We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ohana Waikiki West to your Saves list
Ohana Waikiki West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Paid over $200 night because it was a really busy weekend in town and not much else was available. It was worth maybe about $40 a night. Room was old and musty, stains on carpet, tiny bathroom. Ridiculously slow elevators when it was busy. The underground parking for $25 a night was not that bad though. I live in hotels and having to actually pay that much money for this place was downright painful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha Chris h,

We would like to thank you for your most recent stay with us at the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel. We do apologize we did not meet your standards based on the rate you paid. As you mentioned, it was a busy weekend and we apologize the rate was higher than you wanted it to be.
While management has plans to renovate, it will not be for another couple of years. We are hopeful you will consider staying with us at that time.
Thank you for your review and apologize again we were not able to meet your expectations.
Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    666
    479
    185
    140
See reviews for
472
542
138
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked our Waikiki stay at the Ohana Waikiki West because of the relatively inexpensive rates compared to most of the other hotels in Waikiki and also because of the decent reviews of this property. The biggest issue we had was that the hotel was somewhat run down and in need of updating (e.g., carpet, furniture, bathroom fixtures, etc.). However, the bed was clean and comfortable, and the TV was a decent sized flat panel. One perk we found handy was that the Waikiki Trolley Pink Line is free for Ohana guests, which made it easy to get to the Ala Moana Shopping Center without the need to rent a car or ride the public bus. This hotel is several blocks from the beach, so if being close to the beach is a priority, I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha greenhp,

Thank you for taking the time to review the OHANA Waikiki West hotel after your most recent stay with us. Both the staff and management would like to thank you for the score and honest review of the hotel.
In addressing the decor, as mentioned in previous replies, management is aware of the need to update and so they have scheduled to renovate in a couple years. This will address the concerns you mentioned in your review.
In the meantime, we are pleased to hear you did enjoy your stay and the complimentary amenities offered were enjoyed.
We are hopeful you will consider us again on your next visit to Hawaii!
Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was our first time in Hawaii and everything went as we expected, the location is very convenient to everything. The only problem was we had a balcony that was very narrow and impossible to have an outdoor furniture.
We are book again this year and this time with the family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha Rene1950,

On behalf of the staff and management of the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent visit! We are also appreciative of the score and review you provided.
We are glad to hear everything went to your liking. We do apologize however your balcony was a bit narrow and you could not have outdoor furniture. Please advise management of this concern while you are here and we will be more than happy to locate a room with a bigger lanai for you.
For your next visit with your family, please contact the hotel directly after your reservation has been booked. You can then advise us of the requests you have and we will do our best to ensure those requests are met.
Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am booked to stay here this spring. I read these reviews and they were decent. I booked the vacation, then I read reviews on Yelp. No I am considering changing hotels. The main complaints were 1.rude staff, especially concierges pushing timeshares non stop. 2.dirty room including complaints of cockroaches. 3. Uncomfortable beds. 4. Extremely inadequate parking with full lots even after you paid, leaving you with no where to park. 5. Lots of noisy drunk guests. 6. Extremely slow or broken elevators. 7. Non functioning a/c units.

I repeat that I haven't personally experienced any of these things and am hopeful that I won't.

My question is what has been dine to fix these problems? And if I experience these problems will I be helped.

Please respond, your assurances or lack there of may determine if I visit.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha travelagent0390,

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns from the reviews from various travel websites. Please rest assured, both staff and management are working hard to resolve these issues.
1. Overall, our staff at the OHANA Waikiki West hotel are very pleasant and helpful. There is a difference between the concierge and timeshare, however this is not a problem. There may be one incident among many, however these issues are addressed immediately. As a manager on duty, we communicate all concerns to respective mangers to have issues addressed and this has gotten better.
2. Our Housekeeping department strives to ensure a clean room for all of our guests. Every concern we receive, we do advise the respective departments. So concerns about Housekeeping are addressed as they come up and are resolved quickly.
3. This is based on each guest. If the bed is too hard, we do have pillow toppers Housekeeping can put on the beds to make softer.
4. We do have two levels of parking and it is on a first come, first serve basis. However if there is no parking in our garage, parking will direct them to either the OHANA East hotel, which is across the street or the Waikiki Trade Center. Both parking lots will honor the parking rate of our hotel.
5. Depending on which category you have, the noisy drunk guests you mentioned are on Kuhio street, where there are bars open until 4:00am. If you do have a concern, please contact the hotel directly and we can accommodate you the best we can to provide a quiet room.
6. The elevators are a bit slow depending on the time of the day. Unfortunately there are only 3 elevators and when the occupancy is high, it takes no more than 3 minutes to get on the elevator. Based on some customer reviews, it is not as long as most people think.
7. This is a rarity and if this issue does occur, Management does its best to locate another room comparable or better to what is currently occupied and most times the air conditioner is repaired the same day.

After reading the reviews on these websites and understanding guests' concerns, management does everything it can to ensure our guests are satisfied. Should you have any additional concerns, please contact the hotel directly and we will work to alleviate your concerns. To answer your final question, YES if these concerns do arise, management will assist you!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked here because I wanted interconnecting rooms and a kitchen, both of which are difficult to find in waikiki. Yes, it is a little outdated but it was clean and well maintained. The location is excellent for beach and shops and having the free pink trolley stop right outside is a bonus. All staff were helpful and friendly (especially Brian on reception).. The only complaint is that the lifts are extremely slow so we often walked the 8 flights of stairs. I would book here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Aloha Mysterymouse,

It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for selecting the OHANA Waikiki West hotel on your most recent visit. Both staff and management are pleased to hear we were able to meet your expectations!
We would like to apologize about the decor of the room and the slow elevators. As mentioned in previous reviews, management is aware of these concerns and have plans to renovate in a couple years to address these issues.
Management would like to thank you for recognizing our associate Brian! We will recognize him for a job well done!
We thank you again for staying at the OHANA Waikiki West hotel and look forward to welcoming you back. Please contact the hotel directly once your reservation is made so we may better assist you!
Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has only 3 elevators and they are always packed...if you have an iPad and you want to send email etc you have to go to the lobby to access the free Internet ..and wait for the elevator ..again.We could hear everything in the next room from the coughing to the talking...not pleasant. The decor is very old and dated but the housekeeping staff were great ...it is overpriced for what you get and is ready for a complete makeover!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha flinFlon43,

Thank you for your most recent stay at the OHANA Waikiki West hotel. After reading your review, management would like to extend our sincere apologies we were not able to meet your expectations.
Management is aware of some of the concerns you mentioned and have them listed as part of the renovations planned in a couple years. It will address the decor of the room and update some of the technology as well. Though it is a couple years off, it is something to look forward to.
We are glad to hear though that our Housekeeping staff met your expectations!
We are hopeful to welcome you back!
Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel could do with a spruce up, however it was clean and well equiped, well situated in Honolulu, close to the markets, beaches, bus route and many restaurants in the locale.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, when we arrived we had a leaking airconditioning unit within 10 mins we had someone from maintenance fix the problem.
The only issue I had was the shower in one of the rooms it was very difficult to access.
I would stay there again just for the convenient position of the hotel and the reasonable price, offer everything I wanted a lovely pool, access to public transport and lovely, helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Penthouse rooms, great size, clean we faced out on the Kuhio Road side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Aloha Ana S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the OHANA Waikiki West hotel. Both staff and management are appreciative of your patronage, review, and score of the hotel.
As mentioned in previous replies, management is aware of the decor of the hotel and renovations are planned in a couple years. We are pleased to hear our staff were friendly and helpful regarding your air conditioner. We do apologize you had to experience this, but glad to know our staff responded in a timely manner to assist.
Unfortunately, we are not able to adjust the size of the shower, however if we are able to welcome you back in the future, we will do our best to find a more suitable one to your liking.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohana Waikiki West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki West

Address: 2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki West 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ohana Waikiki West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki West Honolulu
Ohana West Hotel
Ohana Waikiki West Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.