We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30 Year Anniversary!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“30 Year Anniversary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel was really really nice. Our room was lovely and very spacious. Being on the beach was amazing. The staff was very nice and the restaurants served good food. We were able to renew our vows on the beach in a ceremony arranged by the hotel. It was so so nice and the pictures they took for us were a great remembrance of our trip!

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor and thought it may have been a little noisy being so close to the lobby and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,177
    1,189
    269
    90
    54
See reviews for
993
1,768
109
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (906)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Located right on the beach this hotel was in a perfect location.
It was obvious that they had been updated recently. The room was beautiful. From our balcony we overlooked the pool and had a partial view to the ocean.
We were only 2 blocks from PF Changs and the main street so shopping was easy. The bus was only 2 blocks down so a mall trip easy to do. Friendly staff. RIGHT across Street is my favorite restaurant. ROYS. Do try both.

Room Tip: Rooms above pool can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, HI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for the first time although we've stayed at many Honolulu hotels for business or family gathering. The price was more than we usually pay but it was for one night and my tax seminar was next door at the Halekulani Hotel. The check-in and valet people were friendly, courteous and professional. We were upgraded to an ocean view room, which also looked at the Halekulani hotel and the Reef's swimming pool. The best thing about this hotel was the bed. It was perfect. The hotel is kept in excellent condition and we enjoyed our stay. We had breakfast at the Ocean House Restaurant - good food and great waitstaff. We had "dinner" at the House Without A Key at the Halekulani - memorable King crab sandwich and the best (Maui style) potato chips.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pacific Tower but I think the rooms in the Ocean Tower might be better since it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here way back in 2005 and on my latest trip to the States decided to stop over here on the way home for 4 days/3 nights.

I'd heard it had been renovated and wanted to see what improvements had been made. When i originally booked the hotel through Expedia it gave me a City View SimpleSaver Rate and a City View rate, Thinking since the city view rate was slightly more expensive i booked it thinking i might get a slighlty better room, i now have to wonder if it was exactly the same room.....

So i arrived from the airport at 10:30pm on Fri Nov 9 and the girl checked me in and issued me Room 305, it was on the 3rd floor and had a view of the pool, To be fair the room was beautiful but when you're paying $250 AUD a night it is a little dissapointing to get such a low floor.

As i said the Room was great, it had a Huge Comfortable Bed, Quite a large vanity area and a decent shower and toliet. The tolietries were of good quality and they had plenty of soaps, vanity items etc it also had a balcony despite not really having a view of anything

The flat screen television had a decent amount of channels and was well set up. The renovations are very tasteful and make the hotel feel very Hawaiian. it was great to have the Kuai market downstairs open till late so you could pick up items to drink, snack on etc

I had breakfast which was included in my rate one morning at the Shorebird....Buffet style but the food was fantastic.

Another tip i would give to Outrigger is get rid of the timeshare salespeople....It lowers the tone of an otherwise great hotel and im sure i wasnt the only one who didnt appreciate them.

Its bad enough Wyndham have people set up on Lewers St beachwalk without also dealing with them at your own hotel!

The pool is excellent and as i said despite the little things i mentioned i would stay here again!

its in a great location with plenty of restaurants nearby. PF Changs and The Cheesecake Factory were favourites of mine

I checked out on Nov 12 and they were able to store my bag as i had a late night flight to New Zealand!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't fault the hotel. The staff were friendly and went out their way to help.The staff at the restaurant by the pool (can't remember the name) were excellent and the restaurant had nightly entertainment which was great to sit have a drink and listen to after a long day.The hotel is very central to all restaurants and the bus service is only minutes away within 4 minutes walking distance. The hotel is right on the beach with a great walking track. If you like shopping Ala Moana Shopping Centre is a 20 minutes walk or catch the bus either way very close.Will definately come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband & I spent a week here in June 2012. I believe it was our 4th stay here in recent years & this last time was just as great as on our previous stays. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary by participating in the vow reneal ceremony, it was a highlight of our time at the Reef. We both feel so comfortable at the hotel, it seems like our home away from home. We love the location, close to everything but in a less crowded area of Waikiki. We are hoping to be able to return next year & the Reef will definitely be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I really enjoyed the Outrigger - it was luxurious, clean and an enjoyable hotel. There were 3 great restaurants and free enertainment. The staff members were always friendly and helpful. I especially appreciated Gina's help getting me checked in!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The higher up you are the more you can see from any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.