We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is 4 on the plus side, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“This is 4 on the plus side, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Last time we were here we stayed at the Trump, and this time wanted the convenience of a beach front hotel. I remember hearing some of the best Hawaiian music wafting over to us when we stayed at the trump, and discovered (to late) that the musicians were playing at the Reef in an outdoor setting every night. If you enjoy well played indigenous music(s) while relaxing in paradise, this is just great....every evening until about 9pm. This was one of the pro's that helped me choose the Outrigger Reef this time around. This hotel was renovated a few years back and that's another plus when choosing a place to stay. The vies we had from our room was of the ocean and we couldn't have been more pleased. The cleaning staff were so friendly and helpful,
she, they , were really the hidden gems of the property. On-site laundry was a convenience and surprise as well, and kept us in our comfort zone for the duration.
we took in a night of Karaoke one evening at Shorebird and enjoyed MaiTai's and firerock on tap for 1/2 price...Chicago style hotdog to boot, and we laughed so hard with another couple we met there, it was great. Ok.... nice pool and lounging area, complimentary towels for the dozens of loungers or the beach, and beach amenity rentals right in front of the hotel. Great beach here for swimming, kayaking, snorkeling....just floating in a tube...ahhhhh....perfect!! The front desk staff were ALL excellent and I commend management on such great staffing and training. a shout =-out once again to the hard working and ultra accommodating Housekeepers. Love em'! I enjoyed the serenity of the poolside in the mornings with a big urn of the great coffee at Kani Ka Pila grille with a few wait staff that became favorites...serving up my special requests with pleasure,,,
If you want a nice big breakfast, you can do that here and did many times and enjoyed.
Cool shops, convenient stores, lovely hotel layout and immediate beach access on the quieter part of the strip makes this a very highly recommended stop if you are planning to come visit anytime soon. We've been home a week now and still hope that when I open my eyes, I'm at the Outrigger Reef. My one con is the beds we had (2 doubles) didn't seem that great quality wise, maybe a little sacked-out, but we slept relatively well, other than the odd guest(s) who would stomp around a little....but hey, it's a hotel right(?). Rooms were nice and clean and if we needed anything, the front desk service was immediate at anytime of day/night. We will be back for more great service in paradise...
thank you Outrigger Reef!!!

Room Tip: If you want a little quieter environment, higher floors are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,087
    1,129
    262
    88
    54
See reviews for
945
1689
105
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

During my first trip to Hawaii and awaiting a cruise we stayed at the Outrigger Reef for 3 nights. Very clean and comfortable rooms. We booked partial ocean view with breakfast. The balcony overlooked the pool and did have a partial ocean view. I did not notice any noise from the pool area although we were on a higher floor. We had breakfast at the pool one morning and the buffet another. Both were very good. Unfortunatly we miised breakfast #3 due to an early excursion to Pearl Harbor. Luckily there is a Starbucks on the corner. We had dinner at the pool/bar restaurant 2 evenings and it was enjoyable. Everyone we came in contact with were very pleasant and helpful. We booked 2 tours from the excursion desk inside the lobbty and would recommend both the Circle Island Tour and Pearl Harbor Tour. The area surrounding the hotel is beautiful with many shopping areas. You are able to walk right on to the beach, but the beach is quite narrow. Chairs and unbrellas along with other water toys are available for rent. I really enjoyed the location and the entire Outrigger Reef experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great location. I like the different choices of restaurants on the premises. The food is excellent, but a little pricey on premises, but I like the convenience. There are plenty of lower priced food places within 1 block, so not a big problem. The poolside grill has excellent Hawaiian live music during dinner hours to put you in the Island mood. Can't get enough of that. Overall a pleasant getaway. Also a few good stores to shop on premises and within walking distance. I definitely recommend to anyone looking for a location on "Waikiki Beach". Willie M.

Room Tip: Higher Floors will avoid any and all street noise, but overall pretty quiet neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We flew to Hawaii to take a cruise, so we booked a lower priced room for five nights. What a pleasant surprise. The room had a small balcony with a partial ocean view. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The staff at the pool and housekeeping were happy and friendly. The three restaurants in the hotel were excellent. A luscious meal watching the sunset on Waikiki Beach, heaven. We highly recommend the Outrigger on the beach, and will return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We celebrated our 40th anniversary here in 2011 and it was wonderful. Don't think we reviewed our trip but want everyone to know this is a great place to go! It is clean and comfortable and everyone goes out of their way to make your stay enjoyable! Our room was upgraded to a partial ocean view which was very much appreciated. The hotel is right on the beach and in walking distance of shopping, dining, and shows! We are definitely coming back for our 45th! Can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was welcoming and had very attentive staff to make our stay even more special. The hotel room was spacious, clean and very well maintained. The location was excellent! Waterfront and right in the center of it all with great shopping and thing to do! The Outrigger also has everything you may want to rent for the real Hawaiian experience such as stand up boards, surf boards etc. We loved staying at the Outrigger and would definitely stay there when we visit Honolulu next!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A beautiful hotel right on Waikiki. The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The staff were all very helpful. If you do have your car they have a parking garage and have a daily fee for parking (all valet) which is very helpful. They do let you know there is a daily fee which considering the area is well worth it. The restaurants on site were wonderful as well. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there are any "poor" rooms. A room with an ocean view would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.