We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Save
You added Royal Grove Hotel to your Saves list
151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are looking for a resort, this is not it. But if you are looking for a comfortable place that is close to the beach because you just want to go surfing and listen to music then this is a great. It is like old Hawaii. I almost don't want it to become too popular because then it might change. I really enjoyed my time here. If you stay, try not to get a room facing the street.

Room Tip: try to ge a pool view..not on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    135
    35
    12
    12
See reviews for
58
98
53
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland,oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just got back from another stay at the Royal Grove..Stayed in room #421 and it was huge. It's like a apartment-1 twin,1 double in a room and a king in another room, full kitchen,big bathroom and a living room and a dining area. Will always ask for that room when we return. No AC but pleanty of fans and windows-we really weren't in the room that long so it was all good. What can I say-Monday night they had live music down by the pool with guests setting in-2 hula dancers, it was better than going to a luau -they really make you feel like Ohana. They people that work there are friendly and very helpful.You are close to the bus,stores for snacks,and best of all about 2 blocks from the Duke statue..The price is very good so if your going there make sure you stay here,you won't be disappointed! Mahalo Royal Grove for a wonderful stay........The Reid Family

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our second stay (the first one was 5 years ago). The hotel looks more or less same. It is a walking distance to the famous beach. The rooms are spacious with mini kitchenette and a fridge. We stayed from Sept 20 to 27th. The staff are friendly. There is a wifi on the main floor.

We were allowed a late check-out at no charge as our room was booked to be rented that day. it was helpful as our flight was around 11pm.

New air conditioners would help.

Room Tip: Higher level floor with a Lanai would be preferred. It is not noisy on this street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We love this place! The staff and all the occupants make us feel the "aloha" of Hawaii. The clean rooms have anything you need for a comfortable stay. Fully equipped kitchenettes- (Hit the grocery store first so you can just enjoy the ambience to wander all over Waikiki.) Usually 2 beds- 1 a full size the other a twin. Rooms have balconies- some overlook the pool and are quieter- the others look down Ulunio St and to the water, and all the activity near the Duke's statue.
It fits like a comfortable shoe- a bit worn and scuffed, but ends up being your favorite!
If you demand High class- go elsewhere.
If you'd rather make friends and join in on a Hawaiian jam session and hula with the locals, then this is the place :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just returned from 2.5 weeks at this charming hotel. Room 604 had a balcony and every morning we had cofee out there and looked down the street to Waikiki beach and all the folks walking down the road with the surfboards on their heads.
This room had a kitchenette,which allowed us to make our own breakfasts each morning,a big saving. We chose to eat lunch and supper out,but you could save even more if you ate in.
The pool and lobby are warm and inviting,with many interesting guests to meet.People congregated here,for the internet access. Monday nights are the social nights with a group playing music and learning to dance and hula-what a blast!
The laundromat on site was a huge bonus,as it was so convenient!
The front desk staff are always friendly and accomodating,always ready to answer our questions and give us directions.The safety deposit boxes(for free) are a super deal!
This place is so incerdibly reasonable,amazing since you are a 2 minute walk to the hub of Waikiki beach-LOVE IT! It is clean,safe and an incredible deal! Highly recommend it!!!!!

Room Tip: I loved the side facing the street,so we could look down and see waikiki beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Grove the first two weeks of September and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It's definitely has a feel from the "70's but that a good thing. Reminds me of the times when I first started going to Waikiki
It made me a little nostalgic and makes you wish for times of the past when Hawaii wasn't such a mordern destination and Waikiki wasn't just another big city

The hotel is clean and comfortable, located so closed to the beach at a great price. I can't express enough how clean it is although quite old.

If you're looking for clean comfortable place to stay and not expecting luxury this is the place.
I have stayed at many hotels in Waikiki since 1978 and in my opinion this one is the best for
comfort, convenience and oh so reasonable rates

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located close to beach and shops. The rooms were clean and comfortable it is an older property but for the price and location we think it is the place to stay if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have view of beach from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Prince
#31 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#26 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#35 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Sands Hotel
#54 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#29 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.