We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ohana Waikiki West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ohana Waikiki West to your Saves list
Ohana Waikiki West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Orange County CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Affordable and great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed at the Ohana West before, it is just a block from the beach and near good shopping and restaurants. The accommodations are quite adequate, not fancy, but a good bed and clean room, nice bathroom, and refrigerator etc. i would stay here again. Good place to overnight for those going on the NCL cruise around the islands. We loved being able to walk over to the Outrigger for the Society of Seven show, great show.
Darla from California

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    666
    480
    185
    140
See reviews for
472
543
138
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The rooms are OK, and luckily had air conditioning. I stayed in a room towards the back of the motel so didn't get much of the noise that some of my friends staying at the front received. I agree with some of the other reviews ie. slow lifts. There is one bar in the motel and a nightclub/bar, immediately to your left as you walk out the motel onto Kuhio Ave, so you get a lot of patrons hanging around the front of the motel. There is a lot of action that can be seen from the balconys on the same side as Kuhio Ave ie. prostitutes, homeless people, fights, car accidents, arrests etc... there was even a police shoot out at the front of the motel. There were gang members in the motel who were able to wear their gang patches/insignia which quite surprised me. There is a supermarket directly across the road from the motel, and a diner called Dennys, where you can get fairly priced meals.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights while exploring the area. If staying here insist on a floor close to the top so you do not here the ranting all night long from the three pubs around the Hotel. The staff here are lovely and friendly, efficient cleaners and very safe. The lifts are very slow and often because the cleaners or bag staff have paused one of them while they are working.The streets are full of people who are mentally ill and homeless..then in the early hours of the mornings it is lined with prostitutes and lots of tourists during the day. We saw five arrests while there and some from our balcony. The beach seat areas are littered with smelly homeless people who have taken up residence and a beach that is crowded and dirty. Yuk. Only a handful of decent restaurants amongst the very bad, fatty,off food offerings. Do yourself a favour and stay at Maui or Kauaii. Much nicer.

Room Tip: Book at the top floors so you do not here the people all hours coming out of the pubs drunk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Ohana Waikiki West is good value hotel in the heart of Waikiki. The rooms are nothing fancy but are very comfortable. We stayed on the 15th floor in a city view room and found it to be very quiet. There is much comment on the slowness of the lifts but we didn't find it too bad. Certainly at peak times you may have to wait a minute or two but generally it was good (and you are on holidays so whats the rush?). The staff are friendly and helpful and has internet available in the rooms and free WIFI in the foyer.

The free use of the Pink Line Trolley at the door is great for getting around Waikiki and going to Ala Moana Mall.

Pool area is great for the kids and the bar is great for parents! The Food Pantry is handy for stocking up on drinks and breakfast foods (we had a kitchenette room) and Denny's was handy for a cheap meal (make sure you ask for the $2 $4 $6 $8 Menu - staff don't offer it to the tourists it appears!)

Close to the beach, shopping, tours and anything you need. Great value in Hawaii - we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at the Ohana West from 29th September 2012 for 9 nights with my Son and Granddaughter,I found the staff very friendly,courteous and very helpful,location of hotel excellent,rooms very clean and housekeeping staff very good,very reasonably priced,will certainly stay there on my next visit to Waikiki, and would highly reccomend Thank You Ohana West Waikiki

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This was our 5th time staying at this hotel. Great value for money and the location is good. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The pool area is great but it is a little annoying that the pool towels are on another level. The rooms are nothing fancy but clean with free safe in the room. The Food Pantry is just across the road which is so convenient. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the Ohana West on Sept 29,2012 for 2 nights.

This was my 1st stay at this hotel. I have stayed in it's sister properties Ohana East and Ala Moana, and enjoyed them both. The price was unbeatable for the weekend I stayed, so I thought What the heck.

A family member was flying in for a 2 week visit with me so I decided to book 2 rooms ,1 for me and 1 for her, so she could have her own privacy for her 1st trip to HNL. I used my Kamaiiana rate which was $95 for 1 City View Kitchenette. Total $432 for 2 nights/2 rooms.

I tend to arrive early from another island so I can get the whole day in HNL, and most of the time my room is ready to check in ,in the morning, Unfortunately , the 2 rooms were not be ready until the guaranteed time of 3pm this day ,so I had to blow 4 hours. My relative was not arriving til the night ,so I just walked around Waikiki and ate lunch in the Chili's restaurant they have on bottom floor. Reasonable prices for Hawaii and good drinks.

3pm arrived and I was assigned a 6th floor room overlooking Kuhio Ave, which is the Main road coming out of Waikiki back into Honolulu. The room was a double with kitchenette. Was very clean ,with a stand up shower and balcony which was great for people watching.

Beds were comfortable and linens clean. I could not get internet to work, but I have my own MIFI card so did not worry about it too much. TV had standard channels with PPV movies too..

The hotel is in a great spot.. Easy access to Beach,INTL Marketplace, Waikiki only grocery store next door is very convenient... We did use the Free Pink Trolley a few times and enjoyed the sites...

Overall I enjoyed the hotel and will be back again.. The location is great and rooms were nice...

Room Tip: CIty View Kitchenette..Great locations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ohana Waikiki West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohana Waikiki West

Address: 2330 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohana Waikiki West 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ohana Waikiki West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohana Waikiki West Honolulu
Ohana West Hotel
Ohana Waikiki West Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohana Waikiki West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.