We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Tourist Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki West

Save Saved
You added Ohana Waikiki West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohana Waikiki West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #66 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Tourist Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Ohana Waikiki West, is in an Amazing Location in Honolulu!!

it is Rather Large, & Very Busy, but the Rooms are In Traditional Hawaiian Style, & are equipped with Microwaves Etc, so Great For Families, the Rooms lead off Different Corridors, some on a Main Floor, some on an External Landing.

Staff are Nice!

A Great Hotel for those on a Bit of a Budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Aloha Bruno 57,

The staff and management would like to thank you for the positive comments and score you gave the OHANA Waikiki West hotel! We are appreciative of your business and glad we were able to meet your expectations.

Based on your comments, it seems you had a kitchenette room, which does come equipped with a microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, and two burner stove top. And yes we have to agree we have a GREAT location!

Thank you also for complimenting our staff! We are always pleased to hear when they assist our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    594
    400
    142
    115
See reviews for
408
465
106
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our first time to Hawaii. We followed recommendations by some close friends, who insisted that we stay at Ohana Waikiki West, and we were not disappointed! We went as a family of five and booked adjoining rooms. Our stay was very comfortable, all our needs were met. Service was delightful. Internet was accessible via hard connection in the room and good wifi in the lobby. We didn't need to hire transport thanks to the free trolley service right outside the main entrance. Waikiki beach was literally a 5-minute walk away. Being australians we couldn't be bothered trying to work out how to work the percolated coffee machine, but thankfully Denny's was across the road, and a Food Pantry grocery store (including a coffee store) across the other adjoining road, and a Starbucks one minute in the other direction!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Aloha tvalotu64,

The staff and management would like to extend our sincere gratitude for selecting the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel for your first time to Hawaii! We are very appreciative for the positive review you provided here on Tripadvisor as well.

We are pleased to hear everything went well for you and you were able to enjoy the free internet, both in the room and lobby, along with the free trolley.

Thank you again for staying at the OHANA Waikiki West hotel and look forward to welcoming you and your family back again!

Mahalo,
OHANA WaikikI West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papakura, Auckland New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My first trip to Hawaii was over the 2011/12 New Year perio. I stayed for 10 nights in a kitchenette room. Having the fridge and kitchen area made it easy to make a cup of tea/coffee. Although it took a bit of working out how to boil the hot water without a jug the Coffee maker became an adequate subsitute.
The location of the hotel is excellent with just a short stroll to the beach, main shops, restaurants etc and if you want to have a takeaway there is Chinese across the road, KFC and McDonalds or Dennys straight opposite.
The staff at the excersions/sightseeing desk were very helpful in assisting with trips to Waikele Outlet mall and The Polynesian Cultural Centre. The Aloha Bus stops right outside the front door and they are an inexpensive way to travel to Pearl harbour.
Never managed to avail myself of the Pink Line Trolley because it was always very packed.
I found the staff at the hotel helpful and professional especially the concierge/bellman.
My 2nd visit was for 10 days in October 2012. I found the hotel less crowded at the start of october which meant the lifts weren't as much of a problem as they were in january......but as I say i am on holiday so whats the rush if i have to wait for a lift.
The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The shower was hot and powerful and the maid for our floor(Floor 15) was friendly, cheerful and cosiderate, a credit to the mangement.
Having stayed in many hotels across the world, in different categories, I would certaInly recommend OHANA WAIKIKI WEST for its location, Value for money, Staff and security.

Room Tip: Choose a Kitchenette room even if you do not wish to cook it provides flexiblity for breakfasts (cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Aloha PeterA708,

The staff and management of the OHANA Waikiki West hotel would first like to thank you for the continued patronage of our hotel. We are appreciative of the return visits! We would also like to thank you for the review of the hotel and the rating you have given.

We would like to advise you that Housekeeping can provide you with an electric kettle if you need to boil some water for your coffee or tea. Otherwise, as you mentioned the coffee pot is a suitable alternative.

Thank you for acknowledging the great service you received at Concierge and Bell Staff. We will let our staff know!

We look forward to your third visit back to the OHANA Waikiki West hotel and should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to speak to one of the managers.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff, great pool bar, great western bar underneath, restaurants handy, supermarket across the road, what more could you want? We stayed for a week and would have loved to stay longer. there's a transport pick-up area beside the hotel which is very convenient for tours etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Aloha patnsandy!

We would like to extend our sincere gratitude for the positive review of the OHANA WaikikI West hotel on your most recent visit. The staff and management are appreciative of your decision to stay with us.

Based on the comments and score you bestowed on us, it seems you enjoyed your time here in Hawaii! As it was mentioned earlier by other guests, we have a great location to fit any traveler looking to be in the heart of it all! THank you for posting your review!

We are hopeful we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was my family's first time in Honolulu - this hotel is in the perfect spot, it is about 1 city block off the main strip, just down the street from the International Marketplace (the best and cheapest place to get Hawaiian swag) and close to restaurants...but most importantly, it is 1 city block from Waikiki beach. Only drawback from this hotel is that the lobby area is always busy and packed and the elevators are slow as molasses..great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Makennaean,

The staff and management of the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel would like to extend its gratitude and appreciation for the great review and score.

We do agree our location is a great asset, but hope there were other aspects of your stay which you enjoyed.

Management is aware of the elevator concern and are looking at options for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your family!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

You get what you pay for - if you want a beach front waikiki hotel then pay top dollar.

This hotel is clean and comfortable - yes its dated but really how often are you in your hotel room while on holidays? We stayed 3 weeks here in july/aug 2012 and loved it. great location with starbucks, chillis and a supermarket all in stones throw.

Pool area is fine and clean, but get down early for a good seat. there is a bar on pool floor which is a little over priced.

Showing your hotel room key to the pink trolley where a stop is right out the front gets you on for free.

I would stay here again no questions asked, only bad comment i can make is wifi is only avail in lobby and level 2 which is annoying.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher level away from street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Aloha Becky-Lee8,

Thank you for choosing to write a review of the OHANA WaikikI West Hotel. On behalf of the staff and management of the hotel, we are appreciative of the review and the score you rated us.

We are pleased to hear your room met your standards. Our Housekeeping Department works hard to ensure the rooms are clean and comfortable. And yes, our location is a great asset!

Thank you for advising us about the wi-fi concern and management is looking into adding it to the rooms when the hotel is renovated in a couple years. The OHANA WaikikI West Hotel is aware of the technological advances and needs of our guests.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay at the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel and hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location, could do with a revamp, as is tired now. Has a pool but is cold in winter as not heated. The lifts take a lot of patience, the pool bar is ok but dont try to take your own drinks there as u will get a slapped wrist lol

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Glyder69,

Thank you for taking the time to review the OHANA Waikiki West hotel during your most recent visit. Both management and staff would like to thank you for staying with us.

We apologize there were some concerns with the hotel and wanted to let you know about projects in the works. Management and ownership is aware of renovation and plans are being discussed to renovate in a couple years. They are also looking at options for the elevators as there have been numerous concerns.

We also apologize for the inconvenience caused by having your own drinks at the pool area, however it is to monitor the safety of our guests. The OHANA Waikiki West hotel would just like to have a safe environment for all of our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the OHANA WaikikI West hotel.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohana Waikiki West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki West

Address: 2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ohana Waikiki West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki West Honolulu
Ohana West Hotel
Ohana Waikiki West Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.