We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really it's this good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Really it's this good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It started with the checkin, "you been upgraded from Oceanview to Oceanfront". Great start. The room was spotless, and very comfortable beds. Dinner at the Ocean House was excellent, and the buffet breakfast was a great start to the day. Absolutely nothing negative, staff was great. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were there for a family wedding
Loved it all, literally step out of the hotel and onto the beach
We were on the 17th (top) floor and had great views, not ocean front but still great. The room was spacious and the bed was enormous. Very clean, serviced every day unless you left the sign out.
Breakfast daily at the Shorebird on the ground floor was fantastic, walking distance to everything in town, friendly staff that went out of their way for you
Nightly karaoke in Shorebird was fun (I didn't sing!!!) and live entertainment each evening at the other restaurant on ground floor.
Absolutely fantastic in every way

Room Tip: Get a room up high on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Upon arrival I enquired about an ocean front upgrade. Even though the hotel was pretty full the lady at the desk found one for a small extra fee. Unfortunately the room had no view of Diamond Head. Back to the front desk to ask if one was available on the diamond head side. I was told one would be available the next day if I wanted to move over then. Packed our bags the next day, went out for a walk and lunch, came back our bags had been moved to the new room. The view and the room more than met our expectations, absolutely beautiful! We had a couple of minor problems with the bathroom which were fixed immediately. I can't speak highly enough about the service we received. There are also a couple of nice restaurants with a selection of live entertainment to choose from as well as happy hour. From my perspective I would highly recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and generally better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gonesurfing54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odin, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Oahu and our 3rd stay at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. The hotel was absolutely beautiful with the open air environment. Our room was ocean and city view, above the swimming pool. And we were not disappointed at all. The room looked exactly like the professional photos show. The beds were extremely comfortable. We ate at the Shorebird and Kani Ka Pila Grille and they were both outstanding. The one and only thing that I would say was a dissapointment was the rocky ocean, and I do not blame the hotel for that. It was hard to walk in barefoot. Because of staying there before, we were aware of that before we booked the hotel. I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone I talk to and would definately stay there again. VERY VERY happy with our stay and VERY VERY sad to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent 5 days here. Our ocean view room was just that, an ocean view. We overlooked the pool and had a city view, as well. Who could ask for anything more? The hotel has been completely updated. It was clean and inviting. The cultural activities were great. The restaurants offered something for everyone. We enjoyed listening to the evening entertainment from our balconey. The Reef offers a wedding vow renewal service that should not be missed. We participated and came away renewed and reaffirmed in our love for one another. The Reef is a bit of paradise in an otherwise crowded busy city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredinPahrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were so amazed at our Oceanfront One Bedroom Suite. Not only did we have a beautiful ocean frontage but it was very comfortable and homey feeling. The lady who cleaned our suite ' Wo Shun - was not only friendly but made us feel like our suite was her only room she cleaned. That personal touch from everyone here was awesome and you truly felt the caring and warmth from every department. The OceanHouse restaurant is delicious with the food preparation being excellent. If you like good fish and chips the Shore Bird has the best in Waikiki and a great bar and view of Waikiki!! Checkin was expeditious as well as checkout which can be done from your Plasma television. When the bellman retrieves your luggage he asks if a ride to the airport has already been arranged. If not, he will arrange one for you. One receives a smile and a warm Aloha. This is our second time at Outrigger Reef and we will be returning next year. Oh yeah, we live on Maui but do our "staycations" on O'ahu at the Outrigger Reef.. Aloha nui from Maui Nei

Room Tip: If you have a family try for one of the 1 bedroom suites which also can include an adjoining room. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tera50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Loved the place - beautiful open foyer area from the main road through to the ocean 'out the back' - great location - right on Waikiki Beach and close to all public transport and shops - great staff - great amenities - only real issue (and it's only quite small) we had was with the restaurants - cook your own at the Shore Bird - might be great for some but tedious for others - however having the place opening onto the beach and having never ending ocean views redeemed it. For cocktails and great Hawaiian music from very talented local bands the Kane Ka Pile Grille was hard to fault.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,919 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,196 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#6 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing