, but not a place to spend a lot of leisure time.

Staff was helpful, but not plentiful, and were often catering to the MANY weddings being held by Asian brides. From our room, we could go directly downstairs to the lobby area, but were often walking right into a photo session of a bride and groom being photographed.

We expected the hotel to be less crowded during late October, but it was not. Fairly filled and fairly busy. We were happy to spend most of day away from the hotel itself as there really isn't much to do there.

Pool was clean and available during off hours. Beach access is plentiful, but hotel-reserved beach area is practically non-existent. Fortunately, Waikiki this time of year has plenty of open beach to move about. We jumped in the ocean at 7am and had the area pretty much to ourselves.

We did not dine much at the MS, but did dine at the Beachhouse and had an excellent meal (had a thai pepper whole snapper). We were a bit disappointed when after reserving their "best" sunset table months before, were relegated to their "second" best. Not really much of a difference, but not sure how far out you have to actually ask for that table. Service was good, food was pricey, atmosphere was very pretty, but also felt like you were an extension of the noisy beach bar area which sat adjacent.

Hotel took care of us adequately for our honeymoon with room treats and complementary dessert at dinner. Thanks!

Minor issue with valet parking being charged twice which was resolved, albeit after a call which lasted longer than it should have. Self-parking is "across the street" (not really) at their sister hotel. Give yourself an extra 5-10 minutes to get to/from your car each day. Parking is part of the resort fee, as is the adequate wireless internet service.

Overall, a decent stay at a historic hotel. But considering how much time we spent away from the hotel, we'd choose a less refined hotel and save some money next time.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Mahalo for being our guest and sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on your new life together as a married couple! So pleased to know you’ve enjoyed the treats provided in celebration of your honeymoon. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our signature Heavenly beds and received a restful sleep each evening. The beachhouse at the moana is a popular dining option for our guests, as well as those visiting Waikiki. We’re disappointed to hear of the issue’s you’ve experienced with both our valet and wedding photographers. Your review has been shared with our management staff so that we may continue to improve the experience for each of our guests. If you’d like to discuss your stay further, please contact 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We hope to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next trip to Hawai’i.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.