We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL, GREAT LOCATION...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel also in June.
Great hotel, in excellent location.
The rooms are really fresh, clean and up to date.
Wonderful views from the rooms. The great thing is the hotel undersells itself in my opinion.....partial ocean view rooms are wonderful, you are pretty much completely looking at the ocean.
So nice to sit out on the balcony/lanai and enjoy the lovely view.
The hotel is bright, spacious and clean and within walking distance to everything in Waikiki.
The Front Desk staff are wonderful and friendly/helpful.
The Ocean House restaurant is insanely good.....the miso cod was amazing!
Would highly recommed this hotel and would love to stay here again.

I also spent time at their sister property The Outriggerr Waikiki Beach.....that was also a beautiful property with stunning rooms and incredible views from the balconies.
Excellent security system with the lifts...you can only get to your floor with your scanner/card.
Dukes bar and Hula Grill were very lively and had a great atmosphere.
Great Front desk staff here also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,066
    1,107
    256
    88
    54
See reviews for
931
1668
104
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room was clean, contemporary, and well serviced with a comfortable king bed. A welcome change to most hotels was the vanity being separate from the shower and toilet. Administrative staff were very professional. The partial ocean room view was great in that, although we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, it was lovely to have an evening glass of wine looking at the ocean and overlooking the pool. The pool is the deepest we have ever swum in, so if you can't swim don't go in so you don't end up like the gentleman who required CPR while we were there. Directly downstairs is the poolside bar and restaurant with a different group of singers each night, very pleasant. Because of its smaller size it was consequently quieter than the Shore Bird restaurant situated right on the beach under the hotel. Both restaurants were excellent and conveniently positioned. The hotel has an excellent location on Waikiki Beach, right in the middle of "the action". The beach with an unfortunate rocky bottom, shops and lots of restaurants are all within a very short walk from the elevator. The experience was worth the little extra we had to pay.

Room Tip: The partial ocean room overlooking the pool is a great compromise with price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Waikiki - brilliant location. Room clean and quiet, bed very comfy, lovely view, small fridge even supplied. Hotel very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, Large pool in comparison to other hotel pools, lovely clean pool area with loads of sun loungers, plenty of shade available - loved the never ending supply of minted lemon iced water, was allowed to take poolside towels out when we visiting other beaches. Food excellent, do book an oceanside table at the Ocean House restaurant - spent a lovely evening there. Cannot fault this hotel !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef on the Beach, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Aloha Myrtle2013!
Thank you for choosing Outrigger Reef and your compliments! We are looking forward to your return to Hawaii & the Reef!
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Since we had our honeymoon in Waikiki in 1987. This was a return trip for our 25th. wedding anniversary in September 2012. This hotel met all our expectations.
Comfortable king size bed, clean and quiet room. Housekeeping very good.
The only glitch was the shorebird bar that could be noisy sometimes late at night. We told management and they had the bar lower the volume. That helped.
Staff and service was fantastic. We had our wedding renewal vows on the beach. Beautiful service.
The hotel offered lessons in hula dance with Luana, you can learn so much from her about Hawaii's history and traditions, it was wonderful to talk to her, we could see how important it was to her,telling us about the history of these beautiful islands .
They also offer painting workshops, how to make leis and other events.

Beautiful room with front ocean view. Gorgeous views. Cannot say enough what a pleasant place to stay. This hotel was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef on the Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha,

It is always delightful to read positive comments especially when guest take the time to share their precious moments from their recent visit to our hotel. We do pride ourselves in ensuring our guests the best services that we can provide as we strive for excellence. I am glad to know that you found the beds comfortable & the rooms clean & that you enjoyed the cultural activities. I will be sure to pass on to Luana our Hawaiian Cultural Coordinator your feedback.

We do hope that you choose our hotel as your destination of choice if you plan to visit our islands again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is my third time staying at Outrigger reef on the beach. This time we went in a big group for a wedding and everyone in the group was happy at the hotel. Perfect location, comfy beds, and great service. Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pay for shuttle to from and to airport...
Pay for beach chair and umbrella...
Pay for parking per night at your own hotel...
Stayed more than 3 nights and paid for all four nights some hotels offer one night free when you book 3 or more...
I cannot recommend this hotel and definitely won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef on the Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Aloha,
It is always difficult to respond to negative comments as we do strive for excellence. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff.
Our website does offer many programs & specials that will accommodate our guests’ needs, including 4th night free. Unlike most Waikiki hotels, the Reef does not charge a “Resort Fee”, on the contrary, we offer complimentary Wi Fi and free local and long distance calls to the Mainland and Canada. We also offer a wide range of cultural activities for our guests to enjoy. I am not familiar with any resort on Oahu that provides free shuttle services from the airport to Waikiki nor complimentary beach amenities, as all beaches in Hawaii are public. We always recommend that you view the property or destination of choice ahead of time so the facilities appeal & meet your needs. Mahalo for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We opted for a partial ocean view since we've experienced it before and that was fine. Got upgraded to a larger room with a sofa bed which made it even better. The decor was attractive and relaxing. Appreciated having a small fridge as well. Desk staff and housekeeping were all pleasant and helpful.

Next to the welcome area is a small poolside bar and eating area. On our first day we wanted to celebrate with a mai tai but it was $9. We discovered that further back in the hotel facing the beach was the Shorebirds which offers a Happy Hour price of $3.50 from noon until 5. Our first dinner we ate at the poolside because they have free Hawaiian singers each evening. We were seated in the back area and could not view them so the following evening we asked to reserve a table in the front .

However, their policy is that you cannot reserve a table unless you have 5 or more people. If we came early, though, we could sit anywhere that was open. We did that and enjoyed the music beginning at 6 p.m. but felt that anyone should be able to reserve a place. There are not an abundance of tables so perhaps this policy works best for them.

We ate our final lunch at the Shorebirds because you can reserve a table and we wanted one by the low wall with the beach view. We thoroughly enjoyed it! There is another restaurant as well but we did not have a chance to try it.

Overall, a good stay in an excellent location. Lewers Street a block away has a number of restaurants and shops. It is also close to the International Market Place. We spent one morning at the Army Museum next door. That, too, is worth seeing--and it's free!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef on the Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and for commenting that this stay was even better than your first visit. We are fortunate that our poolside bar (Kani Ka Pila Grille) is very popular in the evening due to our Hawaiian entertainment, thank you for returning the next day.
We’re glad that you appreciate our excellent location close to Waikiki Beach Walk on Lewers Street that offer many restaurant and shopping options, in addition to our wonderful selection of shops and dining at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. And yes, the Army Museum next door is a great and it’s free!



We hope to see you back again soon. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.