We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Good Except One Thing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“All Good Except One Thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef in Waikiki for 5 nights in June 2013 and had a fantastic stay.
Our flight landed at 7:30am and we requested an early check in. We only had to wait about 1.5 hour and our room was ready which I thought was pretty good considering check in wasn't until 3pm.
All the staff were extremely helpful (from the front desk to the housekeeping ladies), rooms were clean and serviced every day. Several times we put a 'Privacy Please' sign on our door and our room was missed. I spoke to the housekeeping staff later that day and they were more than happy to come back to clean/service our room in the afternoon.
The decor is modern (probably the most modern I have seen from all Hawaii hotels I have stayed at as some are quite outdated) and included a small fridge, hair dryer etc.
The rooms were very quiet which we liked. On previous holidays to Waikiki I have stayed down the 'busy' end of Kalakaua Avenue where it can be quite noisy. This hotel is only a 7-8 minute walk to the other end of Waikiki. It's still close to everything and within walking distance.
There was wifi in the rooms which was fast and no drop outs (no extra charge) and a self-service coin operated laundry for guests to do their own washing and drying.
One thing I really liked was no hidden or extra charges. Everything was paid for in advance and there was no resort amenity fees or taxes to pay on arrival or check out - very simple and easy.
The only one thing that I found frustrating were the staff on the Amenities Desk from Wyndam Vacation Resorts. We were pestered on a number of occasions to 'come and join our free breakfast'. It was an opportunity for a sales pitch for time share which we were not interested in. The concierge desk (manned by Outrigger Reef staff) and the Amenities/Activities Desk are right next to each other and there are 2 separate desks located within the lobby of the hotel (at different ends). On a few occasions we went to ask the concierge desk some questions about getting around/where to eat etc and they were busy helping other guests. The staff on the Activities Desk would motion for us to come over to assist and about 1 minute into the conversation they would say "Have you just arrived? You should join up to our free breakfast". I understand that they are doing their job, however it didn't sit well with me that you were looking for help and bombarded with the free breakfast. It might just be something for the hotel to consider as it made us feel very uncomfortable & as a result we avoided going anywhere near them or making eye contact as we walked past (as they would often call out things to try & get you to come over like - "Where are you from?" or "How's your vacation going?"
Other than the Wyndam Vacation staff we had a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view room on the 15th floor which had a good view. If you spend most of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,068
    1,108
    256
    88
    54
See reviews for
931
1670
104
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (846)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked an Ocean Front room and were initially disappointed because the third floor location at palm treetop level obstructed the view of Diamond Head. However, a ringside balcony seat that overlooked the passing people parade, swimmers, surfers, sunbathers and the Waikiki Bird Guy more than made up for this.
The room was unexpectedly large with two huge beds and a good bathroom setup. The Shore Bird restaurant is nicely located, but suggest you order a la carte at breakfast. The buffet offerings are dire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is our 4th time back to this property and every thing was as expected. We booked ocean view room on Fort Du Russey side of building - although it can be bit noisey when sliding door open with the traffic the view in my opinion is much nicer looking over the tops of the trees onto the ocean. We dined at the 'grille' twice and had breakfast there a couple of times and all meals were great. Room was as we know it - clean and comfortable and the house keepers are very nice and friendly. Swam just out the front of the building (or the back depending how you look at it). Reef shoes a must for an enjoyable swim experience, but this part of the beach so much quieter than the rest so prefer to just put the shoes on and paddle around. All in all another good stay at the outrigger and we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week during our honeymoon. We had rented a car, so the valet service was quick to have our car unpacked and our bags loaded and delivered to our room. The guy at the front desk was very friendly and informative, even though we heard all about his personal life. Anyways, we were on the 8th floor with a beautiful view of Diamond Head and the ocean, and were greeted by a chilled bottle of champagne.

The room was always perfectly cleaned, the showerhead felt amazing after long days of venturing around the island, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. The hotel is within walking distance of everything in Waikiki, it has plenty of shops, bars and restaurants, and the pools and hot tubs were always very clean. The live music near the pool every night was always good, and although it's not the best stretch of Waikiki beach when it comes to laying out, it was still a great place to swim and see some fish.

The next time we stay on Oahu, the Outrigger Reef on the Beach will definitely be our first choice.

Room Tip: Request the Ocean Tower to get a better chance of an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef on the Beach, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha!
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our focus is to ensure guest satisfaction and we are pleased that the services we provided were excellent and you truly enjoyed your visit with us. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a return guest and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are very happy that we chose this amazing hotel for our vacation in Hawaii! The hotel is very nice and is directly on Waikiki Beach. The OCEAN VIEW restaurant was fabulous. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed the services of Rob and Kelly. We had a great view of Diamond Head and the beach! Beautiful! Rooms are very clean and we always had plenty of fresh clean towels and service. The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. We did not want to leave!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor. There is a separate elevator for the 9th and 10th floor. Less waiting ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef on the Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Aloha!
Quality of service is a goal that Outrigger Reef on the Beach continues daily to strive for and we were delighted to see your positive comments and to learn that those goals had been met!
Mahalo for your kind words about the staff as well. We always try to demonstrate the Aloha Spirit in everything we do. You can be sure that I will take a moment to compliment Rob & Kelly for having enriched your stay with us. Judging from the rest of your comments, you appeared to enjoy your stay and we were pleased to see that. We do hope you will have an opportunity to return in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the waikiki reef on the beach from June 23-June 29 2013 and had a great time. The hotel met all of our requests in relation to bedding configuration and having a higher up floor. Our room was modern and spacious. We had a waterfront room and the view was fantastic. We had breakfast included in our package and had the choice of three restaurants to eat in. The hotel is down one end of Waikiki beach so it is a bit of a walk to attractions in central and the other end of Waikiki but that was not a major issue. The staff were helpful, especially the concierge who booked all our tours etc for us. We were never once hassled by the time share staff, they did not even approach us.
Overall, the hotel was excellent and we would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a very busy hotel. Reception is halfway down through the hotel its a little confusing when you first arrive. We checked in but didn't like our room very much it looked over the car park, we booked a partial ocean room. We went back and managed to change it to a view of the pool and a partial view of the ocean. It was much better. The rooms a quite spacious and the bed was comfortable. The service at the bars is a little slow. We didn't find reception very friendly either. Karaoke is fun to watch. The beach area is very small but was enough. We had breakfast included and ate at the Ocean House, the staff were really nice and breakast was great. The Hotel is walking distance to everything, which was fantastic. We caught the bus to Ala Moana Shopping Centre and it was really easy to do it. Over all our stay was nice.

Room Tip: If you like to walk to everything this is the best Hotel. Very busy foyer, but the rooms were quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.