We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good place to stay but watch out for the time share salespeople” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Sudbury,ON
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Still a good place to stay but watch out for the time share salespeople”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our 3rd visit and we still like the rooms and hotel. The beach isn't good for swimming but nice for walking. The pool is good and the restaurants O.K. BUT
When we booked a couple of cruises we were given almost no good information and no choices, and then we were shuffled across to a Wyndham properties timeshare desk and persuaded by a refund of $159 on the cruises to attend a 2 hour time share pressure talk. If you want to book cruises, go online and do it for yourself.

Room Tip: Avoid the ocean views - the worst Karaoke in the world blares out right by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,229
    1,220
    277
    91
    55
See reviews for
1,017
1,817
109
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

I've just returned from a 9 night stay at the Outrigger Reed and it was fabulous. I was in an oceanfront room and I highly recommend it. Sleeping and waking to the sound if waves is truly special. The feel of the hotel is modern hawaiian and the staff were friendly and extremely accommodating. Lori, the lovely housekeeper on the 6th floor was so friendly and kind. I had moved to another room and had left items behind. She remembered where I was going because we had been talking, and brought the items to me herself with a smile. Thank you to the hotel staff for a wonderful holiday. I can't wait to go back !

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Aloha Kitsa T,
Thank you for the privilege of hosting you and thank you for sharing your review of the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. All of our rooms are nice, but you are right…the oceanfront rooms are truly special, as they have a direct view of the beach and ocean. Thank you also for mentioning Lori, your housekeeper. We acknowledged her at our morning briefing by reading your comment aloud and she was so thrilled that she made a lasting impression on you. She also remembered you and said she will be happy to host you again when you return. Hope you can return soon. Aloha and Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushford, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is exactly how we wanted our Hawaiian experience to start-it felt very Hawaiian. Hotel is beautiful and right on Waikiki Beach with beautiful sunsets, view of Diamond Head, close to walk downtown for shopping (and shops right in the hotel), spacious and clean room with good-sized balcony, excellent service, 3 excellent restaurant/bars to choose from, pool, 3 hot tubs, spa, wide open lobby to the outside, beach and water equipment available. Their breakfast buffet was wonderful in the Shore Bird Restaurant and Bar. That was our favorite place to eat. Get there early for breakfast for a front row seat to watch and listen to the ocean right in front of you. Bus stops near by, wide variety of island tours available to book right in the hotel lobby. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our stay was all positive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the Ocean tower with a view of the ocean and Diamond head, and one of top floors f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Outrigger Reef and all the wonderful comments about the service and the location of the hotel. The décor of the hotel represents a collection of designs, artifacts used by Hawaiians. Others items are designed to represent the sail of an Outrigger Canoe. Koa wood is used thru the entire property for its rich color and as it was commonly used by our Kupuna.
Each restaurant on property provides a different experience. Kani Ka Pila restaurant Casual dining with live Hawaiian Music, Ocean House great dining experience by the beach, similar to Shorebird provides a great dining experience while enjoying the sunset. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Came back for the fourth time December 2013. Again found the same welcoming staff at the front
Desk as well as the porters. Spent New Year's Eve on balcony watching fireworks.
The room was great, partial ocean view- I could enjoy the city, the beach and the pool
Below. Thanks to the staff including Luana who showed my daughters some hawaiian
Culture in the classes she held. The waiters by the pool were very attentive.
Shore bird restaurant is lovely for dinner drinks or our favourite karaoke. The rooms are serviced
Everyday and they do a great job, very clean.
I would definitely go back. Missed this place as soon as I left!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Aloha and thank you coming back and for choosing to bring in 2014 at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor! Our entire staff takes great pride in enhancing our guests’ experience and I will definitely share your positive feedback with them. We’re also happy you were able to participate in our Complimentary Aloha Program classes along with dining at our beautiful beachfront restaurant.

Mahalo nui loa and we hope to see you again really soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a couple nights at the Outrigger. It's expensive, but right on the beach. Very friendly service. Large room, but had 2 double beds even though we requested a king. I got the feeling that they didn't have many king rooms. Ours had an ocean view -- not direct, but angled. Also, nice view of Diamond Head. With 3 restaurants, you basically never have to leave the property. Also, many shops on site.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to compliment our hotel in your review you recently submitted with Trip Advisor. It is indeed gratifying to know that the efforts of our staff do not go unrecognized. We are always pleased when our guests take the time to share their experiences, both positive and negative. Like any other resort we have our challenges, and our guests feedback provides us with valuable insights regarding the quality of our service and facilities.
We apologize for not being able to provide you with a King bed as you requested. We do everything we can to accommodate all requests, even when the request is not guaranteed. We hope that the incredible view of Diamond Head made up for the shortfall.
Rest assured we will pass your kind words on to all concerned. All of our staff think of our guests as old friends who should not stay away too long, so we hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach for another visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have run in the Honolulu marathon four times and had a great time. The race is amazing!
I had pick the outrigger reef , because of the location . The hotel is right around the corner
from the marathon expo and a short walk to the starting line of the marathon. My first time
there the staff made me feel very at ease. The room were great and cleanning staff always
did a terrific job. Had breakfast at the Shore Bird restaurant every morning , The staff was
alway kind and helpful, and the food & coffee were great. The pool area was clean , and a
fun atmosphere .The beach area is well maintained with access to chairs, beach umbrellas
It is a family friendy part of the beach. Everything in walkiki is in walking distance . It is a great
place to stay and I hope to go back soon

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Aloha,

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We “thank you” for the positive review & we will definitely share your comments with the staff. I am delighted to know that you found the rooms to be clean & comfortable & the facilities met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful shores of Waikiki in the future.

Mahalo nui loa,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Very convenient. Locale. With the best portion of the entire beach.
The beach front staff were amazing.
Very clean. And lots of action at dukes restaurant every night.
A secure place to stay for women traveling together.
The top floor restaurant. Has an excellent. Happy hour and salad bar.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.