We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Outrigger Reef on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Reef on the Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #8 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Argyle, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers everything you could want, good restaurants (3 of them), convenient shopping, beach front access, clean, spacious rooms, and excellent service. There is a full Starbucks on site too.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,047
    1,096
    254
    88
    53
See reviews for
911
1657
103
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I got the room looking over the beach, it was absolutely beautiful. Staff were helpful in organising trips, also enjoyed the day spa. Food and drinks at the pool were great. Would reccommend breakfast at the cafe bu the pool. Great time in hawaii!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here a couple of days, and we had a great time! The room was nice and clean, the pool was also great! I recommend the shoreline bar for cocktails, the drinks there are awesome! the only thing i can say against it was maybe it was a bit unpersonal for my taste, and a bit too expensive. The decore was also a bit outdated. But all in all a great hotel, you won't be disapointed!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel is amazing! Open air lobby literally leads right onto the beach. We had an ocean front room on the Penthouse floor and the view was incredible! Hotel staff were super friendly and helpful. It's in a great location, just off the super busy Kalakaua Ave which runs by Waikiki, but all the shopping and restaurants are a very short walk away. If/when we go back to Oahu, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean front room was so worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed 6 nights here and found it a great place to stay, the staff were very friendly, the beach is at your door,everything you need to have a wonderful relaxing holiday is right here. A must is the Shoreline bar for happy hour and dinner. We stayed on the 7th floor in a standard room (had a small view of beach) and found it very comfortable and well maintained. The housekeeping staff did a great job. Excellent Staff, Excellent Location, Excellent Choice.

Already planning another trip here next year..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in July 2012 for 11 nights in a partial ocean view too
and loved every single thing about the place! The staff were very friendly, warm and helpful - from the cleaners to the guest services to the restaurant staff! The Kani Ka Pila grill has $5 cocktails (selected) from 12-3 and always had great live Hawaiian music every night. The Shorebird Cafe has $3.50 Mai Tais from 12-5 and great food overlooking Waikiki beach! You step out onto the beach from the hotel. The Serenity Spa is great (but a little pricy) for unwinding. The cleaners did a great job - our room was always spotless. All in all, we would definitely return to the Outrigger Reef and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Staff was very helpful and friendly. We were celebrating our 5 year anniversary and were welcomed with a bottle of champaine in our room. The only down side was that our room was directly above the bar and live entertainment which really wasn't a problem except for the 6 hour time difference and extreme jet lag we were suffering from. The hotel is beautiful and within easy walking distance to many of the highlights in Honolulu.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outrigger Reef on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef on the Beach

Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef on the Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Outrigger Reef on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outrigger Reef on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.