We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraudulent advertising on Hotel Room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hayward, California
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fraudulent advertising on Hotel Room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On November 5, 2012 I booked a room at this hotel for 3 days. I booked a PREMIUM OCEAN VIEW ESCAPE room that cost me over $400.00 per day. What I got was not a Premium Ocean View, but rather a view that looked out at 150 balconies from an adjacent hotel and a 30 degree view of a small portion of beach and ocean. When I conveyed my dissatisfaction to the hotel staff, they were completely unresponsive and did nothing to correct the situation. They insisted that this was a Premium Ocean View, but compared to other rooms in this category, this was.definitely not a Premium Ocean View room. All they said was that this room has a balcony and tried to push it off as a Premium Ocean Escape room.. This room (# 1593) was a total rip-off and not worth over $400.00 per day. I will never stay at this hotel again and I believe that Expedia should do their homework and check out the rooms that they are selling. i am truly disappointed by Westin Resorts and Expedia whose only interest now seems to be profit above customer service and satisfaction.

Room Tip: Do not use this hotel if you want value for your money. Very misleading advertising and not at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you very much for your candid comments. We do apologize that you were not satisfied with the premium ocean category you were assigned. Guestroom #1593 is the connecting room to suite #1595, so is considered an ocean view room, being that it is the closest room to the water aside from the connecting suite. We hope that you will consider a future visit, and if so, please reach out to us via e-mail 374guestexperience@westin.com, so that we may personally oversee your guestroom assignment.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    943
    379
    181
    151
See reviews for
762
1,380
115
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Moana Surfrider Westin, Oahu, Hawaii was a magnificent hotel in which to experience a first trip to Hawaii. The eloquence of "the Grand Old Lady" of Oahu hotels was extraordinary.

The hotel staff were most helpful in suggesting sights, and the restaurant wait-staff were quick to service our needs, pour additional drinks and suggest deserts to accompany our meals. Their attention to each guest at our table was welcomed.

The rooms were large with sitting areas, desks and tables included. With the oceanfront view included, it made for an enjoyable, memorable trip andI would highly recommend the Moana Surfrider Westin.

Patricia. Polito

Room Tip: It is worth your time and money to ask for an ocean-front room so that you may experience the calmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
We feel so honored to have welcomed you to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your first trip to Hawai’i and are delighted to hear your experience was “extraordinary.” Our associates are highly trained in customer service so we are delighted to hear that you have been a recipient of such service. Yes, being an Ocean Front hotel, we receive many wonderful comments about the views of Waikiki Beach that many of our guestrooms provide. We are happy that you were able to enjoy such views! Knowing we have made your stay memorable means the world to us and we hope we have inspired you to return to the “First Lady of Waikiki” for your next visit.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave... classy! Spend the money for an oceanview tower room. Amazing beds, beautiful views, wonderful staff! Breakfast was delicious and we really enjoyed hanging out on the back patio.

Room Tip: Oceanview Tower if you want to see it all! You can see the patio at night where they're enterta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. Our credo for the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is “First Lady, First Class” and we’re happy to hear that our guests are experiencing this first-hand. From our Heavenly beds, beautiful views of Waikiki Beach and associates filled with the Aloha spirit, we strive to help our guests create Moana memories they will cherish forever. We look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First off, let me say that our bed was the most comfortable bed the wife and I have ever slept in. Without a doubt. Period.

We stayed in room 232 and had heard that these 'city-facing' rooms could make sleeping at night an issue due to the street noise. We were overlooking the front of the hotel, right where everyone pulls up and walks by. But we slept like babies every night. Some of that could be attributed to the fact that we had very busy days, and to the fact that someone had left their sound machine in our room, but still, we are fairly light sleepers and got a good night's sleep every night.

The room was nicely appointed and small, but larger than we anticipated with a king-size bed, sitting area consisting of a bench, armoire, small bathroom with decent-sized glass shower, entertainment center, small desk, etc. Was enough room to move around comfortably, but not a place to spend a lot of leisure time.

Staff was helpful, but not plentiful, and were often catering to the MANY weddings being held by Asian brides. From our room, we could go directly downstairs to the lobby area, but were often walking right into a photo session of a bride and groom being photographed.

We expected the hotel to be less crowded during late October, but it was not. Fairly filled and fairly busy. We were happy to spend most of day away from the hotel itself as there really isn't much to do there.

Pool was clean and available during off hours. Beach access is plentiful, but hotel-reserved beach area is practically non-existent. Fortunately, Waikiki this time of year has plenty of open beach to move about. We jumped in the ocean at 7am and had the area pretty much to ourselves.

We did not dine much at the MS, but did dine at the Beachhouse and had an excellent meal (had a thai pepper whole snapper). We were a bit disappointed when after reserving their "best" sunset table months before, were relegated to their "second" best. Not really much of a difference, but not sure how far out you have to actually ask for that table. Service was good, food was pricey, atmosphere was very pretty, but also felt like you were an extension of the noisy beach bar area which sat adjacent.

Hotel took care of us adequately for our honeymoon with room treats and complementary dessert at dinner. Thanks!

Minor issue with valet parking being charged twice which was resolved, albeit after a call which lasted longer than it should have. Self-parking is "across the street" (not really) at their sister hotel. Give yourself an extra 5-10 minutes to get to/from your car each day. Parking is part of the resort fee, as is the adequate wireless internet service.

Overall, a decent stay at a historic hotel. But considering how much time we spent away from the hotel, we'd choose a less refined hotel and save some money next time.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Mahalo for being our guest and sharing your experience with us. Congratulations on your new life together as a married couple! So pleased to know you’ve enjoyed the treats provided in celebration of your honeymoon. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed our signature Heavenly beds and received a restful sleep each evening. The beachhouse at the moana is a popular dining option for our guests, as well as those visiting Waikiki. We’re disappointed to hear of the issue’s you’ve experienced with both our valet and wedding photographers. Your review has been shared with our management staff so that we may continue to improve the experience for each of our guests. If you’d like to discuss your stay further, please contact 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We hope to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next trip to Hawai’i.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnold, md
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We are staying here for our honeymoon. I booked an oceanfront room...which is vey small but the views are beautiful. The decor is meh, but the bed is very comfortable. My major complaint is the service. It has been horrible. We sat at the pool for 1 hour and no one came to ask if we would like to order food/drinks. We decided to just go sit at a table at the beach bar so we could get some refreshments. We sat there for 30 minutes, and my husband finally had to just flag down a waitress so that we could order. Her response..."I'm not your server but I'll see if I can find her". After our drinks came no one checked on us for over an hour. The waitress finally came back...not to see if we needed anything but to tell us she needed to settle our bill because she was being cut. I've had better service from a fast food restaurant. It hasn't gotten any better either. Our room wasn't made up until after 3pm. Don't stay here, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear that you have loved the breathtaking views. It is regrettable to hear of your concerns pertaining to the service provided while dining at the Beach Bar. Our Beach Bar and Guest Services managers have advised our office that messages were left for you so that we could follow-up immediately. Should you wish to reach out to us, please do so via e-mail 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. Our main goal is to exceed the expectations of each guest. We do apologize that this was not the case during your visit. We value our guests’ feedback as this allows us the opportunity to continue to improve our services. Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to inviting you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next vacation.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayne, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I were there November 5-10. Our arrival was perfect, we received lei's, there was water and tea to accommodate us. The feel of Hawaii was definitely in everyone that helped us.
The first 3 nights we stayed in the Diamond Wing Oceanfront room, it was lovely! Then 2 nights we switched to the Tower Partial Ocean room, We really enjoyed this room, it was spacious and loved the scenery!
The breakfast was to die for! The food was fabulous and drinks at the beach bar was delish! I can't wait to go back! The beds were truly heavenly! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha Barbara,
Mahalo for your review. We’re delighted to hear you had such a “great” stay! From our lei greeting to our heavenly beds and amazing dining options, it’s hard not to enjoy your stay at the Moana Surfrider. We hope to welcome you back to the “First Lady of Waikiki” on your next visit to Hawai’i.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights, overall very pleased, but it didn't start off too well.
Upon check-in, we were given a city view room, which is what we booked. Do not book a city view room because they are loud (historic building, old windows), we thought the windows were open but they were closed, and the street noise was unbearable for us. No bathtub, and no dresser. We were a family of 4 and these are necessities! I tried changing rooms that night but was told nothing was available. After insisting I get a new room, they put us in a smaller room with one queen and told us they would bring in a twin bed. The room was so small, there was no way this was going to happen. Back to the desk, nothing else available, back to the original room. They told us they would try to get us a new room the next morning.
I went back the next morning at 7am and asked someone else for a room change. He was very helpful, worked a few things out and upgraded us to a partial ocean view. When we moved rooms, it was clear that this room was available the night before but the original attendant couldn't do the upgrade (even after I offered to pay more for an upgraded room!). After this, the stay was wonderful. Housekeeping were great, I suggest when you see them in the mornings, let them know your room is ready or else your room may not get done until the afternoon. I fond leaving them a nice tip each morning helps with the service as well. My wife was not feeling well one morning so I asked them to clean the room while we were at breakfast so that she could rest in the room uninterrupted. When we came back there was a little gift bag with fresh fruit, and misc items and a 'get well' card! Poolside attendants were also friendly and helpful. I also like to give them the occasional tip as they were fun and went beyond their jobs to help us. Valet did take about 15-20 minutes in the evening so I suggest calling them early to get your car. Kudos to the following staff that made our stay wonderful: Bellman Chris, Front Desk Keoli (sp?), our housekeeping staff (8th floor tower), the guys poolside.
The pool is more geared to adults, we spent more time at the Sheraton pool as our friends were staying there. Overall a nice hotel but I think geared more towards adults rather than families with young kids.

Room Tip: Don't book a city view room in the Banyan Wing) unless you are okay with street noise (buses, st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienced Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that your booked category did not meet your needs, but am very happy to hear that Keola at the Front Desk was able to arrange a room move the next morning. Here at the Moana Surfrider, we strive to ensure we provide services and amenities that will be of interest to many of our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service from our Housekeeping staff. Our housekeeping associates are true examples of the spirit of aloha found here at the Moana. If I may, we do have hula lessons, lei making and ukulele lessons that may be of interest to our younger guests. In addition, we offer keiki (children) menus at the beachhouse at the moana as well. We are also currently reviewing summer programming, so stay tuned. Please send an e-mail to 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com to inform us of your next stay so we can personally help set-up a few activities for you and your family on your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.