We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Gem - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Gem - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Sheraton and Moana Surfrider on previous trips to Waikiki. We can not come up with any reason why the Outrigger Reef on the Beach is priced so much better compared to the others. The hotel is clean, recently renovated, and the Beach is perfect. Far fewer people on the beach versus the main beach between the Sheraton and Moana, and you have access to the same beach amenities. Access to shopping and dining is perfect. The hotel is located directly across from The Waikiki Beach Walk shops and the Royal Hawaiian Center. Hotel is under rated in our opinion. Beach directly in front looks small, but that is actually a positive. Between the hotel beach an tr Hilton there is a much larger stretch of beach with calmer waters and again, a lot fewer people than on the main Waikiki beach. Great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,093
    1,135
    262
    88
    54
See reviews for
951
1694
105
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (865)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Had a great 3 night stay at The Outrigger Reef in early December. Hotel has all the amenities, is great value and the staff are really friendly. Earlier posts made about the swimming pool being too small don't add up, the pool is large as are the 2 spa's. There were never more than 5 people in it at one time so how big does it need to be? The only slightly negative remark I will make is that The Shorebird restaurant breakfast buffet was poor, we switched to the Ocean restaurant and it was great. Overall this hotel is great value and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for Christmas. Good location on Waikiki, close to shops and the main drag. Newly updated hotel! Clean rooms and great service. Hotel staff friendly and accommodating. Bonus...the Starbucks onsite pleased the whole family. Only drawback was no rooms with two queen sized beds. Only kings and doubles.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for six nights in December. The porters on arrival were excellent. We arrived with a rental car and the porter told us exactly where to take the car to return it and took care of the luggage straight away.

We wanted to see the ocean from the room so booked an ocean-view room. We were allocated an ocean view room in the Pacific Tower. I knew from the reviews that the partial ocean view rooms only had a view from the balcony, but I thought that if we paid the extra for the ocean view we would see the ocean. This is not the case. So I have no idea what the difference is between partial ocean view and ocean view except the price.

So on arrival into our ocean view room, I wasn't happy, so I called the desk and was told I would need to upgrade to an ocean front room if I want to see the ocean from the room. So we paid the extra and upgraded. We were allocated room 619 of the Ocean Tower. The view from the ocean front room was beautiful as you would expect. Great view of the gorgeous sunsets and we left the doors open of a night to hear the ocean which was really nice. Unfortunately every morning at around 4am a couple of people (possibly staff) decided to have a loud conversation on the beachfront right below our room.

The rooms in the hotel are very nice, in excellent condition, with good sized bathrooms (shower is over the bath), in a good location.

The lobby is lovely, the staff are friendly.

Our room wasn't serviced on one of the days, so I called the front desk and they sent someone to service the room.

The pool was absolutely freezing. I was really looking forward to having a swim, but it was just too cold. However there is a very hot spa pool. The pool service is good, with staff offering bar service.

The restaurants in the hotel were good. I have reviewed them separately.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for an ocean view over a partial ocean view - they are the same thing. I wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

What a nice vacation destination. We booked a hotel that ended up being a dump. Walked into this place and they hooked us up with a room at a decent price and were quick about doing it. It is right on the beach and has it all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Outrigger Reef on the Beach is a fantastic place to stay in Waikiki. The location is great, its on the beach and close to many restaurants and shops. Yes, the beach directly infront of the hotel is a bit rocky but you only need to walk a couple of minutes in either direction to find soft sand. We had an awesome room on the 16th floor which had two balconies, one small lanai facing the city and mountains and the other was large with ocean views. Check in was quick and easy and we were lucky that our room was ready for us. The housekeeper, Shun Rye, was just lovely and very helpful. She would greet us every morning with a lovely smile and a little chat. The timeshare staff didn't really bother us, we were aware of them so we made sure we didn't get too close to them. The spa (jacuzzi) next to the pool was a great way to relax at the end of the day. We ate at only one of the onsite restaurants, at the Kane Ka Pila Grill, which was fantastic and we enjoyed listening to the entertainment they provided every night. During our stay the only small problem we had, and this was no big deal, was that when checking out we were charged for 3 nights valet parking instead of just 1 night, but this was adjusted immediately. This was our second stay at Outrigger Reef in the last two years and both stays have been wonderful. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit! Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just checked out of ocean view room 705. It was clean, average sized, and had standard amenities. Overall I rate this as a 4 star stay. Candidly, while it is located in the heart of all the action of Waikiki Beach, we actually prefer the Outrigger (main) across from the Int'l. Marketplace. That property has a larger beach that is nicer for swimming. The beach at the Out. Reef is small and very rocky, and we didn't enjoy trying to wade in amongst very rocky footing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.