We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We really enjoyed this property. We only stayed one night because I wanted to fly noon-stop overnight on the way home rather than deal with connection and layover nonsense. I wanted a swanky hotel right on the beach for our last night in Hawai'i, and that is just what I got. Service was very friendly and prompt, even the maids said 'hi' in the hallways (rather than ignore you like most places). The valet parking was a nice touch, and when you pay $35 bucks a day for parking, it's nice to have someone else do the running.
The grounds of this property are beautiful, lots of plants, fountains and wooden outrigger canoe decor. The pool had a good number of loungers that were never totally full. Ice water with lemon and mint at the towel station for the guests. You could have two beach/pool towels per guest, but you could get new ones anytime.
Beds were great and the pillows were amazing. Bathroom was very nice. I generally bring my own tub cleaner with me when staying at a hotel, but I had no need here (forgot it anyway). This place was VERY clean. I could even walk on the carpet barefoot.
We had the free breakfast buffet at the Shore Bird resturant and beach bar. It was good but I would have liked to have seen pancakes.
I doubt I would be able to stay at this place for more than one night due to the price (not loaded done with cash in theese parts), but if you don't have that problemor you are looking for a splurge, this is your place.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view if you don't mind the price increase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,237
    1,225
    278
    91
    55
See reviews for
1,021
1,825
109
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great centrally located hotel right on the beach in Waikiki where you can access other hotels along the waterfront from the hotel. You are also walking distance to the Waikiki central shopping, restaurants and otehr activities and events.

The Hotel has a great activities desk that can book anything from organised tours, a hire car, concerts and other important holiday activities. The staff recommend the best value for money activities and are very knowledgeable on actual activities as have experienced them or sort feedback from other guests.

Nothing is too much trouble with the fantastic hotel staff who greeted you when you arrived to anything you need from= housekeeping, the front desk or great invidual shopping stores located within the main hotel foyer area.

I was travelling North America for 4 months so always look for a hotel with a laundry mat to wash my pile of clothes. This hotel has one of the best set ups I saw in my travels, although it wasn't widely advertised the staff direct you to the location in the lower foyer area where the business centre and gym are also located.

There are two great restaurants, one with a bar area that were in the most fantastic location, facing right onto the beach. We visited both but preferred the more up-market restaurant on the right hand-side walking towards the beach as we celebrated my friends 'significant' birthday there by starting off with a birthday breakfast. The views at sunset are amazing, and the restaurant staff were incredibly helpful, even recommended other places to eat for the special birthday dinner we were organising.

The concierge desk staff were also amazing as every time we needed a taxi or had to go on a longer trip they organised someone to take us there. Prices was very reasonable too.

Definitely going back to stay next year for my birthday this time!

Room Tip: Partial ocean view rooms are great as I had one overlooking the pool and ocean from my balcony. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic location and loved the staff. Our room was on the 5th floor on the beach side. Large room, clean and 2 good size patios; one was an ocean view and the other Diamond Head view. There was no street noise. Night noise was enjoyable, as we had a view from either patio of the fireworks. The bar had music and you could listen to the music from your patio. The view from the Song Bird is priceless and the meals, fantastic. Always check if there is a drink special, yYou can't go wrong with the Happy hour cocktails. Beach was clean and well attended with free wedding vow service and view of fireworks. No problem with WiFi or any other hotel services. Would we stay again, in a minute! The Reef is a beautiful place giving you a warm welcome and the feel of Hawaiian culture. If you want a nice and quiet hotel the Reef is for you, beach is not overly populated as the "Public" beaches are. If you want action, great beaches, music and bar life the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach is the choice you have to pick. It also has the best breakfast buffet. Aloha

Room Tip: Rooms with a "Beach Front" view are the quietest if you are looking to get away from city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

They remodeled a few years back and the place is very nice. Super location . Diamond Head is to your left. You are right on the beach. Nice pool...3 whirl pools by the pool. Staff was super. You can walk to everything. Will go back again

Room Tip: Try to get your room in the north tower. Its closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton alberta canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just returned from a lovely and romantic get away. Celebrating our 25th anniversary, we participated in the free vow renewal ceremony. It was very moving and beautiful. We did enjoy our ocean view room (did ask to be moved from our original location because our view really was the building across from us). But after we moved we were happy. We paid a lot for the room but we really liked this hotel. It has an adequate little beach, customer service was great. The pool is always cold because it is nestled under the shade of two large buildings but being from Canada, that did not stop us from taking some plunges. Overall a lovely hotel, and for couples looking to rekindle the romance, the renewal ceremony is very special. Also, the fact that you are close to everything makes it a convenient location.

Room Tip: Try not to get the pacific tower, too far from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was my first stay after the Reef's remodeling a couple years ago, and I was delighted.
You get a chair during check-in, there was no waiting and the staff made you feel welcomed.
The room was very comfortable with carved koa wood accents, shutters, a cute curved sofa and many thoughtful conveniences. For instance, the bedside lamp had an illuminated power switch so you could easily find it in the dark. The in-room coffee maker included Hawaiian and green tea. The clock radio let you adjust brightness and included mp3 input.They provided real stationery-- can't recall the last time I saw that!
And best of all, free WI-fi and no resort fee!
The location is one of the best in Waikiki-- the beach has breakwater on both sides so it's calm for swimming with a great view of diamond head. A stellar sushi place--Nobu--is across the street, a Waikiki trolley/city bus stop is just out front, plus within walking distance to the key places in Waikiki.
I found it to be the best value of the 8 beachfront Waikiki properties at $235 per night with a city view. One caveat, city views and partial ocean view rooms are great here, but don't opt for the "no view" category, because they mean it.
Also, if you've never been to Waikiki, don't be fooled by hotels that describe themselves as "just a few blocks from the beach". You want to be on the beach-- schlepping armfulls of beach gear is a chore after 3 blocks. Plus, having glimpses of ocean throughout a hotel elevates your experience.
The Shore Bird downstairs has one the best deals of all the area breakfast buffets plus one of the nicest views. I liked the live Hawaiian music performances at dinnertime-- the roster even includes Cecil Pahunui on Wednesdays. Staying here was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here in early December 2012 and our purpose was to see Waikiki and visit Pearl Harbor. The hotel is nice and rooms are well appointed. The hotel has a cook your own steak restaurant which I liked, but my husband did not want to have to cook his own meal. Food was of good quality and the early bird prices made it reasonable. We had trouble adjusting to the time change as we are from New York state.
The balcony off the room was pretty narrow only barely holding a bistro table and two chairs and we were dismayed when a large white pigeon came in our room one morning when I left the sliding door open for a few minutes. Housekeeping was very pleasant.
People watching on the beach was great and very crowded. The hotel was fine but not very memorable.

Room Tip: I preferred being up higher and we paid for an ocean view and it is but the hotel is situated sidewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.