We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I was expecting...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ohana Waikiki West to your Saves list
Ohana Waikiki West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than I was expecting...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

When planning our trip to Oahu I started researching in FEB for a July trip that eventually got pushed back until SEPT. (The good thing about the date changes was it was cheaper, and less tourists, and weather wise it seemed to be the same, pretty consistent weather!) On everything we did practically I read all the TA reviews, BUT I first read all or mostly BAD reviews to good. THIS HELPED ALOT!!! #1 complaint that was consistent was NOISE - street or A/C units (so we brought earplugs, but never used. #2 was musty smells and sand and roaches. - Took a can of Febreeze, but didn't really notice any odors, sand... your in Hawaii - get over it - it is everywhere! and to be honest I saw 1 roach but it didn't not seem like the type from unclean conditions, the fire escape door was open and looked kinda like a beetle. #3 - Elevators or "Lifts" -- yes early morning and early evening there was a wait because of everyone leaving or arriving but it really was not that bad. - Tip One key works for all floors (great when you got lots in the elevator - one key and call out floor #'s goes so much faster). So moving on... No resort fees, Free Wi-Fi in the Lobby, and parking was $25 a day. But for the convenience it was worth it.

In July after much research I chose Ohana Waikiki EAST as they have a hot tub and at the time was under the impression that between the three East, West and Malki their pools and such were available to all guest no matter which location your actual room was in, this policy has since change. So when adjusting our dates to Sept OE was out rooms so I researched some more and because of the above "thought policy" I went ahead and opted for WEST as the alternate as they were across the street from each other. The hotel was clean, lobby seemed a little on the small side but it worked. Yes the rooms are outdated but if your out taking advantage of all you awake time...this really doesn't matter. If you want the hotels rooms you see on movies and TV you best have the kind of money they do to book it. So for the common folk this hotel booked with our flight fit great into our budget. (2 round trip tickets and hotel for 7 days, 6 nights $2300) I know our maid did a great job on keeping our room clean and seemed very trustworthy. Front desk staff was nice, never once got pressured by the excursions desk (we booked everything direct on our own...SO MUCH CHEAPER). They did one day have the hot water shut off for the day as they were doing an upgrade but they limited the time it would be out and offered availability to hot showers at OE that day. All in all if you are trying to watch your funds this is a perfect option. It has a laundry, fitness center, pool and pool bar. Only country bar in Waikiki is in their basement club (wish I could tell you how it was but we were always worn out by the time we got back each day to go check it out.) I was anxious at first before I actual arrived at the hotel not knowing what to expect, but if your open minded and are fully aware of some the "natural" issues that nothing can really be done about them unless you do something about it...i.e. earplugs, expecting sand, and knowing I am not getting a "Hollywood" room it was great and fully served it's purpose.

Room Tip: Had room 660. Good for Couples, had a microwave, 2 burner stovetop and dishes and such for 2 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    633
    440
    163
    130
See reviews for
440
509
118
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Overall the hotel was amazing. It has a laundry, fitness center, pool and pool bar. Our lanai was really small. No room for a chair to sit outside but it was nice to be able to stand out on and watch the busy Kuhio street. The only thing this hotel doesn't have is in room wifi. They do however have wifi in the lobby and wired Internet service in your room. Another perk they have is free pink line trolley rides (which are $2 per person one way) when you show your ohana west key card. Each key card allows 2 people to ride for free. It's right in the middle of everything and really close to the beach. They give you pool towels to use which is great. My only complaint is that their elevators are so tiny! We took our 3 month old daughter and waiting for an elevator when we went to the pool that would take us to our floor took about 10-15 minutes because our stroller wouldn't fit. Just keep that in mind if traveling with small children.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I have stay at this hotel before and its been around seven years and that time the hotel was clean and a nice place to stay. This time the hotel was rundown and my room had a trouble musty order and the wall to my front door had water damage and the door had chucks off of it. This hotel is in need of major repairs. I will not stay here again . I usually do not write reviews but I had to on this one. I stayed Sept, 10 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Centrally located, clean rooms, Wi-Fi, reasonable rates are the pluses. Very slow elevators, noisy all night long, no thermostat on air conditioning i.e. off, low, medium, high. Between the street noises and the air conditioning, it was very difficult to get a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: don't set high expectations on sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

If you're on a budget this is value for money, nothing to complain about. Central location. Clean and in good working order. A useful kitchenette. Clean pool. Loved the international market place across the street. Make sure you eat at the Cheesecake Factory and shop at Ross Dress for Less.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Fantastic location. The staff are overall helpful and friendly. But we did not appreciate getting accosted by the guy behind the desk trying to sell us a dinner deal. He would not give up so we just walked away in the end. That sort of thing usually happens outside on the footpath but not in your hotel lobby. This hotel is old and needs a revamp. The bathrooms as much as they try and keep them clean, around the shower was grotty .Wallpaper was coming away from the wall and you could see black mould under the wallpaper. And there was that horrible musty smell in the shower area.The toilet seat was also cracked and stained.There was only paper cups to drink water or wine out of, so had to go out and buy a couple of wine glasses. On the positive side the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.. Would we stay there again NO. Only if they revamped the bathrooms. Oh and the lifts were slow and dodgy.

Room Tip: The rooms are large and quiet and the location is great. But the bathrooms are alot to be desired. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great Hotel you get what you paid for. Cheap accommodation with only minutes from the beach. The noise from the country and western bar on the property went till about 4am on sat and sun (well the noise did). My wife could not sleep we were going to go somewhere else but from mon to thurs great no noise. They should close this pub down and they would have an excellent Hotel. Clean room NO BED BUGS well not in our room anyway. Staff at desk were always helpful. Don't forget pay top dollar, expect top Hotel, pay low dollar then expect a lower level of Hotel!

Room Tip: We had room 739 good size room out looking the street with a far away view of the water.Oh and those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohana Waikiki West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki West

Address: 2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki West 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ohana Waikiki West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki West Honolulu
Ohana West Hotel
Ohana Waikiki West Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.