We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locatin Location Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Charlton, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Locatin Location Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for a week over the busy April school break and had a fantastic time here! Its one of the few hotels actually on Waikiki beach (most are not actually on the beach) and its on the quieter end. NOT to be confused with quiet, but not as crazy as the majority of the beach. I can see why they have alot of repeat customers - they are very friendly there and the accomodations are excellent. There are 3 restaurants on the premises and all are excellent. I recommend the Ocean House for breakfast and The Shoreline for happy hour. We had a delicious dinner at the grille by the pool while enjoying Hawaiin musicians - there is live music everyday 6-9pm. Our room was on the 15th floor with an ocean view - loved it! We could hear the live music up there but it was nice background music, not loud or intrusive.

Room Tip: We bought beach chairs and used them on the hotel beach and the other various Oahu beaches we went t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,237
    1,225
    278
    91
    55
See reviews for
1,021
1,825
109
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matawan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Everything was wonderful. Check-in was quick, and easy, our room was nice, view was OK, and staff were helpful and polite.
I was a little disappointed in the beach, it was very small, I pictured it much larger, but it was fine.
We ate in each of the restaurants for breakfast and had a few issues, the buffet was stock with a lot of ehh items, and the items with substance (eggs, bacon. potatoes) were few. On the morning we ate at the buffet I waited in line for 15 min. and finally get to the substance part and it was completely empty, no eggs, no bacon, no potatoes, and no sausage. The people around me all waited for a few min. but nothing was brought out. I sat and decided I'd eat my fruit and then go up again. Guess what??? What are the chances??? I waited another 15 min. and the same thing happened again! I figured out that the trays that they were using were made for buffets for 20 people or so, too bad there were about 60 on line at all times. I got some yogurt and sat down and left hungry.
Another breakfast I found some hair in my waffles at a different place, and in that same place they ran out of items.
So, my only complaint about the hotel is the restaurants.
We needed a late check out and they were more than accommodating.
I think the hotel is located in a good spot and is fairly quiet.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 25 February to 8 March in a room overlooking Waikiki (room 425). Warm and very friendly welcome at the reception. In no time we could enjoy the beauty of a remodeled room and the view over Waikiki Beach. Everything was perfect. As in the past, we will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Absolutely no complaints here. Fantastic in every respect.

Awesome pool area plus easy access to the beautiful beach. Great place to watch the sunset.

Good location in close proximity to shops and restaurants of Waikiki, and a 15 minute walk to Ala Moana Shopping Centre.

We had a 10pm flight so had to check out at 12pm however they stored our bags then supplied us with a fresh room at 5pm so we could shower before we went to the airport. We didn't have to ask for this, they offered it!

Will be staying here next time for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First timers to Hawaii and my wife and I had a ball.
Nothing was to much trouble for the entire staff from the house maid to the top hauncho.
Rooms were spacious and clean, everything worked and the view was brilliant.
I wanted to go to a baseball game while we were there and the main man out front, Terry, was brilliant, he knew when the games were on and made sure I got to go to a game.
The wife went to Ala Moana shopping centre and I followed like all good Husbands, the place is huge. We also went to Maui for a few days and loved the place, however the Outrigger Reef was by far the best hotel we stayed at.

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

As first time visitors to Hawaii, we were mesmerized by our ocean view. We could sit out on our balcony and listen to the waves and watch the sunset. The warm breeze blowing....it was heavenly. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly and courteous. Since it was in the heart of Waikiki, we could walk all over and not have to worry about driving around until we were ready to do more sightseeing around the island. We would definitely return there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thank you outrigger, so glad took notice from tripadvisor reviews on this hotel. Our stay here amazing. Parcial ocean view room excellent, roomy and extremely clean room and property. Within 15 minutes of arrival room was ready for us at 9am. Staff went the extra mile to be helpful and friendly. Restaurants were good value with nightly entertainment. Stayed at Outrigger on the Beach also but Reef better by far. In quieter part of town so not noisy at night but only a 5 minute walk from the busy areas.New beachfront shopping precinct lovely. Will definately be back to this resort. Rooms are bigger than most in Honolulu and Starbucks downstairs for a coffee fix.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.