We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We just got back from an 8 night stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. We had a partial ocean view room that was spacious and it was nice to have a refrigerator, couch, and a safe in the room. The housekeeping staff were very friendly and it was always cleaned well.

We actually ate at all 3 of the restaurants. The Ocean House had a great breakfast, The Shorebird had good lunch selections & a bar. We had dinner one night at the Kani Ka Pila Grille and used the coupon from the book provided, the food was good and so was the price. It was also convenient to have a Starbucks in the hotel.

The beach is small, but we were out there fairly early and put down our mats & towels. We walked along Waikiki beach and found it way more crowded in the other areas and that is one thing I liked about our beach - not quite as crowded. We bought tubes (ABC store) to float out in the ocean and tried the stand up paddle board. If you are walking in the ocean, it is rocky and I would recommended water shoes.

It is great to be able to walk anywhere from the hotel. Lots of great restaurants and shopping within blocks of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to compliment our hotel in your review. It is indeed gratifying to know that the efforts of our staff, especially our Housekeeping staff, do not go unrecognized.

We were delighted to see that you chose to be our guest on your 8 day stay! And even more appreciative that you were able to experience all of our restaurants on property as well as the beautiful (and uncrowded) beach located right out front of our hotel. Your tip on wearing beach shoes while wading out will come in very handy as our name suggests, there is a reef out there!

Again, mahalo for your compliments and taking the time to share all of your wonderful Hawaiian experiences with everyone. We look forward to your return visit with us! ALOHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,231
    1,220
    277
    91
    55
See reviews for
1,018
1,818
109
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've just spent 9 nights at this hotel right on the beach at Waikiki. It's the third time we've stayed there and have been thoroughly satisfied each time. The facilities are good, including a nice pool and bar, and the staff are friendly and helpful. We were able to secure a corner room that has extra space and a balcony with a view of the water. Breakfast at the Shorebird restaurant was excellent, very reasonably priced ($15 but then you get a discount voucher for your next visit) & with a very good range of food. The hotel is also only a short walk to lots of shops, bars and restaurants. We'll certainly be returning when we're next holidaying in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Pay the extra if you can for a corner room as the extra space is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your Trip Advisor posting. We are delighted to know that you are a repeat guest & that you enjoyed your room location, the pool, Shorebird, the facilities & the friendliness of our staff. I will be sharing your comments with them. We look forward to have you back as our guest when you visit our islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our final hotel after 3 weeks visiting America. Service was ok staff not really attentive to customer needs. More interested in selling timeshare which we got caught up in and wasted a whole day. The hotel its self was wonderful right on the beach. But walking through to get to the beach you where bombarded with Ori gold staff trying to sell creams which became annoying. Breakfast was terrible no toast coffee crap. Lucky Starbucks is located just outside. Rooms nice but the balcony which we paid extra for could only fit one person. Next time will try somewhere else. The bar outside was great staff awesome and made a really good Bloody Mary. They were the only ones who showed they really care about you.

Room Tip: Really do your homework some people like it some don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
I would to express our sincere apology for the dissatisfaction with your recent stay. We recently added a sign for Wyndham Vacation in an attempt to differentiate between the vacation resort and our service desks in the lobby.
Thank you for the positive comments about the staff at Kani Ka Pila bar and restaurant. I am glad to see that they had a chance to provide the service level that we strive for and that we would like every guest to receive from all hotel staff.
Your review is being shared with all the departments, desks and restaurants in the hotel and will be addressed during our daily staff service training. Once again, thank you for staying at the Outrigger Reef on the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed at the Outrigger over the Pro Bowl weekend. This was a bit of a home coming for me since I used to live here. The Outrigger has definitely changed, but is a good way. There has been a major remodel. The hotel is clean and the location is great. Just around the corner there is Lewers St. with all new shops, galleries and restaurants. The Hotel has 3 restaurants and I ate at all three. There good and a good value. While the hotel is on the beach keep in mind that it is Waikiki beach and there is not much to it. I recommend getting out of town and heading to either Kailua or North Shore to really see and appreciate the beaches and culture. Again, the location makes for a great launch pad to explore the island. If you are here to shop just head down Lewers St. to the next intersection and you will find, Prada, Louie Vuitton and much more.

It was great to be back in Oahu and I would highly recommend the Outrigger for being the best value on the beach, family friendly and a great location.

Room Tip: pay attention to you room location. I had a room with partial ocean view. This meant I was 20 feet f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Our success is measured by how you, our treasured guests, evaluate our services. This feedback is the best way we know to keep us on our toes and provide a special place in Hawaii for everyone. I will definitely share your experiences with the entire staff. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, its facilities & that the overall stay met your expectations. We do hope you will have an opportunity to return in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent the first five days of our honeymoon here at the outrigger and it blew away our expectations. I don't have anything negative to say. We stayed on the penthouse floor oceanfront with private elevator...was awesome. The room was great. The location was perfect. North of the super crowded touristy Waikiki area, the beach right in front of hotel is small, but walk three minutes to the right out of the exit and u have a perfect not crowded beach. I spent a ton of time looking at reviews here on tripadvisor and I killed it by selecting the outrigger. The restaurants within in the hotel make it hard to even find a reason to leave the area. Easy walking distance to all the Waikiki shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Floor 9&10 are penthouse with private elevator...pretty nice. Also when dining at a restaurant t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Quality of service is a goal that Outrigger Hotels and Resorts continues daily to stive for and we were delighted to review your positive comments and to learn that those goals have been met in the case of your Honeymoon stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our Rooftop Suite and the exlusivity of the private floor! The fact that the beautiful beach right in front of our hotel & to the right is hardly crowded is a definite plus, glad you were able to enjoy it throughout your stay.

We appreciate your time in writing a review of your honeymoon celebration as we take great pride in our hotel and our staff and strive to be outstanding Mea Ho'okipa (Hosts) at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

Mahalo (thank you) and please remember us for all of your upcoming Anniversary celebrations! We would love to have you as our guests once again. ALOHA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect spot in Waikiki and is great for families. We stayed at the hotel for a week long vacation and plan on returning on our next visit to Oahu. The hotel sits right on the Waikiki beach and all you have to do is walk out the back of the hotel and you are on the beach. There is plenty of water sport rentals, beach chair and umbrella rentals and so on. We even caught a catamaran which sits right on the shore of the hotel. It is also situated very close, walking close, to shops, restaurants and public transportation. We didn't rent a car when we visited and it was not an issue getting to all of the places we wanted to go. The Outrigger has a nice pool, but we opted to stay on the beach all week. There is a park and WWII museum right next door just above the beach. The hotel rooms were clean and very comfortable. Oh, for those that want a cup o joe, there is a Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, noting the beach by Fort DeRussy, Starbucks & our location of our hotel & its facilities. I am delighted that you found the rooms to be clean & comfortable. We do hope you have a chance to choose the Outrigger Reef on the Beach when you visit our islands again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have stayed in 5hotels in Waikiki now, and while this is the most expensive, it was worth it. We booked a basic room, got a little upgrade to a beach view room with a balcony, so that was nice. Room was kept very clean, no issues there. Pool and hot tubs were great. Our favorite thing about outrigger is having early dinner and drinks at the Shorebird, then listening to live music at the pool bar. On other trips, we would find ourselves coming to the outrigger to eat and listen to music, so finally just decided to splurge and stay. Glad we did. We rented a car, which I feel is a must. Valet is expensive, but having the freedom to go whenever you want, so worth it. If you drive a Ferrari and are bringing a high maintenance super model with you, this is not the place for you. There are plenty of stuffy and pretentious hotels and restaurants for that crowd. If you are laid back, like Mai tais on the beach, great local music, and don't mind spending a little extra to have that all in one package, this is it. And check out steak shack, out the beach access to the right, if you want to eat on the cheap, you can do that here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Aloha & Mahalo for your positive review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the time you took & reading from the comments it sounds like you had a great vacation. I am glad to know that you found the rooms to be clean, that you enjoyed the facilites like the pool & hot tubs, & most of all the local musicians at our restaurants. I will share your feedback with the staff. I do hope you choose our hotel again when visiting the islands.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.