We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Queen Kapiolani Hotel to your Saves list
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Kapahulu Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were looking for a place to lay our heads on a quick stop over on our way back from the Big Island. So we weren't looking for anything fancy but still wanted a good location to use as a base to explore Waikiki. This hotel is exactly what we were looking for.

Sure, the hotel is dated, but it is clean and service is good. The bed is comfortable and because the aircond unit is standalone, room temperature is easy to control. My only complaint is that the shower head in the room is very low, and cannot be adjusted or detached.

You can self park or valet park, but when we were there, self - parking was not available and valet parking is required. From what I can see there wasn't much parking available in any case.
Overall I give it a high rating because for the price we paid, the hotel represents good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment of good location. As you stated, many of our guest appreciate being on the quiet end of Waikiki, yet minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

Furthermore, you found the accommodations to be clean with good service. That the beds were comfortable and the room temperature was easy to control with the A/C. In regards to the shower, we are considering to install hand held shower heads.

Again, thank you for your comments, and if I may be of assistance in booking your next visit to our beautiful islands, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    306
    165
    48
    43
See reviews for
182
297
74
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Yes, the Queen Kap shows its age ... but its staff and quiet location more than make up for its shortcomings. Thank you especially Jocelyn!

Our stay was in early April and if our health allows us to, we plan to return Spring '15.

Meanwhile in Vancouver-WA, we have our annual "Three Days of Aloha" Festival in July to look forward to...

http://kekukuifoundation.org/events/

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment of our favorite location, excellent value and gracious service. As you mentioned, many of our guest appreciate being on the quiet end of Waikiki, yet minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

It was particularly heart warming to hear that the Staff was great, particularly Jocelyn at the Front Desk. We are so very proud of our team.

If I may be of assistance, during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Aloha Merle,

Just wanted to send a quick email to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Queen Kapiolani. The hotel was great and so close to everything and be able to sit on the balcony every morning and see the animals in the Zoo wake up was a real treat. The service was
excellent and it all went to make our first overseas holiday a memory for ever. The happy hour at the pool bar was a grown ups treat that my husband and I took full advantage off, hooked on Mai Tais now. You will definitely be seeing us again you have a beautiful Island but I guess you all know that , that’s why you all smile so much

Mahola

Kath and Pete
Australia

Room Tip: if you have teenagers ask for the rollout bed to be put in the living area gives a bit of privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we are so glad that you appreciated the fabulous view from the room. Many of our guest appreciate being on the quiet end of Waikiki, yet minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the background. Because we are not surrounded by tall buildings, we offer breathtaking views from the room lanais.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to assisting you in your plans to revisit our beautiful islands.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great hotel on the quiet end of Waikiki. Hotel has a lot of history to it. No bugs and very clean. Easy walking distance to almost everything in Waikiki. Free Wi-fi with no charges and no resort fees. Staff was always friendly and helpful. (i.e. JoCewn)

Room Tip: Like any hotel the higher floors have the better views. Third floor pool deck has Diamond Head and O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment of great hotel for the price. That you found the staff to be always friendly and helpful.

As you mentioned, many of our guest prefer the quiet end of Waikiki, yet minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the background. This translates to unbelivable views that are truly breathtaking.

If I can assist in booking your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

First off, let me warn you that the hotel is a little older. Its got a nice 50's-60's waikiki vibe to it. It is clean and the rooms are neat and well kept. We stayed in a Diamond Head view room and, let me tell you, the view was PHENOMENAL. When we return, we will be staying in an Ocean/Diamond Head view for sure. I'd totally splurge the extra ~25$ for at least a Diamond Head view. Its worth it.

The folks at the front desk are friendly, helpful and ridiculously fun. Since the hotel is directly next to the zoo and the mountain, I spent quite a few mornings out for a nice run. They gave me advice on where to go, which way to go, and what have you. Very considerate. Having grown up on O'ahu and having returned to my native isle on numerous occasions, and having sampled the Hale Koa and a few of the other upper priced hotels...I have to say that the Queen Kapiolani is just as pleasant and clean, with a far superior view, for over half the price. I won't stay anywhere else again. That's for sure.

Pros:
Great location--beach is close, ABC stores are nearby, easy access to Kalakaua street and Kapahulu street to get in and out of Waikiki with minimal fights.
Great view--'nuff said
Friendly staff--Front desk was so nice, so were the parking fellas, the cleaning staff was polite and very kind.
Rooms were clean and bright.
Bathroom was clean and bright.
TV and Wifi for free.
Lanai also kept clean--(the balcony)

Potential Cons:
Water temp was fickle during the day. This was never really a huge issue for us, as we are early risers. However, the day of our wedding we came home and I needed to remove the copious amounts of hair spray. The water couldn't decide if it wanted to be hot or cold. Then again, the pipes are older and the front desk staff is aware of the issue and are currently in the process of fixing this.
Construction next door (April, 2014). Again, hardly an issue when we were in the room.
Parking is done by valet, due to parking issues they've had. Just a head's up, as some people don't like it. Husband and I couldn't care less, though.

TL;DR--Excellent hotel, great prices. Minimal issues. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Most definitely get at least a Diamond Head view. Ocean/Diamond head seem even better, that's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and thank you for a wonderful statement of perfect location, clean and inexpensive. As you mentioned, we do offer rooms with phenomenal views of iconic Diamond Head that are absolutely breathtaking. That you found the rooms to be neat and well kept,

What was music to our ears was that you found the Front Desk Staff to be friendly, helpful and ridiculously fun as well as the parking fellas. Not to mention that the cleaning staff was polite and very kind

Again, thank you, and if I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

just returned from an absolutely amazing twin centre holiday. we spent 11 nights at the QKH and i am lost for words. whilst the hotel was a little dated, it was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. we were in room 1610 and we had the most spectacular view of both the diamond head volcano and also waikiki beach. we did pay for an upgrade to a sea view room but OMG it was worth every penny. we also overlooked honolulu zoo. although we couldn't really see the animals, we often saw flamingos and occasionally the elephants. there was a lot of noise outside the hotel from the room we had but most people would be out late anyway, we were early birds in that we liked to sit on our balcony every evening and enjoy the goings on!! then went to bed at a reasonable time so we could get up early. public transport was easily accessible but my hubby and i love to walk, so we went walking to explore the local area, walking at least 10 miles on a couple of the days we were there. it is a beautiful place and you should definitely do the grand circle island tour. also pearl harbour is a must. we had a fab driver called Wes on both these trips - arranged by us through viator with the gray line company in honolulu

Room Tip: we loved 1610. i assume that the numbers are the same on each floor so as long as it has 10 at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and it was so wonderful that you had an amazing holiday. That you found the Hotel clean and the Staff very friendly and helpful, whom we are very proud of. Plus you had the most spectacular view of iconic Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach, with Honolulu Zoo right across the street.

Being on the quiet end of Waikiki, gives our guest access to the beauty and serenity that Hawaii is known for and we are so glad that you took advantage of our beautiful climate and experienced Oahu by walking.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit to Queen Kapiolani Hotel, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great place to stay in Honolulu. They even have free in room wifi. Be sure to get the updated ocean view room facing the Diamond head. We enjoyed our stay there. Proximity to the beach is definitely a plus.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an upgraded ocean view room facing Diamond head. It's a good view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we appreciate your comment of great room and location. That you enjoyed the free WIFI in the room and the updated room with the iconic view of Diamond Head.

As you, many of our guest appreciate being on the quiet end of Waikiki, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park, with Diamond Head in the background.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit to our beautiful islands, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#40 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Kapiolani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.