We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great price , great location !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ohana Waikiki West to your Saves list
Ohana Waikiki West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place, great price , great location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late December. The location is within walking distance of everything we needed. We had a two room suite with a kitchenette which we liked but didn't use much. Quiet yet downtown . Close to restaurants. Close to the beach. We rented a car for one day, and the rental place was within walking distance. Perfect for our needs for a family group of six.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha teenk,

Thank you for your review and generous rating for the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel. We are appreciative of your review, but more appreciative of your patronage to the hotel.

Our 2 bedroom suites are our best category and so to hear you enjoyed your stay is appreciated.

We are hopeful you will consider us again for a future visit to Hawaii. Should you have any questions, please feel free to call the hotel.

Mahalo,
OHANA WaikikI West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    639
    449
    167
    137
See reviews for
448
520
121
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our recent layover in Hawaii. The hotel was not very fancy, but the location is good and it's a reasonably good value. The hotel sits about three blocks from the shoreline and is close to quite a bit of shopping. As others have mentioned, the hotel is dated, with a small lobby. However, the bed was very comfortable, the shower had good pressure and there was a refrigerator, safe, and microwave in the room.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha Kuznitz2,

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the staff and management, we are appreciative you selected to stay with us and we were able to meet your needs.

As other travelers have stated, we have a great location and are reasonably priced. We understand your concern the room is dated, however management is looking to renovate in the next couple years.

We look froward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Ohana Waikiki West for 2 days in November 2012 prior to our 7 day cruise to some of the other Hawaiian Islands. On the plus side, this hotel is located in the center of things in Waikiki. It is across the street from the back side of the International Market Place, there is a full service grocery store across the street where you can also get deli items, and is generally a good location. Our room also had a kitchenette with a small refrigerator that was handy. It also had a balcony, but the view was nothing to write home about. Still, it was nice to have the balcony. There is also a free shuttle to the Ala Moana shopping center (just show your room key). There is wireless internet available in the lobby, but it was not available in our room. However, the hotel is showing it's age. Don't expect a 1st class room at these prices.

Our purpose was to find a relatively inexpensive hotel to stay at for a couple of days prior to our cruise and this hotel did fill that need. We were satisfied with our choice but then we weren't expecting a lot. After our cruise we stayed for several days in an ocean front room at a hotel on the beach that was much nicer, but then it was also a lot more expensive. It's a case of getting what you pay for.

If you are looking for a less expensive place to stay in Waikiki, this hotel might work for you. Just don't expect the same type of accommodations you will find at the nicer hotels. As I said it is showing it's age.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha Howard M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel. The staff and management are appreciative of review and of the score you rated.

We do agree we have a great location and as you mentioned, we are a budget hotel and strive for the best service possible. We apologize the rooms were not up to your standard, however be assured management is looking to renovate the hotel in the next couple years.

We are hopeful you will consider us again should you ever return to Hawaii. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at Ohana West over Christmas in a room with a kitchenette. The fridge was very handy but we didn't use any of the rest of the kitchen. The first room we were in smelled very mouldy and the front desk quickly and easily moved us to a new room. The rooms are a bit run down and two other rooms we visited smelled a bit mouldy too. The balcony was nice but the view wasn't very good of the buildings across the alley. The hotel is very central and close to everything you need. The grocery store is across the street and the Pink Line and Hilo Hatties shuttles stop right out front. There is wireless in the lobby which can get very crowded with people on their phones and skype. There is lots of storage in the rooms which was nice. This hotel was good for our needs - a large group needing fridges and close to all needs in Waikiki but next time we go as a couple will stay somewhere a bit nicer.

Room Tip: ask for a lower floor so you have the option of taking the stairs up, the elevators are very slow ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha travelsalot35,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and score the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel on tripadvisor. The staff and management would also like to thank you for staying with us during the Christmas holidays.

We would like to apologize for the condition of the rooms and for your encounter upon check in. Our Housekeeping department strives to present the best product to our guests and we apologize we missed this. We are happy however our Front Desk staff was able to accommodate you and move you to another room immediately. Please be advised the OHANA Waikiki West hotel has planned to have renovations done in the next couple of years.

We are sorry to hear we will not be able to welcome you back here as a couple, however should there be a need again as a group, please consider us.

Thank you again for your time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Ohana Waikiki West, is in an Amazing Location in Honolulu!!

it is Rather Large, & Very Busy, but the Rooms are In Traditional Hawaiian Style, & are equipped with Microwaves Etc, so Great For Families, the Rooms lead off Different Corridors, some on a Main Floor, some on an External Landing.

Staff are Nice!

A Great Hotel for those on a Bit of a Budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Aloha Bruno 57,

The staff and management would like to thank you for the positive comments and score you gave the OHANA Waikiki West hotel! We are appreciative of your business and glad we were able to meet your expectations.

Based on your comments, it seems you had a kitchenette room, which does come equipped with a microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, and two burner stove top. And yes we have to agree we have a GREAT location!

Thank you also for complimenting our staff! We are always pleased to hear when they assist our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our first time to Hawaii. We followed recommendations by some close friends, who insisted that we stay at Ohana Waikiki West, and we were not disappointed! We went as a family of five and booked adjoining rooms. Our stay was very comfortable, all our needs were met. Service was delightful. Internet was accessible via hard connection in the room and good wifi in the lobby. We didn't need to hire transport thanks to the free trolley service right outside the main entrance. Waikiki beach was literally a 5-minute walk away. Being australians we couldn't be bothered trying to work out how to work the percolated coffee machine, but thankfully Denny's was across the road, and a Food Pantry grocery store (including a coffee store) across the other adjoining road, and a Starbucks one minute in the other direction!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Aloha tvalotu64,

The staff and management would like to extend our sincere gratitude for selecting the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel for your first time to Hawaii! We are very appreciative for the positive review you provided here on Tripadvisor as well.

We are pleased to hear everything went well for you and you were able to enjoy the free internet, both in the room and lobby, along with the free trolley.

Thank you again for staying at the OHANA Waikiki West hotel and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again!

Mahalo,
OHANA WaikikI West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, Auckland New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My first trip to Hawaii was over the 2011/12 New Year perio. I stayed for 10 nights in a kitchenette room. Having the fridge and kitchen area made it easy to make a cup of tea/coffee. Although it took a bit of working out how to boil the hot water without a jug the Coffee maker became an adequate subsitute.
The location of the hotel is excellent with just a short stroll to the beach, main shops, restaurants etc and if you want to have a takeaway there is Chinese across the road, KFC and McDonalds or Dennys straight opposite.
The staff at the excersions/sightseeing desk were very helpful in assisting with trips to Waikele Outlet mall and The Polynesian Cultural Centre. The Aloha Bus stops right outside the front door and they are an inexpensive way to travel to Pearl harbour.
Never managed to avail myself of the Pink Line Trolley because it was always very packed.
I found the staff at the hotel helpful and professional especially the concierge/bellman.
My 2nd visit was for 10 days in October 2012. I found the hotel less crowded at the start of october which meant the lifts weren't as much of a problem as they were in january......but as I say i am on holiday so whats the rush if i have to wait for a lift.
The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The shower was hot and powerful and the maid for our floor(Floor 15) was friendly, cheerful and cosiderate, a credit to the mangement.
Having stayed in many hotels across the world, in different categories, I would certaInly recommend OHANA WAIKIKI WEST for its location, Value for money, Staff and security.

Room Tip: Choose a Kitchenette room even if you do not wish to cook it provides flexiblity for breakfasts (cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Aloha PeterA708,

The staff and management of the OHANA Waikiki West hotel would first like to thank you for the continued patronage of our hotel. We are appreciative of the return visits! We would also like to thank you for the review of the hotel and the rating you have given.

We would like to advise you that Housekeeping can provide you with an electric kettle if you need to boil some water for your coffee or tea. Otherwise, as you mentioned the coffee pot is a suitable alternative.

Thank you for acknowledging the great service you received at Concierge and Bell Staff. We will let our staff know!

We look forward to your third visit back to the OHANA Waikiki West hotel and should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to speak to one of the managers.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohana Waikiki West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki West

Address: 2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki West 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ohana Waikiki West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki West Honolulu
Ohana West Hotel
Ohana Waikiki West Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.