We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #7 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great spot for a honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon to Hawaii and we thoroughly enjoyed the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. The rooms were very nice, we thought the service was wonderful and it was in a great location. It is right on Waikiki beach and right in the hub of the downtown shopping area.

Plus, they gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,409
    1,326
    300
    97
    55
See reviews for
1,106
1,972
115
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is on a great location. We stayed during Thanksgiving week. I got a City View room at higher level, but the ocean view from the balcony is great. The beach a few steps to the right of the hotel which is in front of a military park is the most suitable for swimming. The slope is gentel, so is the wave.

The location is the very convenient, easy walking distance to most of the dining and shopping. We have used the Shorebird for most of the breakfasts, it has great Hawaii fruits to get started, plus many other hot selections. THe hotel staff are very friendly. There many free classes from bead necklace making to hula dancing in the hotel, wish we had time to try the classes but we were too busy with the other outdoor activities.

We used the bus to Pearl Harbor and Hanuama Bay. The bus system is very convenient in Honolulu. Great stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 8 nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. The staff were great and made every effort to ensure the stay was to our satisfaction. We had an ocean front room and all I can say is Wow. The views were fantastic and because we had a corner room we had 2 balconies. The location was excellent. The beach was accessible via one of the cafes on site or by walking 5 minutes around the corner. Lewers st was opposite which had restaurants and shops. The street that meets the main st of kalakaua avenue. Starbucks coffee shop was on site and it also had 3 other restaurants. Pool was great with spa and plenty of lounge chairs.
Tour desks on site as well. The only drawback was that they tried to sell you tiimeshare but that was everywhere. You just say No and that was it.

Would definetely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just stayed here from Dec 2-8th, 2012. Here is what my husband and I discovered:
1. You CANNOT swim at the beach at the Reef - Reef and shells, sharp rocks that we were unaware of and found out the hard way; cuts on our feet! Just a short walk away, you can swim and surf at the beach in front of the Moana Surfrider.....I would recommend the water shoes for kids no matter where you swim.
2. Mai Tai special at the Shorebird is great from 12-5 and their mahi fish and chips is amazing - use the coupons they give you. They also have a good breakfast buffet and the restaurant right next door is lovely as well.
3. The saltwater pool is fabulous, but you do have to pay to rent chairs on the beach..not cheap.
4. Yard House just down the street has the best beer selection, especially if you want a dark beer.
5. Doraku sushi is amazing (above Kate Spade)...
6. The live music at night is really great and can be enjoyed from the majority of the balconies or by the pool at night...great.
7. The Oro Gold ladies in the lobby/hotel will hard sell you and draw you in with their samples....stay away. The salesgirl told me that she could only give me a special offer that day because she would be gone the rest of the week and we saw her there the next day....ugh.
8. The time share people weren't that bad, no big deal.
9. Reseach your trip because the concierge & Activities Desk weren't the most helpful...better to ask the waiters/waitresses about the island.
10. The ABC stores are great, but the Coco Cove stores are great and have very different things to offer....
Above all, clean rooms, very quiet and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I are currently at the hotel and are enjoying our stay, the room is clean and the house keeping staff are great as well as the rest of the staff we've been in contact with, I did see an earlier review that commented on the timeshare sales. The only hotel staff that have said anything about the timeshare sales are the ones we approached and declined the offer of a free breakfast, the timeshare people on the street are a bit of a pain but this is not our first trip to Waikiki and have pretty much learned out to shut them out, they're just doing their job and for the most part are nice and don't push there is usually someone right behind you that they can pitch to. Would we stay here again you bet we have stayed here before as well as other hotels in the area and this is one of the nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef for a week. Don't get me wrong ..it's a nice Hotel, but perhaps our views on the standards of the hotel have been a little skewed by our historical stays in beachfront properties in Oz. Location was good ...our 'Ocean View" room was just that, but you needed lean over the balcony to take a good look at the ocean, which was a little spoiled by the extensive "vog" that week - acknowledging that the weather is something completely out of everyone's control! Views were impeded by an adjoining hotel and unfortunate location of ventilation towers at the Reef. Staff were quite friendly and the supporting facilities at the Hotel (ie gift, convenience stores and a Starbucks) great and much welcomed. Rooms a little on the small size for a resort-style hotel but they were clean and well-appointed and at least you were not sitting on top of one another (apparently on average rooms are generally on the small-side in Waikiki). Great pool which the 8 year old lived in in addition to easy access to the beach. Free wifi was also good. We would return but probably not for an extensive stay - prefer to explore the other islands next time round.

Room Tip: Select an oceanfront room (if you can afford it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The best first impression I could have of Hawaii was made possible by staying at this place. We got there in the evening and we were greeted by the live music on the ground floor and great ambiance. I love how they have a starbucks, convenience store, and three restaurants ONSITE! Once we were checking in they informed us that they had upgraded our room since they knew that we were on our honeymoon and even provided champagne in the room EVERYDAY. All of their staff is super friendly. I would def. recommend buying the breakfast buffets which are offered for their onsite restaurants, they are well worth it. The hotel is in such a convenient location which allows you to walk over to plenty of restaurants and shopping venues. My husband and I will definitely be coming back to enjoy Hawaii's beauty here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.