We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed twice and am planning a Third” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ohana Waikiki West to your Saves list
Ohana Waikiki West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Papakura, Auckland New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Have stayed twice and am planning a Third”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My first trip to Hawaii was over the 2011/12 New Year perio. I stayed for 10 nights in a kitchenette room. Having the fridge and kitchen area made it easy to make a cup of tea/coffee. Although it took a bit of working out how to boil the hot water without a jug the Coffee maker became an adequate subsitute.
The location of the hotel is excellent with just a short stroll to the beach, main shops, restaurants etc and if you want to have a takeaway there is Chinese across the road, KFC and McDonalds or Dennys straight opposite.
The staff at the excersions/sightseeing desk were very helpful in assisting with trips to Waikele Outlet mall and The Polynesian Cultural Centre. The Aloha Bus stops right outside the front door and they are an inexpensive way to travel to Pearl harbour.
Never managed to avail myself of the Pink Line Trolley because it was always very packed.
I found the staff at the hotel helpful and professional especially the concierge/bellman.
My 2nd visit was for 10 days in October 2012. I found the hotel less crowded at the start of october which meant the lifts weren't as much of a problem as they were in january......but as I say i am on holiday so whats the rush if i have to wait for a lift.
The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The shower was hot and powerful and the maid for our floor(Floor 15) was friendly, cheerful and cosiderate, a credit to the mangement.
Having stayed in many hotels across the world, in different categories, I would certaInly recommend OHANA WAIKIKI WEST for its location, Value for money, Staff and security.

Room Tip: Choose a Kitchenette room even if you do not wish to cook it provides flexiblity for breakfasts (cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Aloha PeterA708,

The staff and management of the OHANA Waikiki West hotel would first like to thank you for the continued patronage of our hotel. We are appreciative of the return visits! We would also like to thank you for the review of the hotel and the rating you have given.

We would like to advise you that Housekeeping can provide you with an electric kettle if you need to boil some water for your coffee or tea. Otherwise, as you mentioned the coffee pot is a suitable alternative.

Thank you for acknowledging the great service you received at Concierge and Bell Staff. We will let our staff know!

We look forward to your third visit back to the OHANA Waikiki West hotel and should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to speak to one of the managers.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    625
    431
    160
    126
See reviews for
433
495
116
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff, great pool bar, great western bar underneath, restaurants handy, supermarket across the road, what more could you want? We stayed for a week and would have loved to stay longer. there's a transport pick-up area beside the hotel which is very convenient for tours etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Aloha patnsandy!

We would like to extend our sincere gratitude for the positive review of the OHANA WaikikI West hotel on your most recent visit. The staff and management are appreciative of your decision to stay with us.

Based on the comments and score you bestowed on us, it seems you enjoyed your time here in Hawaii! As it was mentioned earlier by other guests, we have a great location to fit any traveler looking to be in the heart of it all! THank you for posting your review!

We are hopeful we will be able to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It was my family's first time in Honolulu - this hotel is in the perfect spot, it is about 1 city block off the main strip, just down the street from the International Marketplace (the best and cheapest place to get Hawaiian swag) and close to restaurants...but most importantly, it is 1 city block from Waikiki beach. Only drawback from this hotel is that the lobby area is always busy and packed and the elevators are slow as molasses..great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Makennaean,

The staff and management of the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel would like to extend its gratitude and appreciation for the great review and score.

We do agree our location is a great asset, but hope there were other aspects of your stay which you enjoyed.

Management is aware of the elevator concern and are looking at options for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your family!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

You get what you pay for - if you want a beach front waikiki hotel then pay top dollar.

This hotel is clean and comfortable - yes its dated but really how often are you in your hotel room while on holidays? We stayed 3 weeks here in july/aug 2012 and loved it. great location with starbucks, chillis and a supermarket all in stones throw.

Pool area is fine and clean, but get down early for a good seat. there is a bar on pool floor which is a little over priced.

Showing your hotel room key to the pink trolley where a stop is right out the front gets you on for free.

I would stay here again no questions asked, only bad comment i can make is wifi is only avail in lobby and level 2 which is annoying.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher level away from street traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Aloha Becky-Lee8,

Thank you for choosing to write a review of the OHANA WaikikI West Hotel. On behalf of the staff and management of the hotel, we are appreciative of the review and the score you rated us.

We are pleased to hear your room met your standards. Our Housekeeping Department works hard to ensure the rooms are clean and comfortable. And yes, our location is a great asset!

Thank you for advising us about the wi-fi concern and management is looking into adding it to the rooms when the hotel is renovated in a couple years. The OHANA WaikikI West Hotel is aware of the technological advances and needs of our guests.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay at the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel and hope to welcome you back soon!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location, could do with a revamp, as is tired now. Has a pool but is cold in winter as not heated. The lifts take a lot of patience, the pool bar is ok but dont try to take your own drinks there as u will get a slapped wrist lol

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Aloha Glyder69,

Thank you for taking the time to review the OHANA Waikiki West hotel during your most recent visit. Both management and staff would like to thank you for staying with us.

We apologize there were some concerns with the hotel and wanted to let you know about projects in the works. Management and ownership is aware of renovation and plans are being discussed to renovate in a couple years. They are also looking at options for the elevators as there have been numerous concerns.

We also apologize for the inconvenience caused by having your own drinks at the pool area, however it is to monitor the safety of our guests. The OHANA Waikiki West hotel would just like to have a safe environment for all of our guests.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the OHANA WaikikI West hotel.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed 10 nights in this hotel as part of a flight/accommodation deal. It was a budget option and was reasonable although desperately in need of a refurb. Our room was on the fifth floor and overlooked the next hotel but we had no expectation of ocean views so that was okay. It was reasonably quiet and we really didn't hear any pool or traffic noise. The location was good and by staying in an Ohana property we had free access to the pink shuttle line which runs regularly all around Waikiki and out to Ala Moana Shopping Centre. Just a block or so from the beach, and with a Chilli's underneath the hotel, we felt it was well positioned. Our biggest issue was the lifts. There was one lift out of service while we were there and at times we waited so long we decided to use the stairs... 15 mins is too long to wait for lift access! Beds were comfy and clean, bathroom was old but clean, fridge was old but clean. Kitchenette room was well worth the additional $15 per night. This is our fourth trip to Waikiki and we'd probably rate this as the second best budget property we have stayed in... Aqua Bamboo was the best so far!

Room Tip: Spend the additional $15 on a kitchenette room... they're larger, include a small table and chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Aloha wilsoncm65,

Thank you for taking the time to review the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel. On behalf of the management and staff, we appreciate your patronage.

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We understand your concern regarding refurbishment and these comments along with others similar to yours have been advised to the management company and owners. There is a schedule renovation of the hotel a couple years from now and so plans are in place.

We agree that our biggest asset is our location and as you mentioned and others discover, we are centrally located to shops, restaurants, the supermarket, and walking distance to the beach. We apologize about the delay in our elevators and this is also has been addressed with management.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you again for your comments and score.

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location - beach about 2 blocks away lots of restaurants and shopping close by - pool was freezing - ocean was warmer and that was in December !! - room was run down - tiles cracked in bathroom - fridge rusty on the outside, decor really outdated, but the amenities like passes on the pink like trolley, and having a kitchen (no oven) and the location made up for a lot of misses here - we booked 4 rooms with kitchens over Christmas and they put us in 3 rooms on one floor and one 5 floors higher - made visiting awkward but doable with very slow elevators - We probably will not stay there again - it just needs to be completely re done - two rooms across the hall checked in at 4:21 am one morning and talked loudly outside our door for a long time - not enough noise insulation - water pressure good - bed ok -no view - just looked at parking lot and roof of next building - I am sure we can do better value wise - I have photos that I am tempted to send in to the booking company

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaWestManager, Manager at Ohana Waikiki West, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Aloha toffee22,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us at the OHANA Waikiki West Hotel. We also would like to thank you for your comments and score.

We would like to apologize we were not able to meet your expectations. Management is aware of guests' comments about renovation and have plans to renovate in a couple years.

In regards to the rooms being on different floors, we do try to accommodate all requests and unfortunately we were not able to place all 4 rooms on the same floor. We also apologize for the noise you encountered early in the morning. If we were contacted, Security could have been sent to address this concern of yours, as we are aware of our other guests in the hotel.

Though you mentioned you will not stay with us again, we are hopeul you will consider us again in the future after we renovate. Thank you again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,
OHANA Waikiki West Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohana Waikiki West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki West

Address: 2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki West 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ohana Waikiki West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki West Honolulu
Ohana West Hotel
Ohana Waikiki West Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.