We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent self catering budget option.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Save
You added Royal Grove Hotel to your Saves list
151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering budget option.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very pleased with this find. It's not a palace but it's not priced like one-I actually think you get more than you pay for. Excellent location, self catering (although when I reported to reception that our microwave not working, was told I was welcome to use the one in the lobby/common area. We were on the 6th floor-not practical). However we did have a stove and oven as well. Also air con not particularly effective, except when I laid on the floor one night, directly under. Thankfully end of summer, so not insufferable. A couple of staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. No name badges so I can't give names.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    130
    35
    12
    12
See reviews for
56
95
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed 6 nights from August 14 to 20. I had room 422....twin room with overseized furniture, small kitchen and ensuite bathroom. Price: $55+tax. / night = $376 total! Ok, the room was "ok"....old, tired, "smelly" and not very clean BUT only 2 minutes walk to Kuhio beach: I went there beacause I was on a budget. I was on a 3 weeks vacation ( cairns+sydney+LA+Honolulu) so I had to be careful with hotels....However, the place is alright for people that don't spend their time in their rooms. If you want a better room they have a highy category with AC and "lanai". If I ever return to the lodge, I will certainly choose one those "premium rooms" but again, if you have to fork out 100 dollars, the other hotels offer sometimes bargains that make the Royal Grove" look expensive.
The place itself is a little old but you feel safe....Well, you know, for 55 bucks... what do you expect?
FYI: the computer is $1 /10 minutes and it's very, very slow.....

Room Tip: If you can spend 100 dollars, choose a larger room with Ac and lanai.... or one of the bargains some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We picked the Royal Grove because you can stay here for a week for the cost of 2 nights at the Hyatt just down the block. However, do NOT stay here if you travel to "be in the hotel." It's just not that kind of place. The room, as the hotel, is utilitarian but not beautiful in the "Architectural Digest" sense. The Royal Grove provides perfect accommodation for those who are not there to be in the room but want a clean, safe, room for sleep and clean up. The kitchenette was very handy--included a toaster, microwave, and coffee maker. The lanai was a pleasant addition to a spacious room.

The pool was a nice plus and was in shade for part of the day--no sunburn--and often I was the only person in the pool. The Hawaiian music in the lobby on Monday night was an unexpected bonus. The staff are friendly and helpful. Arriving just after noon on a trans-Pacific flight from Asia we didn't expect our room to be ready until official check-in time but we were able to go directly to our room and crash.

Next time we hope to have a room on the pool courtyard. Our room faced the street which was noisy enough to prevent deep sleep. Running the a/c unit provided enough white noise to mask most of it.

Also, since carry-on is the only way we travel, we were able to get to the hotel in just an hour from the airport for $2.50 each. Numerous bus lines from the bus stop half a block away provide transportation to just about anywhere you'd want to go for the same price.

For those who need it, there is vegan restaurant in the building on the ground floor on the Kuhio Ave. side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool courtyard side of the building away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks and enjoyed it immensely. The staff are Very nice, friendly, and easy to get along with, and very helpful and knowledgable. The room rate was excellent! As we were so close to the beach, strip, shops and restaurants. Everything was close!
We plan on returning for sure!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardeeville, Wisconsin
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We read about the Royal Grove Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is an older hotel but very clean and friendly. It lived up to the great reviews on Trip Advisor. The room had a stove/oven, full-sized refrigerator, sink, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster as well as dishes and some pots and pans. We had a comfortable standard size bed and single bed. When we got up we made coffee and sat on the lanai overlooking the pool, enjoying the morning.
When we arrived, we were going to give them a credit card but we were told to wait until we checked out. How many hotels trust their guests these days?! The staff were very friendly and willingly answered questions and gave us suggestions. We often laughed and joked with each other. We felt we were with "family."
There is a smaller, very clean pool that where we were able to swim a few laps. Waikaiki Beah is only two blocks away. The hotel has beach toys, mats, goggles, etc. for guests to use with no charge. Bus transportation is just across the street. There are a wide variety of stores nearby.
If you want a "basic" hotel with friendly staff, this is the hotel for you. If (when?) we go back to Honolulu, we definitely would stay at the "pink hotel." We showed our room to my niece (a Honolulu resident), whose parents plan to visit later this summer. She/we is/are recommending it to them.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter. Rooms in the older wing do not have a balcony. Not all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I keep coming back to the Royal Grove! I mean I'll admit when I first walked into the place I thought "oh, boy! What did I get myself into?" However, it's cozy, clean, close to the beach, and I keep coming back. The hotel is super cheap, the little pool is clean, and last time we were there I got invited to a wedding in the hotel lobby! Free cake? Yes, please! They also allow you to use snorkel gear, surf boards, and boogie boards for free! Just bring it back! Wow! It really is like staying at grandma's. The staff is super sweet but not in a superficial way. Infact, I love the staff, because they are down to earth, reasonable people. The place is quiet too.

What you should know: This isn't a luxury hotel. They don't have the latest gadgets, decor, and there isn't room service (best little Korean Restaurant next door though!). This is an absolutely no frills kind of place! So if you're high maintanence, luxury minded gal or guy who tends to nitpick and demand the best of everything then this place isn't for you.

If you like to save, be close to the beach, mingle with other travelers, and feel at home then stay here. This hotel makes Hawaii affordable. Place is great to stay if you especially like to make your own meals. Rooms with kitchens have all the necessary utensils and cooking gear. Pantry Market is around the corner, and can save you a ton. Also, the bus stop is right across the street to take you to many attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice hotel. More of a motel feel. We stayed here for 2 weeks. Initially when you walk in the looby and the rooms, the hotel does show it's age. But then the charm grows on you.

The locations is so close to the beach and other attractions. We walked from the hotel to Diamond Head (was a long walk but made it!!)

Staff were friendly and always happy to offer suggestions of things to do.

Our room was on the street which can be a little noisy. But the air conditioner drowned most of that noise out.

The price we got was amazing. Cheapest place we have ever stayed. If you are looking for a family run hotel, close to the beach for a great price then go for the Royal Grove Hotel! We would stay there again in a flash.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Grove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.