We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
kent uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

fabulous time spent here what a hotel old world charm in abundance,rooms lovely and very comfy beds,only paid for a city view but had a side seaview so that was a bonus.will hopefully be back one day loved it !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha,
We’re so happy you loved your stay! "The First Lady of Waikiki" embraces the old world charm and elegance of yesteryear. We are glad you had a chance to personally experience these intimate traits of the Moana. We look forward to your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    943
    379
    181
    150
See reviews for
761
1,380
115
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider in Oct 2012. There were a couple of good things, however the bad things out numbered them, first off what I liked about this hotel...

The good things about this Hotel was the staff around the pool area, Nancy at the snack bar was absolutely fabulous, extremely friendly and helpful, I can't say enough about her customer service. The guys and gals working the towel desk were awesome, they were giving us extra towels all the time and made sure we had enough for our kids to dry off, they even came over to us a couple of times while seated around the pool at the end of the day to exchange our towels for dry ones and gave us extra ones for the kids. The lobby was beautiful, and well maintained, so the first impression was great. Also the bellmen working the front door were also great....

Now the bad.... I booked the hotel rooms 11 months in advance and thought it would be great to experience old Hawaii. I completely understood that this is an historic hotel and was looking forward to the experience. I booked the rooms using Starwood points, I am a Gold Starwood member. I actually booked our rooms in the Banyan wing with an ocean view for two rooms and 7 guests; three of them kids; however upon checkin we got rooms in the Diamond wing, when I asked about the rooms at check in they said that was all that was available. All I can say is if you stay here DO NOT STAY IN THE DIAMOND WING, I repeat DO NOT STAY IN THE DIAMOND WING. Every day and night there were several events on the lawn outside the rooms. Lots of weddings, which were not too loud, to events so loud that you thought you were actually at the event; we called down one night and complained and got a $100 credit on each room, the only night there was not an event was our last night, we were there for 6 nights. Again I booked two Banyan rooms, and confirmed the rooms 2 weeks before our arrival, I even asked for an upgrade at the time of confirmation and was told there was a good possibility to get one due to it being low season and suites were available (yes I get that things can change in 2 weeks but why not out original rooms??). The Diamond wing rooms were tired and needed an upgrade, the hotel went through a renovation in 2009, did they miss this wing???? Definitely not Westin quality... I can say that we tried to spend as little time in the rooms as possible due to them being noisy and poor quality....

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you so much for your booking and your loyalty as a member of the Starwood Preferred Guest program. It is not uncommon for us to receive many wonderful compliments about our stay, specifically the doormen, bellmen, pool attendants and Nancy. Our associates are highly trained in customer service so we are delighted to hear that you have been a recipient of such service.
Relative to your reservations, we apologize for the challenges you had received. As you had indicated, our availability changes throughout the day, every day. Regardless, we’d love the opportunity to discuss with you the specifics of your booking. Please contact us should you desire at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. We hope you will consider the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Hawai'i.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you are going to Waikiki, do yourself a favour and stay here at the most beautiful hotel on the beachfront. From the first moment you walk in, you will experience a quality of service and facilities that sets this place apart. The Moana has been caring for travellers for over 100 years, and that shows. The details, the service and the focus on the customers' every need seems to be the passion for every staff member we met, whether the porters, the waitstaff or the housekeepers.

We stayed in a Diamond ocean view room with our 2 children for 6 nights and loved every minute of our stay. We can't say enough about how great this place is. The food and drinks at the restaurant and bars were exceptionally good. We ate outside the hotels a couple of times, and never did we find better food than at the Moana - and we are foodies, so we had researched the options. Innovative dishes, great local produce, gorgeous presentation and at a range of price options. As we were travelling with our 2 children, we tended to try and minimise our food costs, so we filled up at the amazing buffet breakfast and ate at the beach bar most nights. We did splash out on the formal restaurant one night though - and it was so worth it. But if you are travelling with kids, you can balance out the budget with the options provided.

The beach front location is unbeatable in Waikiki - and many times I noticed guests from other hotels walking down to the Moana to spend their beach time.

We love the staff - we always had the most beautiful and welcoming service from everyone. No one batted an eyelid as guests trooped through the stunning hotel lobby in their boardshorts and jandals. Everyone seemed so keen to make our stay special - and it really was.

Mahalo, Moana. We'll be back!

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little more for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha,
We appreciate the wonderful feedback you have shared with us! We're so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the atmosphere of the Moana Surfrider the moment you entered the breathtaking port cochere. As a Westin brand, we pride ourselves in providing exceptional customer service and creating Moana memories for all of our guests. We’d like to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider for your next visit to Hawai’i.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the refurbed tower - and you could tell.
Won't go into specifics, but the room felt tired. The low ceiling made a fairly compact room, even smaller. Somehow, we squeezed in two double beds, and a rollaway; to fit our family of five.
When in Waikiki, most people don't spend too much time in their hotel rooms. Plenty to see and do, in and around Honolulu. However, this review is about the hotel; the room makes or breaks it. And unfortunately it's an average one; below par for the normally high Westin standard.
The things that redeem this hotel:
Service - from the driveway, to the front desk, to the concierge; everyone was there to help, and did it well.
The $25 resort charge. What?! It's actually good value - included free water, free child stroller, free rollaway bed, free wifi for all my devices (had three).
Location - excellent; right in the middle of what's happening in Waikiki. Excuse the frequent wedding parties, though - try to stay out of their photos.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the tower. Get into the old part of the hotel, and face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. We love hearing from our guests. It allows us to provide positive feedback to our associates and also to focus in on areas that may need a little more attention. Yes, the destination itself is amazing and our beachfront access is a favorite of our guests. We are so delighted that you found the Resort Charge of value. There are many inclusions that our guests enjoy, so we are happy that you did too!
We’d love to welcome you back very soon, and would be happy to assist you in confirming your category. The hotel has three separate buildings, all providing its own unique experience. We’d love to share with you the traits of each so as to ensure a memorable stay on your next visit. If we can assist, please contact us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed in a small room in the Banyan wing which was advertised as mountain view but was of an adjacent tower up real close. The shutters were needed so we couldn't look into each others rooms. I'm sure there are better rooms. I waited an hour fora single suitcase to arrive at my room. So, that's the bad side.
The good side is excellent public spaces and ground floor beach and dining facilities. It is a place where you would not linger in the room. The location is Wikiki Central, so if that attracts you..go for it. t is expensive, but a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Try to afford a beach view and specifically make sure you don't end up facing the adjacent build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Moana Surfrider is one of those places where you just melt into paradise and you don't quite realize what that thing is and it's... the feeling of being absolutely carefree.
We're here right now in an ocean-view suite (rm 561) in the "old" part of the hotel which is just gorgeous. Huge old-school counter-weighted windows allow for the ocean breeze to flow in, the plantation shutters and decor create ambiance without being garish and tropical-flower-land.

There is music all the time! From the live entertainment at lunch time and dinner in the Beach House to the music piped through the speakers all througout the resort, the soft Hawaiian-style tunes just add to the huge smile that you can't get rid of on your face.

Service is impeccable. As a frequent business and pleasure traveler, I've stayed at all kinds of places and there's really nothing lacking here. No one is intrusive, it's very, very comfortable and warm.

Highly recommend breakfast brunch at the Beach House. High end foods and ingredients, super fresh and healthy choices abound. Delicious and again - perfectly beautiful atmosphere under the giant banyan tree!!! It's well worth the price per person. If you have points, consider cashing some in for a free daily continental breakfast which will take 1/2 off each buffet breakfast cost.

Beach is private and beautiful. It could use a little sand added into the built-up portion but can't complain about how clean and convenient it is to have a private beach. Recommend not renting chairs from the hotel as it's a bit exorbitant for 1 or 2 people. If you're going to be here for a few days, go to the ABC store across the street for a couple of cheap beach chairs and umbrella if you really need them.

Can't wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: If you like a little character, request a room in the old part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Moana surfrider exceeded our expectations. The service and staff friendliness, helpfulness and enthusiasm is what makes this hotel superb. It is a beautiful hotel right on the beach and in the middle of the strip in Waikiki but I've stayed at beautiful hotels before, its the service that makes a difference for me!!!! And generally Hawaiians are a very friendly bunch!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Aloha,
We’re so glad to hear we had exceeded your expectations. Many of our associates are pure examples of the Spirit of Aloha, as you have experienced. The Moana Surfrider associates are very friendly and willing to help our guests in any way possible. We look forward to your next return to the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 795
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.