We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Staten Island, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were so thrilled when the cab pulled up to our hotel. From the minute we stepped out of the cab the vacation started. We were welcomed with opened arms by everyone. I was so happy to met theConcierge William Noll, whom I had been speaking to prior to arrival . He assisted me with all our excursions. Each one was better than thee other. His suggestions helped us plan the best family vacation we ever had. Thanks to all the staff whom were exceptional. The hotel itself was perfectly located. The rooms were spacious and clean. Our departing flight was late in the evening, they accommodated my family with a room to change in. Everything and everyone was outstanding. Again thank you all.

Room Tip: the city view was great . People watching as well as the mountains was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,231
    1,220
    277
    91
    55
See reviews for
1,018
1,818
109
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and directly on Waikiki Beach. It's perfectly appointed with plenty of Hawaiian style. The rooms are clean and spacious. The first night we arrived, we were put in a full double, which didn't work for us. The next day the very helpful staff accommodated our request for a King. We had a very nice view of the park and beach. The restaurants at the hotel were great. They have nightly karaoke at the bar. We really liked this hotel, the staff was friendly and made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: If you really want to look at the ocean and diamond head from your room, you'll need to spend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha Hilda!
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding the Outrigger Reef on the Beach as a hotel with plenty of Aloha. We do strive to provide our guests a Hawaiian experience through our complementary cultural activities as well as a feeling of Aloha through the friendly and attentive service of our employee so we’re happy to receive your feedback.

We are aware that bedding requests are very important to our guests and although it is not always possible to accommodate the requests, we do our best to try to accommodate you during your stay. We’re glad that it worked out for you and you appreciated that.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope you can return again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 7 years ago, and had a wonderful time. It was renovated since we were last there, and despite the nicer hotel decor I was disappointed in a few aspects of the renovation. The area where the teens could congregate and play pool and other table games had been eliminated, and our 14 year old daughter never had a chance to interact with others in her age group. Also, there had been a lei stand in front of the hotel run by a 4th generation native Hawaiian lei maker named Aukai Pieper. She made absolutely exquisite leis, homemade plumeria oil (the real stuff, not the kind you find in the fragrance shops), and taught anyone that wanted to participate about the flowers, leimaking and Hawaiian traditions and beliefs. Aukai such an impression on me during our visit 7 years ago that I remembered her name. Spending time at the lei stand and making leis with her and learning about the true Hawaiian culture was something I was greatly looking forward to doing again. Unfortunately, for me and in my opinion the hotel, her lei stand was eliminated when the renovations were made. She was a true Hawaiian treasure available for many to experience, and I wish the hotel had her back. Otherwise, the hotel was nicer than before, and we again really enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: The rooms were very clean, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. No tips except that you may wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Outrigger Reef is a great hotel, we didn't have a single negative experience! The location is absolutely fantastic, right in the middle of everything, everything is walking distance. Whether it's restaurants, cafes, shops or beach. All the staff we came into contact with were very polite and helpful.

We booked the oceanfront room and for months I was hesitating whether I should book that or just the cean view. I didn't regret my decision for a second once we came into our room on the 6th floor. It was worth every penny!The view was lovely, room was huge, modern and always clean. It had a fridge which was convenient and coffee maker as well. And the wifi was a bonus. I carried my laptop because I thought there's only wired internet as I read on their website but it does have a wifi in the whole property.

Hotel itself is very busy on the ground floor with 3 restaurants and Starbucks and loads of shops but the room itself was very quiet, we never heard any sound from other rooms. Pool is nice and big and they would provide us with towels even if we go to the beach somewhere out of city which saved me from bying my own beach towel.

So if anyone is after luxury with splendid views for reasonable price, this is the right place to be.

Room Tip: If you are having a problem with deciding whether to go for partial ocean view, ocean view or oceanf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha Herpi,
Thank you for your comment that the Outrigger Reef on the Beach was the best hotel you’ve ever stayed in. That’s one of the best comments we could have.

While all of our rooms are great, the ocean front rooms are very special because it has a front view of the ocean. We understand why you say it’s worth every penny. We’re glad to know that you appreciated all the special features we offer here to make your stay enjoyable such as our central location, our polite and helpful staff, refrigerator, coffee maker, variety of restaurants and shops, pool towel service and complementary WiFi throughout our property.

We hope you will be back again soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

You won't be disappointed if you stay at this hotel. The location is great. Right on the beach and close to the shops. Swim in the beach or the pool. Very handy having a Starbucks in the foyer of the hotel too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

everything about the Outrigger was great. can not find any fault. There was three single females travelling together- when we arrived at our room, there was no way that 3 beds were going to fit. Reception staff handled our concerns and moved us into a larger room. Would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a perfect location. It's on the beach, and close to restaurants and shopping! We called guest services three times for different things and they were prompt at getting us what we needed. Very friendly people and a great rooms. The Shore Bird is a great place to spend an evening listening to music. We are coming back for sure!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We will share your compliments with our employees and departments mentioned. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the Outrigger Reef. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.