We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Royal Grove Hotel
Save Saved
You added Royal Grove Hotel to your Saves list
151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Berkeley, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good value for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are on a budget, but still want to stay in the heart of Waikiki, this hotel is your pick. My wife and I spent a week on Oahu, mostly travelling around or lying on the beach. We spent little time in our hotel room, but it was perfectly fine. The staff was helpful (they suggested a nearby cheap parking garage, they provided us with beach towels etc), and the room was clean. The building itself is pretty old and rundown, but it is tidy and everything worked just fine. Close to the beach and restaurants. Many people in the hotel were returning guests, most of them seniors, and they were really nice people to talk to.
I want to emphasize again: this is not a fancy hotel. If you want all glamour of a Hyatt, go to a Hyatt. But if you just need a clean and decent room, this is a real bargain.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    121
    34
    12
    12
See reviews for
53
92
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The price is fantastic and the location handy to all sorts of places.
Not the Royal Hawaiian but still a little gem! We were really only staying for a couple of nights, breaking up our trip to Australia, trying to mitigate jet lag.
Our studio room overlooking the pool was cool, clean and comfortable with a balcony...but yes, old. Being able to prepare some meals is a bonus.
WiFi reception happens in the lobby or by parts of the pool closest to the lobby.
Due to an ongoing travel problem we had to stay in Hawaii an extra couple of nights (I know, a real hardship! Not!)
I was apprehensive about being able to book as I had witnessed several people walking in off the street looking for a place to stay, only to be told they were fully booked.
When I explained my problem, I was told not to worry they could accommodate us.
We moved to a room overlooking the street. Not quite as nice as the previous room but due to being over the lobby were able to pick up WiFi in our room. There were fireworks on the beach at the end of the street one night, an added bonus, as we might have missed them if we'd still been poolside.
For what we wanted, the Royal Grove was great! Certainly the prices mean a longer stay is a possibility in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown NJ
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at Royal Grove 4 nights while vacationing on Oahu.
We decided to stay there after reading reviews on tripadvisor and Fodors. Some reviews were mixed so we we not sure what to expect. On the Oahu TA forum, several people strongly suggested finding another place to stay and said it was a dump. We were SO glad we did not listen to their advise.
We got a nice room on 5th floor for $70 a night 2 blocks from Waikiki beach. Yes, the hotel is older(1960s style), but our room was spacious, AC cold, clean and the location could not have been better.
We only stayed in the room to sleep at night and get a quick shower before going out to dinner after a busy day. We know several people who have been to Waikiki area and spent over $300 a night. We rather spent the $200 a night we saved on something more enjoyable.
If you want a reasonable place to stay with friendly staff, we recommend giving it a try. Yes, it is not the newest or the prettiest, but it has location-location that can't be beat.

If you are one of those people who expect a 4/5 star hotel you will be disappointed and I suggest you stay elsewhere. It is a 3 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

To find this gorgeous genuine accepting and generous jewel. True aloha spirit. I felt at home immediately part of a family. Offers true comfort and convenience. Thank you to all concerned for a magical stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This place is such a good deal (and not listed on the major booking websites) that I almost don't want to tell anyone else about it, lest the prices increase. The location is perfect- a couple blocks from the beach and easy walk to pretty much anything in Waikiki. We stayed in the back building. We had a huge room/studio with nice shoji screens separating the bedroom area. A big closet and even a kitchen! No, the décor is not the newest, but it's clean and comfy. The pool area is lovely and relaxing. The front desk staff is great. Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were looking for an affordable place for our family of 4 where we could potentially cook dinners and have breakfast in the room and not spend a huge bundle. A guidebook (I think Fodor's) mentioned that they were a wonderful gem 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Waikiki Beach. We totally agree - total gem! Our room (which was actually two rooms, one with a double bed and single bed, and one with a single bed and the kitchenette connected to each other) was not overly large, but it was completely doable and the price was good. The downstairs staff was very personable and always were able to answer our questions. The maid service was wonderful. If you are into luxury or brand new everything in a room, if you need wifi in your room and aren't satisfied with using wifi just in the lobby, if you don't mind spending more money, then this place isn't for you. But if you're looking to stretch your dollars and still be in the heart of Waikiki, have comfortable accomodations, and maybe cook some of your own meals, then you may want to call this hotel. I tried booking online, but it indicated they were full. There was a caveat that you should call if it says there are no rooms availables. When I called, the man said, he absolutely had a room that would fit our family.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street. We had a balcony which we loved for hanging out wet bathing suits a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stay here if you want a budget hotel in an awesome location 2 blocks to the beach. Had a a/c room over looking pool. It was quiet, clean and safe. Has a small pool which i didn't use but, looks nice enough. With hotels so pricey on the beach, i was very happy to be so close to everything at a good rate here. Will return. This is not for you if you like full service hotels and all the "bells and whistles"

Room Tip: Over looking pool was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#48 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.