We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, short walk to Waikiki beach with a reasonable price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki West

Save Saved
You added Ohana Waikiki West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohana Waikiki West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #66 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great location, short walk to Waikiki beach with a reasonable price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is older and needs updating, rooms are small as are the bathrooms which have only showers in them. The bathroom is in need of a good cleaning on the outside of the shower, it is rusty and just looks like it needs cleaning, the inside of the shower looked cleaner. The bed and bedding was clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. This hotel offers wired internet in the rooms and free wifi in their lobby, which was helpful in researching and planning tours. There is a food pantry grocery store/liqour store across the street...very handy. Also the market is very near. Just a short walk to the beach. We didn't mind stay here as the room rates are very reasonable, plus we were out all day touring and in the evening we were out watching the sunset on the beach, shopping and eating at wonderful cafes etc. Also another plus, free phone calls in the city, plus 15 minutes free long distance a day. It is not large or fancy, but it doesn't have a large price tag either. You get what you pay for. In general the room was clean, the bed was very clean, sheets smelled nice. They need to change the showers and get rid of the rust etc.!!!

Room Tip: rooms off the street are quieter, but no real view. Don't stay on the side of hotel where the N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    593
    400
    142
    114
See reviews for
408
464
105
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

My travel agent recommended Ohana Waikiki West as it was cheap, clean and practical. When we arrived despite that we were early, they greeted us warmly and had our room ready for us. We had a standard home, it was a little old looking and required some maintenance, but nevertheless it was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, from the front desk staff the cleaners. I would recommend anyone that required somewhere to sleep and shower to book with this crowd.
Well done staff....

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I really enjoyed evey aspect of staying at this hotel for 7 nights, except for the fact that we stayed in room 1049 which was right next to the 3 elevators which went constantly all through the night. Thankfully there was no "ding" sound as the elevator arrived at each floor, but the sound of the hydraulics was very loud and really annoying. You could even hear it over the TV! We mentioned it to management but they weren't prepared/able to assist in any way. Such a shame as even though it's slightly dated, the hotel has excellent facilities and is clean and tidy. Great value for money. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are large (particularly the kitchenette rooms) hot water is instant and good pressure, plus the fairly standard offerings of a coin laundry, ice machines, free WiFi, central location, free bus around Waikiki. This all makes for this hotel being an excellent choice. JUST DON'T GET A ROOM NEAR THE ELEVATORS!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our checking process went very smoothly and our room ready was ready upon our arrival, without any waiting. The staff were all very friendly and told us about the activities that were available, plus gave us a map for Waikiki attractions. We had a nice view of the beach area and this property was close to the International Market and the Kings Court Village, which has some really quaint shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Before we arrived in Hawaii I emailed the hotel to request for adjacent or connecting rooms and an early check in. I received a prompt and favorable reply the same day I sent the email. We stayed from Oct 27 to Nov 1. The Filipina lady who checked us in was very warm and welcoming.
We had 2 kitchenette rooms with a balcony. They were a little small but had 2 double beds and the kitchen was really functional with a 2-burner stove, microwave oven,ref, small pot, small frying pan and all basic kitchen stuff. The bathroom was alright too.
The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's very near the public bus stop and it is where the pink line trolley stops. The hotel key card gives you free pink trolley ride to Ala Moana Shopping Center and back. It's also very near the beach.
Yes this is an old hotel but we didn't mind. We were after the location anyway. We even had a bonus - the staff who work here are all nice!
We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Really happy with our 9 nights at the ohana west. We stayed in a city view kitchenette (cooktop, microwave, fridge, toaster etc)

Pros- Location. Location, Location, beach/eating/shopping/transport/
supermarket! Pool area/bar, shower pressure (15th floor), free wifi in lobby.

Cons, slow elevators, annoying timeshare guy in lobby, pidgeons on pool deck, crap kettle

Look there are many better options in wailiki, this is a basic 3 star hotel but it does what it needs to, its clean, well serviced, great staff and in a top location.

At first i was slightly disappointed but in hindsight i preferred to spend the $200 id saved per night on doing stuff, shopping, touring, eating & drinking while on vacation.

I recommend for couples, singles and both younger/older travellers. Families with smaller kids should probably avoid (however i saw a few around and they still seemed to be having a ball!)

Mahalo

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited this hotel on our latest trip to Hawaii. This was my third visit so I was not fussed with having to stay on the beach at Waikiki but now I wish that we had spent a little more and done so. This is a basic hotel that is one block back from the beach central to the International Marketplace and restaurants/bars. It shows visitors how commericalised a paradise like Hawaii has become compared to other tropical locations.
We stayed in a city view kitchenette room on the fifth floor. The traffic noise was minimal but we could hear the air conditioning unit from the supermarket across the road. The room decor is very green and the rooms are smaller than others we enjoyed on this trip. However, the room was serviced daily and adequately. I found the bed in the room to be too soft for my liking but this is just a personal preference. The bathroom is tiny with one of the smallest showers I have experienced in US hotels. There is no bench space in the bathroom just a small shelf for toiletries. The furnishings in the room could be updated to provide more space in the living area.
The pool area is attached to the hotel bar which for adult travellers was great but be aware that the bar hosts a pub crawl at least once a week so it closes for "private function" a bit earlier those nights. The pool itself is not great for younger kids as it was four foot deep one end and over five foot deep at the other end. The pool is kept clean at all times. There are also plenty of deck chairs to sit in around the pool to enjoy something to eat and drink from the bar but beware of the birds (pigeons) that are not shy at all and will walk all around underneath the chairs while you are trying to relax.
If this is your first time to Hawaii and you are travelling with kids I would suggest finding another hotel that has activities for the kids and has more of a resort feel. Other hotels have better child friendly pools that they may enjoy a bit more too.
However, Ohana does have the free pink trolley service which you can use to go to Ala Moana shopping mall saving you $2.50 per person each way.
The staff at the hotel are also accommodating and will assist you with any enquiries. The concierge desk seemed a bit more expensive for the deals that they were offering and would recommend you shop around if you plan on doing any cultural activities during your stay.
The location is handy to cheap eateries such as Chilli's and Dennys as well as the steak place inside the supermarket across the road. It is only a block back from the main strip and Waikiki beach. However, be mindful that at night time the area is not the best and you will hear lots of sirens through the night. After 10 pm there is a security guard patrolling the hotel due to problems that happen after dark with bar patrons roaming the streets.
Would recommend this hotel only to older travellers without kids or to singles who want to be close by the night life without having to go too far.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the side of the supermarket as the air conditioning unit is very loud. If the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohana Waikiki West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki West

Address: 2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki West 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ohana Waikiki West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki West Honolulu
Ohana West Hotel
Ohana Waikiki West Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.