We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a partial view- Well appointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Room with a partial view- Well appointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Located right on the beach this hotel was in a perfect location.
It was obvious that they had been updated recently. The room was beautiful. From our balcony we overlooked the pool and had a partial view to the ocean.
We were only 2 blocks from PF Changs and the main street so shopping was easy. The bus was only 2 blocks down so a mall trip easy to do. Friendly staff. RIGHT across Street is my favorite restaurant. ROYS. Do try both.

Room Tip: Rooms above pool can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,047
    1,096
    255
    88
    53
See reviews for
911
1657
103
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, HI
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for the first time although we've stayed at many Honolulu hotels for business or family gathering. The price was more than we usually pay but it was for one night and my tax seminar was next door at the Halekulani Hotel. The check-in and valet people were friendly, courteous and professional. We were upgraded to an ocean view room, which also looked at the Halekulani hotel and the Reef's swimming pool. The best thing about this hotel was the bed. It was perfect. The hotel is kept in excellent condition and we enjoyed our stay. We had breakfast at the Ocean House Restaurant - good food and great waitstaff. We had "dinner" at the House Without A Key at the Halekulani - memorable King crab sandwich and the best (Maui style) potato chips.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pacific Tower but I think the rooms in the Ocean Tower might be better since it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here way back in 2005 and on my latest trip to the States decided to stop over here on the way home for 4 days/3 nights.

I'd heard it had been renovated and wanted to see what improvements had been made. When i originally booked the hotel through Expedia it gave me a City View SimpleSaver Rate and a City View rate, Thinking since the city view rate was slightly more expensive i booked it thinking i might get a slighlty better room, i now have to wonder if it was exactly the same room.....

So i arrived from the airport at 10:30pm on Fri Nov 9 and the girl checked me in and issued me Room 305, it was on the 3rd floor and had a view of the pool, To be fair the room was beautiful but when you're paying $250 AUD a night it is a little dissapointing to get such a low floor.

As i said the Room was great, it had a Huge Comfortable Bed, Quite a large vanity area and a decent shower and toliet. The tolietries were of good quality and they had plenty of soaps, vanity items etc it also had a balcony despite not really having a view of anything

The flat screen television had a decent amount of channels and was well set up. The renovations are very tasteful and make the hotel feel very Hawaiian. it was great to have the Kuai market downstairs open till late so you could pick up items to drink, snack on etc

I had breakfast which was included in my rate one morning at the Shorebird....Buffet style but the food was fantastic.

Another tip i would give to Outrigger is get rid of the timeshare salespeople....It lowers the tone of an otherwise great hotel and im sure i wasnt the only one who didnt appreciate them.

Its bad enough Wyndham have people set up on Lewers St beachwalk without also dealing with them at your own hotel!

The pool is excellent and as i said despite the little things i mentioned i would stay here again!

its in a great location with plenty of restaurants nearby. PF Changs and The Cheesecake Factory were favourites of mine

I checked out on Nov 12 and they were able to store my bag as i had a late night flight to New Zealand!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't fault the hotel. The staff were friendly and went out their way to help.The staff at the restaurant by the pool (can't remember the name) were excellent and the restaurant had nightly entertainment which was great to sit have a drink and listen to after a long day.The hotel is very central to all restaurants and the bus service is only minutes away within 4 minutes walking distance. The hotel is right on the beach with a great walking track. If you like shopping Ala Moana Shopping Centre is a 20 minutes walk or catch the bus either way very close.Will definately come back and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband & I spent a week here in June 2012. I believe it was our 4th stay here in recent years & this last time was just as great as on our previous stays. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary by participating in the vow reneal ceremony, it was a highlight of our time at the Reef. We both feel so comfortable at the hotel, it seems like our home away from home. We love the location, close to everything but in a less crowded area of Waikiki. We are hoping to be able to return next year & the Reef will definitely be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I really enjoyed the Outrigger - it was luxurious, clean and an enjoyable hotel. There were 3 great restaurants and free enertainment. The staff members were always friendly and helpful. I especially appreciated Gina's help getting me checked in!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The higher up you are the more you can see from any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife had a dream as a young girl about paradise, in Hawaii, and out trip to the Outrigger Reef was just as she wished. The rooms were, large, clean and beautifuly, quiet and perfect. The staff was very warm and helpful. The food was top rate, and the service was the best. The prices were fair, and portions were large. The pool area, is clean and well maintained. Entertainment was perfect, just like the weather.
The front desk staff were informative, and the tour folks were well versed in assisting our time managment and sightseeing requests.

The beach was very impressive. We had not yet departed our homeymoon adventure when we started to plan the return.

People there who stuck out the most, was Mikey in the bar area. Informative friendly and just a great guy for us to talk to. Our Cleaning staff were very friendly and even off duty she was an excellent person to us.

We enjoyed the Reef, and have and will continue to tell all of our friends about thie adventure. We got great value for our dollar and felt like royalty there.
Mahalo

Room Tip: The view of the Ocean was noise free, as we had the pool view and a great ocean view, We enjoyed the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.