We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, easy going, relaxed atmosphere with FREE US and Canada calls!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service, easy going, relaxed atmosphere with FREE US and Canada calls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We came to spend a week in Hawaii, as this was our first time there. The hotel is very welcoming, it is all open aired, the check-in and check-out was done sitting down which I found very relaxing. We were informed that the internet, local, and US & Canada calls are free which made our contact with the kids back home easy and effortless.

Location is great, easy access to the beach walk and many stores and restaurants, and also quite.

The pool wasn’t huge but was enough for a deep to cool down from the sun, The beach is three steps down from the lobby. The front staff provided a lot of support: we asked them to call and extend our car rental, also recommended restaurants and directions to attractions we asked about.

The moderate room was clean and comfortable with white crispy sheets. View wasn’t great, when stood at the balcony we could see the Ocean on the side, in front of us were the balconies of another hotel. We knew it in advance and didn’t expect more, as this was the cheapest room. We didn’t spend much time in the room anyways.

Music was playing the whole time, there are nightly live music performances at the lobby, so we deep in the Jacuzzi and enjoyed the music at the same time. Also Happy Hour at the bar facing the beach between 12-5 was great with My-Tai for $3.50. Free Karaoke nights daily at the bar were fun with late night discounts on beers were awesome.

We plan to come back with the kids!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,152
    1,168
    264
    90
    54
See reviews for
979
1,741
108
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This was a beautiful, well-kept hotel on a nice section of beach. Excellent breakfast buffet. Clean, comfortable rooms. Good security, feels safe. Decor looks new. Nice outdoor pool & hot tubs. If your room faces east (looking over the pool), as ours did, you could expect a lot of noise from the next building's air conditioning fans. Also there is live Hawaiian music every evening, performed next to that same outdoor pool; the music was mostly enjoyable, but not if you want have a quiet evening on your balcony. I wish they wouldn't amplify the music so much--if they wanted truly "authentic" Hawaiian music, it would not need an amp! I didn't like the room service, as it comes from the pretty ordinary little restaurant next to the pool; if you wanted something off that menu, you may as well just go down there. They had some cute little arts/crafts activities for the kids a little bit each morning. It had a small but sufficient weight room in the basement.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed the hotel. Everything about it is good. Superb service. Noticed one of the lifts out of service on Saturday night, fixed by Sunday morning. This is typical of high standards achieved,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed for 10 days and generally if was very good - location on the beach; choice of 3 breakfast venues; in the quieter end of the Waikiki area, yet close to DFS, the BoardWalk for dinner and shopping area and still an easy walk into the busier section of Waikiki. The room was small and we had two double beds with our 8 year old sharing the room. The view was amazing however looking to Diamond Head and we were placed on the 10th floor which they called the Penthouse. There was a direct lift service to this floor which was very convenient.
The Kani Ka Pila Grille by the poolside was our choice for breakfast; we found the Shore Bird, while on the beach, a bit of a feeding frenzy and the quality of the buffet not very good. The Ocean House also on the beach is a bit more upmarket with a good selection on their menu.
We opted in for the vow renewal ceremony which was complimentary. A nice memory of our holiday.
The free internet service in the room was patchy and sometimes I was able to get online, others times not.
My only issue was the heavy time-share sales pitch for the Wyndham. Booking a tour at the activities counter turned into a sales pitch; even asking for a map of the area turned into a sales pitch. And after a couple 'no thank you's they still kept on and on ....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

Booked this hotel after reading other reviews. Couldn't have been any better! Location is wonderful and we were able to walk most places. The beach is not too crowded. My husband (who has trouble sleeping) slept the best he ever has. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. Seemed like a 5-star hotel to me. They also offer luggage storage since you check out at noon, but many planes don't leave till late at night. There is also a hospitality room that you can use before you go to freshen up, change clothes, shower or whatever. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro woolley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We celebrated our 50th anniversary and everything was to our liking, since we are unable to do much walking the location was great. We did find the street noise, from the street entertainers a little annoying as we could hear it from our room in the evening..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon SK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here for one week in Jan 2011. The check in was easy. We booked 2 rooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bellmen were amazingly helpful. They phoned our tour and shuttle companies when they didn't show up on time. WOW! What service. The front desk lady that checked us in waved and smiled at me whenever she saw me. The hotel was clean and in a great location. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were very quiet. It was like we were the only people on our floor.The maids also greeted us in the mornings. The beach in back of the hotel was less busy than the east side of Waikiki. Probably due to the museum/park next to the hotel. The east side of the beach in Waikiki was crazy busy( crowded beach by the Zoo). We also tried out the Karaoke one night, they had a huge selection of music. WONDERFUL
Don't worry about packing too much or forgetting to pack a bathing-suit. There are ABC Stores everywhere. You can buy gifts, bathing-suits, snorkels, towels,food,flip flops and alcohol at these stores. There are literally 2 stores per block. Starbucks in the front of the hotel was a great morning starter. They were very fast, even with a big line up.
Booking tours in the lobby was fast and easy. They had a huge selection of tours and activities. Very convenient.
The only thing I wasn't a fan of was the grill your own food at the Shore Bird in the evenings. After a long day the last thing you feel like doing is grilling your own steak or chicken. The buffet was average. If you look in the coupon books in the lobby there are discount coupons for the Shore Bird and Kani Ka Pila Grille. This makes for a cheap and fast breakfast. The free high speed internet worked great. The free long distance to Canada was a nice bonus.
Overall, a great clean hotel with a great beach and wonderful staff!
Mahalo

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.