We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Hotel with great service, Value and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pagoda Hotel to your Saves list
Pagoda Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1525 Rycroft Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Lahaina, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is a Hotel with great service, Value and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We like staying here cause its close to Airport, Alamoana, and Waikiki. Its Value is pretty good for how old it is. You can walk to Beach and Shopping in minutes. I already booked 2 more stays here in Sept and Dec. On property dining is delicious and great bar.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Aloha Honolua13,
I thank you for your concise review! I am happy you found the service great, along with our location and value. These are the 3 points which we strive to maintain and improve the most, so it is very encouraging to hear the compliments. Hopefully soon, you will come back and love it even more!
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    84
    78
    51
    69
See reviews for
108
47
47
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lihue, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Love staying at the Pagoda. Have been a returning guest for many years mainly because of the very convenient location of the hotel and the surrounding shopping and eateries. I use the Pagoda for both business and personal trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Aloha Carol F,
We are happy that you are a returnee and hope that you see that we are constantly striving to improve! We thank you for taking the time to post a review and we will be sure to welcome you back on your next trip to Honolulu.
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I was very happy with my stay at the Pagoda. The location was excellent. Walking distance to the mall, walmart, and Ross. Yes, the hotel is old. This is not the Marriott, but you are paying much less than the Marriott also and I thought the cleanliness was great. My room was very clean every, single day. I never had to ask for extra towels which is something I always have to do. The front desk staff was great. Every person in this hotel is friendly. The pool area was nice. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay again. Being able to rent movies for free and the boys could rent games for the PS3 was an added bonus. The hotel was perfect for what I needed it for, a place to sleep and shower while I explored Hawaii. Thank you for making my experience great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Aloha monkeygirl32,
Mahalo nui for writing a review. Thank you for pointing out our great location, friendly staff, and the added DVDNow program we have as part of our new convenience fees. You are truly valued and we hope to serve you again soon!
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff at The Pagoda Hotel and also The Pagoda Restaurant provided me with excellent customer attention! What a breath of fresh local air in the midst of the changing city. Carlos and the rest of the staff at the front desk ensured my trip went perfect, thank you! If your looking to book a five star hotel, I'd recommend calling elsewhere; but if your looking to book with five star customer service, THIS IS IT! Trustworthy housekeepers, hard working maintenance crew, genuinely concerned staff, friendly food servers, add up to FIVE STAR CUSTOMER SERVICE! Mahalo no ka kokua O Honolulu!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Aloha Cynthia P,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and especially for the kind words about our service!! Though we are a LITE hotel, we believe that we can still provide excellent care and service for our guests. We look forward to having you return in the very near future.
Me Ka Hau'oli,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed at the Pagoda for two nights. I have nothing to complain about (although I did read the bad reviews before I travelled). I would not say this was the best hotel in town, but I do think the room I got was nice and cosy, but for me it was just a place to sleep and relax, after a long day exploring Honolulu, Waikiki and the island of Oahu.. The hotel is located in a residential area, but close to the shopping centers (a 10 minute walk to Ala Moana Center). If you like walking it would take about 20 minutes to reach Waikiki beach.

Room Tip: If you are an international traveller, do take note that most hotels in Hawaii (and in the U.S., I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha Danny-Yatim,
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts about the Pagoda! I am happy that you found your room to be cosy and that you wrote about our unique location. Thankfully, we have been very busy, but we do try to accommodate early arrivals when we can (usually a $35 early check-in fee applies). All of us here at the Pagoda hope to see you in our neck of the woods very soon.
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Druggies and homeless harassing me all the time. I will NEVER stay here again. The hotel also waited 6 months to notify me there was a problem with my bill. Actually that is incorrect. I wasn't notified. They just charged me 2k 6 months later. Total crooks. I recommend this place to no one. None of the local attraction shuttles will do business with this place and that should be a good indicator as to what type of establishment you are considering....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha CJ Y,
Mahalo for posting a review. I apologize that we were not able to contact you for payment of the room. We were unable to contact you because the information provided by the person who booked your reservation was not your own. I do hope that you give us another chance in the future and invite you to contact me directly if you have any questions, or so that I can take care of your next stay with us personally.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed. My room wasn't very clean. The rooms could use a face lift. Parking was not very convenient (although parking is cheap). No internet access. A lot of street noise. I guess next time I will pay a bit more.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Aloha Betti L,
Thank you for your review! We are renovating the rooms in the Terrace and in the Tower we are putting in next-to-new furniture in all of the rooms. We are also planning bathroom renovations and an overhaul of the lobby by the end of the year. Though we have wired internet in all rooms, we are soon going to be installing wifi in the Tower. I do hope you give us another chance in the near future.
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft Street, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. Accommodations feature hotel rooms, studios and one and two-bedroom units with kitchenettes. With our convenience fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy two swimming pools, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking, sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pagoda Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.