We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Portland, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I had an amazing two night stay at this hotel. It was one of the best hotels I have been to. The property was nice and clean. The location was great. It was within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and much more. The staff were so helpful, happy, and kind. The room were cozy, beautifully decorated, and spacious. The bed was comfortable including the pillows. It was the best nights sleep I have had in such a long time! The restaurant was really yummy. I would highly recommend this place to other people and would live to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,152
    1,168
    264
    90
    54
See reviews for
979
1,741
108
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights from Apr 16 - 20. It was awesome! Great location - we walked everywhere. Most comfortable beds and pillows I have ever had in a hotel...(I am EXTREMELY picky), so trust me when I say this is one of the best places on the beach - I spent months researching through TA and thanks to everyone's feedback I am glad I picked this hotel. Splurge for an oceanfront room, its worth every penny. Yes, the balconies are small, but how much time do you really spend in the room anyway! The view was breath-taking. Rooms were spotless and maid service was wonderful. Large Bathroom and shower were extremely clean - no complaints. Staff at front desk were very friendly and accomodating. Stay away from the time-share people - just a waste of time. Shorebird restaurant was good although slow service at times. Take advantage of the coupon at the bottom of your first check - it gives you 50% off your next entree at any meal. Pool area is great with lots of sun and shade for those of us who burn quickly. Drink service at pool was slow as well. Starbucks in lobby for a quick, cheap breakfast. Lots of restaurants near hotel. Bus to Ala Moana mall was 5 min walk from hotel. Rooms were very quiet and I did not hear any noise from hallways at night or from anyone above our room. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: splurge on the ocean front. Ask for a corner room. High floor. We were able to get the age 50+ di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is always great to read positive feedback & we thank you for sharing your experiences during your last visit here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

I will share your comments about the cleanliness of the room & how comfortable the pillows were with our Executive Housekeeper.

It is good to know that the staff at the Front Desk are courteous & accommodating. We are thrilled that the views from the Ocean Front rooms were worth the visit & we do hope that if you plan another vacation in the future that you select Outrigger Reef again as your destination of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After being in a small cruise cabin, we goT to our room and did the happy dance! Beautiful large room, with sitting area. We did not have view, but for us that was ok. The hotel was very gracious and let us check in early, around 9 am. The pool area was nice. It has a shady area, with fans that kept us cool. We did not sit at the beach, but did eat at the hotels restaurant the shorebird for dinner and breakfast. We did the early bird sirloin dinner which was 16.95 and $3.50 for really good Mai tais. The early bird was until 6 pm and the drink special until 5 pm. There was a coupon for half price second entree but we had trouble finding it. There was one in the this week magazine but found it too late. It is an unusual restaurant in that they bring your raw meet and then you go to a grill to cook. There is also a decent buffet that comes with it. The hotel is centrally located, walking distance to many stores and restaurants. We ate a p f changs, and went for a quick breakfast at subway ( not too good) definetly wild stay again. Hint- book with their web site. Definetly seemed like the best rare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We holidayed from 18th April - 26th April. We had an awesome time. The outrigger was extremely clean, very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble, restaurants really yummy! The outrigger is in the best location - close to the beautiful beach and close to all of the local shops as well. We would definitely return here for another holiday.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor - ask for higher floor so you don't hear any noise from restaurants dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just back from a week at the Outrigger Reef. Prepared for the trip by doing a lot of on-line research, including daily Trip Advisor reads and that really helped. The Reef is a nice property,
good location within walking distance to shopping, restaurants and bus stops. The staff was either hit or miss, depending on who you got. They were either helpful or had the " I could care less" attitude. And the funny thing about Honolulu is that there are tip jars everywhere - you would think good customer service would help pull in those tips.

As reported previously, the rooms are nicely laid out, spacious and the beds are wonderful, comfortable with great pillows. However, the walls are very thin. The family in the room next to ours had a small child who slept very little, but cried and whined a lot. Could hear their entire
conversations. Also, if you are a light sleeper, be prepared to hear doors slamming.

The pool is very small for the size of the property. The lobby of the property is very noisy. I sat in a nice chair waiting for airport transportation while listening to the wonderful music from Kani Pila Grille, but the constant flow of traffic and noise through the hotel made it difficult to hear. We did have dinner at Kani Pila and it was good.

As reported previously, the beach area for this hotel is not good, very rocky and small. The beach areas down near other resorts were less rocky and good for swimming and sunning.
The bus service is very convenient but crowded. The shopping seems geared for those wanting to purchase either high end designer goods or Hawaiian trinkets to bring home to family members.

We participated in the vow renewal ceremony since we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. It was very moving and emotional and a great experience. We did prepare by purchasing leis the evening before and were happy that we decided to do this.

Waikiki is crowded and full of visitors from all over the world, but the people trying to hustle you are out in force also. Sure people are trying to make a living, but strong arm tactics are not what you want on vacation. Also, there is a strong presence of homeless, we were asked for money on numerous occasions.

If you can, rent a car and drive around the Island. You get a different perspective outside of the Waikiki area. We took some wonderful pictures and enjoyed the Pearl Harbor experience one day.

I would not write a review without mentioning the good and the not so good. It's only fair to comment on both. It was a nice vacation, not peaceful and quiet, but scenic and full of interesting sights, sounds and people.

Room Tip: Partial ocean view - hopefully away from the elevators and rooms with adjoining doors. They seem to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Aloha!
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest here at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our focus is to ensure guest satisfaction and we appreciate your comments. We will be sure to use them as training for all of our staff involved. We are glad you enjoyed the Vow Renewal ceremony and are pleased to offer such a unique experience to our guests free of charge. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you as a return guest and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and experience at this hotel. Entire hotel very, very clean and all staff happy, polite, and helpful. Great location in the city; food excellent in restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Honolulu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for takign the time to post your review & especially for choosing Outrigger Reef!
ALOHA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay only wish we could have stayed longer but will be back in 2014
from the check in to check out staff were very helpful and friendly and gave advise as to were to go and how to get there our oceanfront room was perfect defiantly would recommend the Outrigger Reef on the Beach.

Room Tip: The Oceanfront Rooms are well worth the money .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha!
Thank you for choosing Outrigger Reef! We are looking forward to your return in 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.