We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful time in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our Honeymoon during our trip. We stayed at the Outrigger for a week. Check in was quick and the front desk lady was very friendly. She said they couldn't upgrade us to a nicer room but we were pleasantly surprised that the view was nicer than we expected. Everything was so clean, bathroom had no stains and housekeeping worked fast. There were three restaurants downstairs--we got to try one and they had live music every night from 6-9 which was nice. They also had direct access to the beach, which was convenient. It's located at a dead end street so it was pretty quiet--not so much traffic going on. It's close to everything--restaurants, the army museum, bus stops and the beach. We only rented a car one day during our entire stay. They also had a concierge who helped us figure out which buses to take. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,529
    1,414
    325
    99
    56
See reviews for
1,191
2,071
120
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week at this hotel. The location was wonderful. Right on the beach. The staff was prompt and very helpful. The room was fine..clean and perfect for us.The Outrigger is a nice place..close to shops and wonderful foods.
We had lived in Hawaii in the 1970's and the beach has eroded a lot but still a wonderful beach. I advise to rent a car and travel around the Island..meet the people..enjoy the fresh fruit and the beautiful landscape. Grab a piece of heaven in Hawaii .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great Location- Beach, pool, walking to shops and restaurants, very friendly staff all over. The rooms were big, clean and the views are terrific. The hotel restaurants were good for breakfast, and the one by the pool served a very nice lunch menu. The Shorebird gave us another 20% coupon after we gave the one that we got in a book at checkin.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "Family suite" which was a suite next to a regular 2 bed room in the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here in March 2013.
we picked this hotel mostly due to the location and tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. We were 2 adults and 2 kids ages 8 and 10.

nearby places that we visited (within 5-10 minute walk):

Henry's place for fresh fruit, sandwiches and ice cream. Apparently, this place is very popular among Japanese tourists.

Ginza Tonkatsu bairen. The best Japanese tonkatsu we've had.

Ramen Nakamura. Very satisfying ramen for about $10 each bowl, which is cheap for the area.

Roy's restaurant. Very average food at inflated price. We've eaten at several Roy's, and this place, along with the San Diego location, is the worst. Maybe Roy's as a chain is declining.

Marukame udon. Ok, more like a 15-20 min walk, but it's the cheapest meal you can have, at $5 per bowl. Rather plain noodles, nothing exciting. This place is popular I think mostly due to the cheap price.

House without a Key. We ate here for dinner. Average food, inflated price. Not worth it. View is the same as what you can get at our Outrigger hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed here for a 2 night "get back to reality stay" after being on the windward side for 8 days. The hotel is very nicely maintained and kept rigorously clean. We had exceptional help from Fernando at the check in desk. We had an ocean front room on the 2nd floor which during the first night was quite loud due to the folks partying at the restaurant below. Fernando promptly moved us into a corner suite with views to Diamond Head at no extra charge. That small move ensures that I will be back at this hotel again and again. Note - take advantage of the "barefoot" sales if you see them because they are a great deal. Some other things to note are that the beach is indeed a bit rocky as other reviewers have noted but not as much directly in front of the beach - more so to the right of the large stone jetty.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room if you can - the revelers at the restaurant below can get loud at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, General Manager at Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Mahalo for the kind words and for allowing us to host you. We have passed on your compliment to Fernando.


Warmest Aloha and A Hui Hou!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We LOVED this hotel! The staff was helpful, accommodating and friendly, the views in the end rooms were great, and the ambiance was delightful. This is a tasteful take on Waikiki-- fun but not too in-your-face. The location is awesome-- ON the beach. (The surf was so close to our room that we had to close the door on the balcony because it was so loud...a nice problem to have!) I heartily recommend this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms at the beach end have a view. The rooms farther back have views of either t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everything was great.check-in quick. Staff were very helpful and polite. Our room was wonderful..big king bed with a part ocean view.The beach was great - right out the front of the hotel..we ate at "Duke's" which is a must..Uncle Bo's..Jimmy Buffet. You are in the heart of Waikiki,action,eating and lots and lots of things to do..Will return to this hotel time and time again.The pool is on the small size but who need it when the beach is right there..

Room Tip: We had a big king bed with a partial ocean view on the 5t floor which was great..oversize room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,890 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.