We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with great view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location with great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for four days and loved the property. Restaurants were great access to the beach and pool were easy, very family friendly. Walk out one way and you are one the beach, walk out the other way and you are in the heart of the shopping. Already planning on returning Breakfast buffet is really good. Be aware the there is a difference between "ocean view" and ocean front" they were very nice and let us view both and we chose ocean front to wake up and have coffee over looking the ocean, beach and Diamond head.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,369
    1,307
    296
    95
    55
See reviews for
1,093
1,932
113
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,035)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Location was at the quiet part of Waikiki beach. Room was great and staff very useful. The concierge basically planned our trip for us and we were very pleased. Restaurants were great too so when booking get breakfast included as the vouchers are very useful and include tax and tip. Only drawbacks were the aggressive sales pitches by the Wyndham representatives, they give you $100 voucher if you take 2 hour tour and can bug you in hotel and out and despite being on the beach, there is no complimentary beach beds. You have to hire them from private company on beach. Despite this it was nice and quiet but no far at all from all the action. If you want beach beds and to be were the Waikiki action is, go to the Outrigger Waikiki. Only other tip is to book Dukes Restuarant through Hotel. Wait times can be huge and we were pleasantly surprised to hear our hotel culd book time for us which was awesome.

Room Tip: Get a room in renovated towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was my first visit to Hawaii, and since I was only visiting Honolulu, I agonized over choosing the right hotel to provide me with the best island vacation experience. The Outrigger Reef is great because it is right on the beach, yet you are conveniently located steps away from lots of shopping and dining, as well as able to easily get to sightseeing opportunities (all without having to rent a car). I wanted to truly feel like I was in "Hawaii" and not just be in a hotel that felt like a hotel in any other city, so I think this hotel helped me accomplish that.

I love that you can exit right onto the beach and walk along the coast to several other hotels. Also, Outrigger, seems to offer lots of activities that you can sign up for if that is of interest to you (I did not). In addition, the Shore Bird restaurant in the hotel is a relaxing spot to look out at the beach (they have a great happy hour, and although the breakfast buffet is nothing special, it's a great chance to sit and enjoy the ocean while you eat). I think they did a great job of making the pool area a very relaxing oasis (with free towel service), and they even had a shady area where my boyfriend, who doesn't like the sun, could sit to still enjoy the great weather while I chose a sunnier spot closer to the pool for myself. The pool seemed to be filled with saltwater (which was a bit unexpected), but it was nice. There area also included 3 hot tubs (if that's your thing), and I was always shocked that we never had to fight for lounge chairs (although, we did not go during a prime time like Christmas or spring break).

The staff were extremely courteous, and I think this must be true of all of the Outrigger properties because when we dined at the Outrigger Waikiki, the staff at that restaurant exceeded our expectations. The bellhop also seemed extremely concerned on our last day that our ride was not going to be able to make it to the hotel due to traffic caused by a parade, and he advised us to tell go meet them at another convenient location that would be easier for them to get to. His tip really helped out, and we were grateful for the suggestion. I'm not sure what their regular rates are, but the rate we booked at seemed like a great deal for what we got. I booked a partial ocean-view room through Travelocity, and then I called to put in a request for a King bed on a higher floor (based on other people's reviews). When we arrived, we got our requested room, and we were put in the Pacific Tower, which did, in fact, allow us to see the ocean from the room's balcony. Our room did look out onto the pool, which we enjoyed, but some people may not because there is live music at night that you can faintly hear from the room (I found it soothing). The room was comfortable, clean, and included a safe. Surprisingly, the room service seemed to be priced lower than I'm used to, but we didn' t get the chance to try it. This hotel is definitely worth staying at.

Room Tip: Partial-ocean view is still nice (for less money), just be sure to get a higher floor so it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We had eight nights in Honolulu and having travelled from England (an 18 hour flight!) we wanted it to be worth it. We opted for the outrigger reef and overall were very happy with our choice. The hotel is in an amazing location right on Waikiki beach. It's also very close to some lovely restaurants (keos (thai), arincinos (italian), cha cha chas (mexican), hard rock) and shops putting you right in the heart of everything.

Check-in was really smooth and our room (ocean front) was totally worth the extra money. We were on the 8th floor overlooking the beach, ocean and diamond head. You get an uninterrupted view of the sunset which is just beautiful.

The rooms are a good size and appointed well with wifi which was an added extra as on the website it didn't mention that. The rooms aren't the most modern or luxurious we've stayed in and for the price we probably expected them to be slightly better but the view more than compensated. Each room has a balcony which is lovely in the evening.

The pool is a good size but is back from the beach and so doesn't get the sun all day (unlike the beach). It gets the sun 11-5 which was fine for us and you can order drinks and bar food. On the beach you have to pay for the loungers in front of the hotel - at $40 a day it can get quite expensive and is an added extra we hadn't expected.

We had breakfast in the ocean room which was delicious and lunch at the shore bird which is a great location on the beach but the food was overpriced for basic bar food. In the evening karaoke starts at around9pm which for us as a couple slightly spoiled the atmosphere of an otherwise very nice bar.

One thing to watch out for is the Wyndham sales reps who try to persuade you to get involved in their time share tours at every opportunity ( we avoided this). Their tour sales people are also extremely pushy and for us this was the most off putting part of the experience. Like most people we wanted to do a tour of pearl harbour and without realising it ended up on a very expensive all day tour of the Arizona memorial, bowfin submarine, Big Mo and the pacific aviation museum. Just check what you're signing up for and the price before agreeing to anything.

Overall, the location was what made this a standout experience so pay the extra for an ocean view.

Room Tip: We opted for an ocean view room and it was totally worth it - we had amazing views on to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with a great view of the ocean. The room is trimmed with Koa and has a very welcoming atmosphere. Really comfortable beds and the best pillows I have ever come across in a hotel room - had a fantastic sleep!
Staff and service cannot be faulted. Everyone we spoke to was very helpful.
They only have Valet parking at this hotel, cost is $35 a night. All fees and charges are included in the cost of the room per night and not added onto your final settlement bill, which was a nice surprise!
The free gift that is on your bed when you arrive is a time share promotion.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week in Oahu. We stayed the first four days at the Queen Kapiolani and then splurged on a weekend in an Ocean Front room at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. The short of it is pretty simple: it is not cheap but you definitely get what you are paying for. The name of the room says it all. We were on the 4th floor directly over the beach and water. You could not have asked for a better view or a better place to relax with a cold drink and watch the sun set over Hawaii.

We had pondered the somewhat pricier Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach but opted on the Reef based on the reviews here and the fact that it is on the end of the strip (next to Fort Derussy) as opposed to ground zero. It was still plenty hopping but not quite as chaotic as the frenzy around Duke's.

The room was large and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and there was ample closet space and a refrigerator. We were on the corner so there were two lanais (though the chances of you spending ANY time on the side one as opposed to the main one overlooking the ocean is practically none.).

The hotel itself is very nice -- with shops, a nice pool and two restaurants. You are close to lots of great places to eat and all the high-end shops. The beach has a nice reef and if you're lucky, you might find yourself snorkeling for 45 min next to a huge turtle. :-)

My complaints are minor at most. The wifi was terrible -- coming and going and never with a strong signal. They made quite the point of telling us we would have free wifi so it was funny that it was so bad. I had far better connectivity downstairs in the lobby. The parking was Honolulu standard -- $35 night (valet only). What can you do? There are no real options on that side of town.

Definitely look up the AAA discount when you book -- it was a huge one.

Ultimately you are paying for location and for that spectacular view -- at least that was what I was paying for. You can definitely lower your bill by getting an ocean view or partial ocean view. But if you are thinking of booking a really, really nice room for a few nights (or longer if you have lots of money to burn), you won't regret the Reef -- it was that nice.

Room Tip: If you want the full experience and can afford it, definitely go with the Ocean Front rooms. The vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just returned from a two week trip to Oahu with our 3 year old, 9 month old and grandma. We joined my sisters family down there with their kids, so we were a big group! We spent 3 nights here and quite enjoyed the stay.

Pros:
elevators are fast!
Room service is actually quite good, but pricey. Not the bland food we often expect from in-room dining.
The city view rooms actually have a view of the Trump pool, the park and other hotels, plus skyline. So it's not a bad view at all. We were on the 11th floor of diamond head tower.
The suites are spacious and well laid out for families.
Beautiful beach right out the back of the hotel.
Service was courteous, prompt and excellent.

Cons:
The pool is frigid. Granted its February, it was still so cold I was numb. The kids couldn't really enjoy the pool because of temperature and depth.
The beach lounge chairs are a little expensive to rent. We had hoped the Outrigger had lounge chairs for their guests, but no. We paid $40 to rent for the day but really didn't get full use with our kids being so young.

Overall a nice place..

Room Tip: Look for deals as we paid $300 plus tax/night for the 1bdrm suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.