We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time -even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Concord, Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2nd time -even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We recently returned to the Outrigger Reef in September having stayed 15 months prior. We stayed for 12 days in a one bedroom suite. The suites are great because they offer extra space, small fridge, sink, table etc plus a fold out sofa bed for our 4 year old. The rooms are so clean and the housekeeping staff are REALLY polite and friendly. Our housekeeper gave my daughter a gift on our departure which was very kind. This is a also a great hotel because of it's relaxed/casual atmosphere and is terrific for kids for that reason. The hotel is very well located in the 'nicer'/ not so busy end of Waikiki and there are some terrific restaurants in very close proximity to the hotel including PF Changs, Roy's plus many more.The direct beach access is fantastic. Breakfast in the Ocean House is really nice, healthy, fresh food prepared to your order. Lunch by the pool is
good especially the salads
and burgers! Great to see so many familiar faces of the staff. This hotel is small enough not to feel like a small city which is what some of the other hotels feel like.

Room Tip: Get a City view suite and ask for a high floor. Save your money to shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,047
    1,095
    254
    88
    53
See reviews for
910
1657
103
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Then "Outrigger Reef" was our choice of hotel after our cruise around the Hawaiin islands. From the moment we set foot on this property we fell in love with it. Very clean, our room was very spacious and our view was magnificent.The staff were friendly and very helpful. It was centrally located and easy to access. Walking distance to major shops and restaurants.
Enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If budget permits, choose an ocean view room, you won't be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you stay in Honolulu, give the Outrigger a try! Immediate beach access with a nice view of Diamondhead on one side ... within one to two blocks to the shopping and entertainment district on the other.

The open air hotel is immaculate; our room's bath area was the cleanest of any hotel in which I have stayed.

The Shore Bird restaurant downstairs is a MUST for breakfast ... the buffet is to die for.

If you're interested in a Gray Line tour, most tours pick up at the Outrigger. This is a HUGE PLUS.

Just a few reasons I give it a 4 instead of 5 (in hopes hotel management sees it and can make some customer services changes):
- Although the food at the Shore Bird is excellent, the host staff was less than friendly at times. It seems as if they were very put out with special payment requests (payment for the buffet is required upon arrival - my mom and I wanted to pay separately - this seemed to irk the hostess). HOWEVER, they do give a great discount, shown on your receipt, for your next buffet. So the trade off evens the score. :-)

- The walkway from the hotel to the beach is just outside the Shore Bird restaurant. Smokers liked to gather right here. VERY irritating since this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. Management, if you're reading this, please consider a designated smoking area far from any entrances.

- The guys who rent the beach chairs and umbrellas could be jerks. One was sarcastic (and not in a friendly way), and another told me it wasn't his job to help me adjust my chair. Maybe it wasn't his job, but he could have been a gentleman and helped regardless.

- Don't get sucked into the timeshare tour guys!!!

Aside from those notes, the pool isn't much, but then I can sit by a pool any day. I was there for the BEACH!

Valet, concierge and housekeeping staff were all wonderful.

Hope this helps make your decision on where to stay on Oahu!

Room Tip: We got the partial ocean view and could still hear the ocean and see Diamondhead. If you wish to sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OutriggerReefHotel, Manager at Outrigger Reef on the Beach, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Aloha Kresta,
Thank you for all your valuable comments & suggestions. Please know that we appeciate the feedback.
On smoking on the walkway to the beach (near Shore Bird), all beaches and beach accesses are open to the public & it is difficult to modify people’s behavior. The hotel does provide a designated smoking area (located on the front side of the property).
Thank you again & we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach, and the hotel is spectacular! The room was spacious, clean with the most comfortable bed. Plenty of amenities including free wifi, great pool and 3 great restaurants. It pays to take advantage of the early bird and breakfast specials at the Shorebird restaurant. This hotel has easy acces to the beach, a great pool and the staff was great. I will be back to this hotel on my next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauran
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Outrigger on the Reef after reading many reviews on trip advisor. We are so happy with the decision made. We were made very welcome and found the staff so friendly and obliging. The non smoking policy was an absolute plus. The linen was beautifully laundered and pressed and changed upon request. Our room 421 on the south side with sea peeps was very very quiet and would recommend this room for privacy and quietness yet able to still see what was happening on the beach outside from your lanai. Swimming out the front of the resort was okay but stoney underfoot however a few meters right along towards the Hilton the beach is sandy and swimming is just perfect. Shopping was brilliant and right on your doorstep with taxis, shuttles and buses as required. This was the perfect holiday destination and we will return and our family are making plans now with their friends to go to the Outrigger in a few months time. We are here in September and reports say that this is the best time. We have just done the cruise on the Pride of America which too cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: We had room 421 on the south side with sea peeps and it was perfect. It is also very very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The outrigger reef on the beach was a place that truly was family friendly. The staff went out of their way to accommodate my family in anything that we wanted to do. They organized all our tours and help us with how to get around easier on the island.

Room Tip: Choose the floors that are on the Waikiki beach side of the hotel. Less noise and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent customer service from all including housekeeping, valet, reception. We ate breakfast at all three of the restaurants. We preferred the food at the pool restaurant. Scenic view and service was excellent at the Ocean restaurant. Shorebird for breakfast was just ok. Really wanted toast but this is not an option. Convenient access to Starbucks and many restaurants in the area (especially beachwalk and Lewers street).
Many shops in the hotel. There is an "art shop" that was wonderful.

Room Tip: For cost reasons, we choose a non ocean/city view. We were satisfied with this choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.