We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great location, Well worth the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Chino, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great spot, great location, Well worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a parial ocean view room, with adequate views of water, a pleasant balcony to relax on, clean room, great service. This is our first 4 star hotel, paying bigger prices than normal. I must say you get what you pay for. Prime location, we could walk to Hilton Hawaiian Village from here, or walk down waikiki via the beach and see all the shoreline hotels. Also, within a city block back you have 2 ABC stores to get whatever essentials you forgot. Plenty of great restaurants (especially Roys) and bars to choose from.

Again the oprice is so high that next time I will take a lower scale hotel nearby and save 3-400 dollars and use that for sight-seeing. But it was nice to indulge ourselves.

Room Tip: High floors have great views & quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,089
    1,129
    262
    88
    54
See reviews for
948
1689
105
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed here during a one-night business stopover. I have stayed here a number of times over the years. I stayed in Room 830 in the Pacific Tower. This room faces the new Trump Hotel across the street - the 8th floor looks out onto the very pretty, glasses-in pool area, all blue with muted lights, and the roof garden of the Embassy Suites kitty corner from the hotel. I like a city view almost as much as an ocean view, I like to check out what's going on locally. I found that the view was just fine, as the 8th floor was just high enough to see the local goings-on, and it's high up enough so that it was not noisy. I was not bothered by street noise at all. Facing the other buildings was not constricting at all on this floor, but lower that floor 8 would have a narrower view. This room was recently renovated, with grass paper masses, light brown, an extremely comfortable bed with non-crush pillows. Bathroom had a raised sink, the type that sits on the counter like a bowl. That normally does not work for me since I am only 5 foot 3, but this sink was just a touch lower so I had no problems. Amenities are full-size and very light-scented, not the blasting coconut or floral that you get in Hawaii. Plenty of thick towels. Real coffee maker (4 cup), not the single cup pieces of junk a lot of hotels have now. Staff was unbelievably pleasant, helpful and efficient, I was very impressed even though the staff here is normally that way. The Reef really knows how to get it done right when it comes to customer service. There is a nice workout room in the basement, three treadmills, two ellipticals a couple of benches and some free weights. Quite doable, but if you are military (active, Reserve or retired) you can walk over to the Hale Koa and use their full gym. There is a Starbucks right in the l lobby at the Reef, a Dennys around the corner for breakfast and just about any type of food you want very close by. I have eaten in their restaurant and I liked it a lot, reasonably priced and a little hideaway when the hubbub gets to you. Overall very pleasant, I would definitely return and I'm sure I will.

Room Tip: If you prefer an ocean view ask for the Ocean Tower. The Pacific Tower is fine, with city views, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger this past week. (January 8-12) There are not enough adjectives to describe how truly wonderful our time spent there was. We had an deluxe ocean front room and the view was, to say the least, magnificent. It was clean, spacious, comfortable and very attractive. The beds were comfortable, especially after long outings. The staff was extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. They were attentive to every detail. (even the surprise wedding vow renewal ceremony my wife had planned.) The restaurants were outstanding, in food and service with cheerful and knowledgeable wait staff. The concierge was always helpful and ready with useful suggestions for activities, shopping, and site seeing reservations, etc. Although the valet services were a bit pricey, we never had to wait for our car. They even cleaned the car up for every outing. One of them even went out of their way to find us a phone charger to use because ours quit working. Housekeeping was very thorough and pleasant. The house photographer, Boyana, was amazing to work with. She took many photos of our vow renewal ceremony. As a budding photographer, she was eager to capture a memorable moment with style and professionalism. The coordinator and officiant provided a beautiful and authentic Hawaiian wedding ceremony which made our renewal as wonderful and meaningful as our first.

Room Tip: Ocean front is certainly the best and well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I just got back from the Outrigger Reef on the Beach for our honeymoon (January 2013) and we loved it! They had a bottle of champagne delivered to our room when they realized we were celebrating our honeymoon - nice touch and good champagne!! The hotel itself is lovely and the staff is great - the rooms are very nice. The location is amazing - you dont even need a car if you dont mind walking - all the retail, restaurants and nightlife is all within 15 minutes. We rented a car at the Hertz at the hotel for two days to see Oahu. We stayed in an ocean view room on the side of the building facing the pool - we upgraded when we checked in and were told it would be quiet (its away from the beach) but this wasn't the case. The pool was loud as well as the restaurant. We were right above the restaurant that has live entertainment every night from 6-9, but overall it didn't bother us. We would definitely stay here again if we visit Waikiki!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We just got back from 6 nights at the Outrigger and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is directly on the beach and an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, I had read reviews on Trip Advisor about which rooms to pick so I asked to be in the Ocean Tower, which was the closet beachfront location and we had a Ocean View room with a balcony. While it overlooked the pool, it also had a lovely view of the ocean and well worth the upgrade, if you can swing it. I noted that the rooms with the best view in this tower would be about Floor 6 and up. The floors below that would be mostly blocked by an adjacent tower of hotel rooms. If you stayed in the Pacific Tower, you would need to be at least on the 7th floor to have a good view of the ocean, so choose carefully! I specifically asked for 1003. This was a corner room with a large balcony, but probably the oceanview rooms down through 1010 would have been even better as they were even closer to the beach. I appreciated having a refrigerator as well as a coffeemaker in the room. It was also nice to have the free WiFi, although it was quite slow and somewhat frustrating to be booted off every 10 minutes or so. The hotel restaurants are quite expensive, but not out of the ordinary for the Waikiki area (they are all expensive!) A few times we walked by the Shorebird's breakfast or lunch buffet, but the selections didn't look too appetizing, so we didn't try the buffet. The hotel does an overview/introduction on your first day and offers the breakfast buffet for only $4, which we would have taken advantage of, but we didn't know about it, so attending this event would be a good idea. The pool area is attractive, with several hot tubs and has live entertainment every night until 9 or 10 pm. (This doesn't seem that late, unless you are still on east coast time like we were, so we had to crank up our white noise app to block out the noise from the pool, even being on the 10th floor.) One of the best things we did was rent a car for the day to drive all over the island, although we avoided the hotel's expensive parking fee by returning the car at the end of the day. On the negative side, we found it annoying that there was a fee to rent a chair to sit in the beach. I realize that the beach probably has public access, but for guests actually paying to stay at the hotel, they shouldn't have to pay to sit on a chair on the hotel's beach. We also booked several tours at the hotel's activity desk, which in hindsight, we wish we hadn't, as most of them were way overpriced and also way too long. For example, we booked a trip to Pearl Harbor that took 8 hours (6:30 am -2:30 pm) We should have just paid cab fare and taken about an hour to see the Arizona Memorial. Another waste of time tour was the snorkeling trip, which was also billed as a whale/dolphin watch. It turned into a long boat ride with about 10 minutes of snorkeling and a quick dolphin and whale sighting and we didn't end up wanting the lunch and open bar that was included in the package. With a little research we could have done these activiites for less money and much less time. The one exception was Bike Hawaii. That was an excellent mountain bike tour with a very small group (5 of us)--our guide Jeremy was great and very knowledgeable about the history of the island. A mountain bike is a wonderful way to see sights and views not accessible by car. Note: "Lost" fans will love this bike tour! Bike Hawaii also offers hiking and kiyak tours, so we wished we had booked directly with them, as our bike tour was the highlight of our whole trip. Our best meal was at the famous Duke's, located a few blocks down the beach, but we had to eat early (5 pm) as it is very popular and always crowded.

Room Tip: There are 3 different sections/towers for this hotel--the rooms above the 6-7th floors would have ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Outrigger Reef for 7 nights in October following a short stay in Vegas. It's in a great location, right on the beach front so we could make the most of the wonderful Waikiki sunset. We found the staff so helpful and courteous, housekeeping was fantastic, onsite restaurants great, although we favoured the poolside bar and grille for amazing food & drinks in a relaxed atmosphere - with live music every night. The hotel was a great base to explore from, front desk staff planned trips for us and there was always something going on from pumpkin carving to lei making to marriage vow renewal and traditional dance. Our room was lovely, 13 floors up overlooking the pool, but also a good view of the ocean. Very clean and comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to book again and would recommend it to everyone. I can't wait for a direct flight from England to Oahu, I'd be there tomorrow!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Let me start with My wife and I are seasoned travelers and fairly particular on service and quality.
We stayed here with friends for 5 days in a beach front room ( not to be confused with a beach view room as our friends were but still a great room) and could not fault the room or location there are 3 good quality restaurants / bars with 2 over looking the beach there is free WiFi the staff were great .
On our last night we found a fantastic restaurant ( directly opposite ) BLT in trump tower it has the freshest seafood we have had in a long time. This was our first time in Honolulu and are going back in December we loved it that much.
The only point I would stress is dont book day trips / tours / golf etc through wyndhams which are in the building or concierge as they are way over priced
eg. Atlantis submarine ( which is awesome by the way ) was $153 ea which included there special $10 ea discount for booking through them but if you walk upto Atlantis which is about 100 Mtrs up the beach we got tickets for $110.50ea and got on straight away on the 11am tour also Wyndham said they could do a special golf deal just for us $230 ea + $55 club hire ea / round
Don't pay this guys. Ala Wai golf club around the corner nearly ( 5 minute taxi ) is $30ea and $25 club hire and not a bad course. You just have to book tee times
At the end of the day though I don't think you will find a better hotel with direct beach access and as I said we will be back to the same hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.