We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort to your Saves list
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach, and the hotel is spectacular! The room was spacious, clean with the most comfortable bed. Plenty of amenities including free wifi, great pool and 3 great restaurants. It pays to take advantage of the early bird and breakfast specials at the Shorebird restaurant. This hotel has easy acces to the beach, a great pool and the staff was great. I will be back to this hotel on my next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,483
    1,394
    318
    99
    56
See reviews for
1,167
2,042
117
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in the Outrigger on the Reef after reading many reviews on trip advisor. We are so happy with the decision made. We were made very welcome and found the staff so friendly and obliging. The non smoking policy was an absolute plus. The linen was beautifully laundered and pressed and changed upon request. Our room 421 on the south side with sea peeps was very very quiet and would recommend this room for privacy and quietness yet able to still see what was happening on the beach outside from your lanai. Swimming out the front of the resort was okay but stoney underfoot however a few meters right along towards the Hilton the beach is sandy and swimming is just perfect. Shopping was brilliant and right on your doorstep with taxis, shuttles and buses as required. This was the perfect holiday destination and we will return and our family are making plans now with their friends to go to the Outrigger in a few months time. We are here in September and reports say that this is the best time. We have just done the cruise on the Pride of America which too cannot be faulted.

Room Tip: We had room 421 on the south side with sea peeps and it was perfect. It is also very very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The outrigger reef on the beach was a place that truly was family friendly. The staff went out of their way to accommodate my family in anything that we wanted to do. They organized all our tours and help us with how to get around easier on the island.

Room Tip: Choose the floors that are on the Waikiki beach side of the hotel. Less noise and more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Excellent customer service from all including housekeeping, valet, reception. We ate breakfast at all three of the restaurants. We preferred the food at the pool restaurant. Scenic view and service was excellent at the Ocean restaurant. Shorebird for breakfast was just ok. Really wanted toast but this is not an option. Convenient access to Starbucks and many restaurants in the area (especially beachwalk and Lewers street).
Many shops in the hotel. There is an "art shop" that was wonderful.

Room Tip: For cost reasons, we choose a non ocean/city view. We were satisfied with this choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Vacationed here with three of my friends. Hotel is ideally located. Plenty of shopping, fine and casual dining, entertainment and relaxing on the beautiful beach. Hotel staff was friendly, housekeeping staff was exceptional and the view from our third floor ocean front balcony was breathtaking. This is the only place I would consider staying when I return for another vacation.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best. Ocean view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We really wanted to stay on the beach, and found the Outrigger Reef. It was definitely worth it for the money. Fun pool , and great restaurant Shorebird. Shorebird offered happy hour Mai Tai everyday from 12-5 for only $3...you must drink a couple a day. Also the Shorebird had a great breakfast buffet.

The rooms were nice, and came with a fridge which is always nice to have.

I would stay again!

Room Tip: We over looked the pool which was nice, and could sit out on the balcony and listen to live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Reef in September 2012 and once again very impressed with this Hotel. Great location, rooms, friendly staff, free wi-fi and no hidden resort charges like some other hotels charge.

This is our second stay at the Outrigger reef and have stayed at other hotels in Waikiki and when I return will be the only hotel we'll stay at.

Room Tip: We had the Ocean view room 1003 (which is the top floor in the tower closest to the beach) was on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 82 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 2,840 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 82 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.