We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Save Saved
You added Queen Kapiolani Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Kapahulu Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #52 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Guntersville, Alabama
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Top location in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Since prices are higher in Hawaii we look for a good location and good deal, just because in Hawaii you have to spend your day outside the hotel and make your own tour in the island by car. The location of Queen Kapiolani is excellent. Walking distance to the beach and the shoppings centers in Waikiki. The Kapiolani park is a plus in front of the hotel entrance and the Diamond Head View is fantastic. The hotel changed owners recently and is undergoing reformulation, but This hotel has a prime location and good prices for Waikiki, so I recommend.

Room Tip: The valet parking service at $20 a day is expensive but having a car on the islands gives you more c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    281
    154
    44
    42
See reviews for
167
263
71
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We were there for 9 days and we always found very friendly service employees(especially bell desk, thx Kawika, Christian and all others).
Hotel is close to Waikiki Beach and Honolulu Zoo. It's easy to book tours, because they have a tourist info in the hotel.
Regards, family Ratz

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Wonderful location. Across from the zoo and near Waikiki beach and the aquarium. It was easy to catch the bus right near the hotel. Wonderful staff. Kawika at the bell desk was very helpful. Nice restaurants near by and within walking distance to the International Shopping Center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Queen Kapiolani for 6 beautiful nights. Are room was spotless! The front staff were friendly and quick to help with anything we needed. The beds were so comfortable and we had a huge flat screen HD tv to enjoy after a long day out site seeing.The pool view of Diamond Head is breathtaking. Our next visit to the islands and is the Queen Kapiolani for us again!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the view of Diamond head if you can, we did not have that but the lanai was amazing to sit a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I booked the hotel using Priceline, they didn't specify my request for two beds, and the people there were so nice to change me next day, since they had no other room available. Staff was always with a smile. I forgot my 2 keys in the room and they just asked me what room and if I had ID and gave an extra key. They also told me locations and attractions to visit on the island. As we left Kawika & Shane (the bellman) hold our bags and very friendly told us to come back and enjoy the beauty of the island.
The hotel doesn't look new, but it's clean, close to the beach, close to the zoo, and if you're taking the bus is perfect since they all stop at the corner. The pool is great, it's a small pool but the view to Diamond Head is great. And breakfast at the pool was fun. Also, I walked to Damond Head and it was a very fun and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: I got room 511, and anything above this floor has a great view! Get a lanai, if you can't afford...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and found this hotel on the internet. We thoroughly enjoyed our 9 night stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Our room was up on the 17th floor (no need to worry when we had a tsunami warning our first night there!) and had an excellent view of Diamond Head as well as a view of the ocean. The hotel is at the end of Waikiki Beach near the zoo and park which makes the area much quieter than other sections. The staff was excellent,-- from the reservations manager when I made the original reservation, to the parking valets (very quick and the rate of $20 /day is pretty reasonable), to the housekeeping staff. Everyone was friendly and willing to help in any way needed - lots of Aloha here!

The recent renovations have included new elevators. I had noticed complaints about very slow elevators in earlier reviews, but the new elevators are fantastic - super fast. We got a great rate on a Junior Suite and it was VERY CLEAN! The room was spacious and had a nice kitchen area with a table and chairs, micro, refrig, and coffee maker as well as dishes, glasses and silverware. The king bed was very comfortable and we slept well. There was a free in-room safe to keep valuables in and the internet was free too. This is an older hotel but seemed refreshed and the lobby was lovely. There are also some wonderful paintings of Queen Kapiolani and other royalty on the mezzanine level. The pool is not super large, but we really didn't use it as we were snorkeling or checking out the green sea turtles. We did get all the pool towels we wanted - to use at the beach. The main beach in Waikiki is just a block down. There is a small coffee shop in the hotel lobby and a Starbucks just down the street. It's an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants and fairly easy access to the highways.

The only problems we had during our stay were some tiny sugar ants (maintenance sprayed them right away but they were persistent) and one of the closet doors kept coming off of it's track, but that was a very minor thing. The windows are older jealousy windows and a couple of the levers to open/close them were worn, but you could still adjust them as desired. The air conditioner was also older but did function properly. We could hear noise from the street only on Halloween night - Honolulu is crazy on Halloween! (Unless you want to dress up and party, I would stay far away on Halloween!) Otherwise, we had no problems with noise inside or outside the hotel.

Our daughter and son-in-law were in the room directly below us and had a great stay too. We all highly recommend the Queen Kapiolani for a wonderful, relaxing stay in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Suggest you request a room on a high floor, on the side near the zoo/park to ensure the most quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Upon driving to the check-in area, we were almost haggled and duped into valet parking (they tried to blame language barrier for the misunderstanding). At the reception desk, the agent (Elaine, or some similar spelling) was highly trained to tell us no room was available except our assigned room. I cringed when I saw the pre-assigned room of 204. I know it was bad because the ceilings were ultra high for the 2nd floor (pool on floor above) but a drop down celing in the room only invited more things to hide above us. The room smelled like a previous person smoked indoors. Also, it reeked of mold. Called downstairs and told them to get us another room and upgrade us if necessary.

Got downstairs and there was another set of room keys available at the registration counter. We went up to 1008 and were able to breathe better. Sadly, the locks were accessible by a card key from outside, but the additional chain lock does not. The knob does not fit into the slide groove at all.

The only saving grace is the parking lot across the street. It's meant for the zoo, but after hours, it's rather reasonable for overnight parking. Streetside parking is very scarse (parking below the building's garage is valet services only).

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd or 4th floor rooms. They are too close to the pool and reeks of either chlorine (pool wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experiences, for it allows us to evaluate our services and
continue to improve our product.

Please accept our most sincere apology for your unpleasant experience. It is always our goal to provide all of our valued guest, with a positive guest experience, however we have falllen short in meeting your expectation.

In regards to the smell of smoke in the room, please be assured that it is not acceptable and we are addressing all smells with our Housekeeping staff to ensures all odors are eliminated.

For your information, Maintenance did go up to check the door lock system, which has a dead bolt feature that secures from the inside, and per Maintenance, everything was in working condition. The inside chain lock was also in working condition, which offers our guest additional peace of mind.

While Valet Parking is offered to our Guest, self parking is available right across the street at a very reasonable cost. Many of our Guest enjoy the valet parking service that we offer, since it allows them to drive up and not have to look for parking.

Again, please accept our most sincere apologies and we would look forward to welcoming you in the future. If I can be of personal service, please do not hesitate to give me a call, and I would be glad to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii’s last reigning King, Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to the beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Kapiolani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.